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SUMMARY OF RECOMMENDATION

This tentative recommendation would clarify and standardize the rules in the
Code of Civil Procedure on time requirements for serving and hearing orders to
show cause and temporary restraining orders.




ORDERS TO SHOW CAUSE AND
TEMPORARY RESTRAINING ORDERS

Times Within Which Hearing Must Be Held and Notice Must Be Served

If a party obtains a temporary restraining order without formal notice! to the
other party, the party may have a problem serving the order to show cause the
required number of days before the hearing.2 '

In most proceedings, the hearing must be held not later than 15 days after the
date the order was issued.? The court may extend this time to 20 days.* In a civil
harassment proceeding, the hearing must be held not later than 15 days after the
date the petition was filed.’

The order to show cause must be served on the restrained party before the
hearing, but the time required for notice is unclear.® If the general 15-day notice
of hearing requirement applies, the order to show canse would have to be served
the day it is issued in order to satisfy the requirement that the hearing be held
within 15 days after issuance of the temporary restraining order. In practically
every case the applicant would have to persuade the court either to delay the
hearing for an additional five days or to grant an order shortening time for
service. Good cause must be shown for either order.”

1. Code of Civil Procedure Section 527 reguires a prompt hearing if a temporary restraining order is issued
“without notice.” This means without formal notice. See 2 California Civil Procedure Before Trial § 39.38 (Cal.
Cont. Ed. Bar (1992). Section 527 requires a good faith attempt to inform the other party {e.g., by telephone) that
a temporary restraining order will be applied for, but this informal notice does not affect the requirement of a
prompt hearing.

2. This problem was brought to the Commission’s attention by Joseph B. Harvey, Judge of the Superior Conrt
of Lassen County. See letter from Judge Joseph B. Harvey to San Francisco Daily Journal (August 28, 1992) (copy
on file in office of California Law Revision Commission).

3. Code Civ. Proc. § 527(a). Section 527 does not apply to family law proceedings. The Family Code has its
own provisions governing service of and hearings on orders to show cause and temporary restraining orders. See
Fam. Code §§ 240-243 [as proposed to be revised by AB 1500].

4. Code Civ. Proc. § 527(a).

5, Code Civ. Proc. § 527. ﬁ(d) There is no authority in Section 527.6 for the court to extend the time for
hearing.

6. Compare Code Civ. Proc. § 527 with Code Civ. Proc. § 1005(b}. Section 1005, the general statute for
giving written notice, provides that “[u]nless otherwise ordered or specifically provided by law, all moving and
supporting papers shall be served and filed at least 15 days before . . . the hearing.” Section 527 requires affidavits
and points and authorities to be served at Ieast two days before the hearing, but does not specify a time for serving
the order o show cause.

A leading treatise states that the order to show cause and temporary restraining order should be served at least
two days before the hearing, citing Section 527. 2 California Civil Procedure Before Trial Injunctions §§ 39.39,
39.43 (3d ed., Cal. Cont. Ed. Bar 1992), Accerd, Marshal'’s Manual of Procedure § 112 (rev. 1/85). But sheriffs
normeally require an order to show cause with a temporary restraining order to be served at least 15 days before the
hearing, See California State Sheriffs’ Association, Civil Procedural Manual 2.21 (dth ed. 1989, rev. 1992).

If a temporary restraining order is issued under the Family Code, the order to show cause must be served at least
two days before the hearing. Fam. Code § 243 [as proposed to be amended by AB 1500].

7. Code Civ. Proc. § 527 (good cause to delay hearing); Cal. R. Ct. 305 (good cause to shorten time for
setvice). Presumably, the obvious difficulty both of having the hearing within 15 days of the order and serving
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The time prescribed for service and hearing should not require an application to
the court and a showing of good cause in every case to delay the hearing or
shorten the time for service. The statute should provide a reasonable time for
service, and require an application to the court only in an unusual case. This may
be done by lengthening the time within which the hearing must be held, by
allowing service to be made nearer in time to the hearing, or both.

The Commission recommends that the time within which the hearing must be
held should be extended to 20 days, or, if good cause is shown, to 25 days after
the date of the order. This affects both the general provision for temporary
restraining orders? and the civil harassment provision.® The civil harassment
provision measuring the time for hearing from the filing of the petition should be
revised to measure the time from the date of the temporary restraining order.10

The Commission recommends a flexible scheme for service. Service should be
made at least five days before the hearing if the hearing is set ten or more days
after the date of the order, or at least two days before the hearing if it is set less
than ten days after the date of the order.!! This will give the applicant a
reasonable time for service, while the party restrained will have sufficient time to
prepare for the hearing.i2

Hearing on Order To Show Cause Despite

Void Temporary Restraining Order

If a temporary restraining order is served but not brought to hearing within the
statutory time, it 1s void.!3 If the temporary restraining order is accompanied by an

the order at least 15 daws before the hearing will in every case constitute good cause for the court to extend the
time for the hearing or to shorten the time for service.

8. Code Civ. Proc. § 527.

9. Code Civ. Proc. § 527.6. Requiring the hearing to be held within 20 days of the date of the order will make
the Code of Civil Procedure consistent with the Family Code, and make the time periods the same regardless of the
nature of the proceeding. See Fam. Code § 242 [as proposed to be revised by AB 1500},

10. Both the time limit for service and the time limit for the hearing are for the benefit of the party against
whom the temporary restraining order is issued. The applicant who obtained the order has no need for an early
hearing as long as the order remains in effect. Requiring service a reasonable time before the hearing gives the
party restrained time to prepare for the hearing. Requiring a prompt hearing gives the party restrained an early
opportunity to contest the order. International Molders & Allied Workers Union, Local 164 v. Superior Court, 70
Cal. App. 3d 395, 407, 138 Cal. Rptr. 794 {1977). Until a temporary restraining order is served, the party is not
required to do or refrain from doing anything, and thus suffers no adverse consequence. There appears to be no
justification for the civil harassment provlsmn (Code Cl‘\-‘ Proc. § 527.6) measuring the ime for hearing from the
date the petition is filed.

This suggests the time within which a he:anng must be held should be measured from the date of service of the
temporary restraining order, not from its issuance. But the time for hearing is set when the order is issued, at
which time it is impossible to know when service will be made. Measuring the time for hearing from issuance
rather than service of the order is a practical solution to this problem.

11. The party restrained is protected by a right to one continuance to prepare for the hearing. Code Civ. Proc. §
527. If the party exercises the right to a continuance, the party is estopped to assert the temporary restraining
order expired during the period of the continuance. International Molders & Allied Workers Union, Local 164 v.
Superior Court, 70 Cal. App. 3d 395, 407, 138 Cal. Rptr. 794 (1977).

12. The recommended legislation conforms Family Code Section 243 by extending the requirement that
service be made at least two days before the hearing to five days before the hearing if it is set ten or more days after
the temporary restraining order.

13. Agricuitural Prorate Commission v. Superior Court, 30 Cal. App. 2d 154, 85 P.2d 898 (1938).
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order to show cause and not brought to hearing within the statutory time, both
are void.!4 There is no sound reason to make the order to show cause void merely
because it is accompanied by a void temporary restraining order. Instead it should
be treated as a notice of motion.!3

The Commission recommends that, if a hearing is not held on the order to show
cause within the prescribed time, the court should still be able to hear the matter,
but a temporary restraining order 1ssued without notice would be unenforceable
unless reissued.16

14. McDonald v. Superior Court, 18 Cal. App. 2d 652, 64 P.2d 738 (1937). According to Joseph B. Harvey,
Judge of the Superior Court of Lassen County, some courts routinely issue void temporary restraining orders and
orders to show cause by requiring service at least 13 days before the hearing and setting the hearing later than the
required 15-day period to allow time for service. See supra note 2.

15. By case law, if an order to show cause is issued without a temporary restraining order, the order to show
cause is simply a notice of motion. See Difani v. Riverside County Oil Co., 201 Cal. 210, 213-14, 256 P. 210
(1927); Eddy v. Temkin, 167 Cal. App. 3d 1115, 1120, 213 Cal. Rptr. 597 (1985); see also Code Civ. Proc. §
1003 (application for order is a motion); California State Sheriffs’ Association, Civil Procedural Manual 2.14
(4th ed. 1989); Marshal’s Manual of Procedure § 112 (rev. 1/85). A notice of motion must be served at least 15
days before the hearing, with additional time allowed for service by mail. See Code Civ. Proc. § 1005(b) (time for
serving motions); see also California State Sheriffs’ Association, Civil Procedural Manual 2.15 (4th ed. 1989)
(rev. 1991). The recommended legislation codifies this rule to make clear that an order to show cause without a
temporary restraining order is treated as a notice of motion, and is subject to the same time requirements for
service as a notice of motion,

16. The Family Code permits the court, on the filing of an affidavit by the applicant that the respondent could
not be served within the time required, to reissue a temporary restraining order previously issued and dissolved by
the court for nonservice. Fam. Code § 245, The Family Code provision was formerly in Code of Civil Procedure
Section 327(b), but its application was limited to domestic violence prevention orders. The recommended
legislation would duplicate this provision in the Code of Civil Procedure and generalize it to apply to all
temporary restraining orders other than those issued under the Family Code.







RECOMMENDED LEGISLATION

Code Civ. Proc. § 527 (amended). Injunctions and temporary restraining orders

527. (a) An injunction may be granted at any time before judgment upon a
verified complaint ; or upon affidavits , if the complaint in the one case, or the
affidavits in the other, show satisfactorily that sufficient grounds exist therefor. A
copy of the complaint or of the affidavits upon which the injunction was granted,
must, if not previously served, be served therewith.

(b) A temporary restraining order or a preliminary injunction, or both, may be
granted in a class action, in which one or more of the parties sues or defends for
the benefit of numerous parties upon the same grounds as in other actions,
whether or not the class has been certified.

(¢) No preliminary injunction shall be granted without notice to the oppesite
p&ﬂw—mshalhﬁy opposing party.

(d) No temporary restraining order ghall be granted without notice to the
- oppesite opposing party, unless {(1)—it—shall-appear both of the following

requirements are satisfied:
(1) Tt appears from facts shown by affidavit or by the verified complaint that

great or irreparable injury would result to the applicant before the matter can be
heard on notice and-(2)-the , ,

{2) The applicant or the applicant’s attorney certifies one of the followmg to
the court under oath CA)-that ;

(A) That within a reasonable time prior to the application he-or-she the applicant
informed the opposing party or his or her the opposing party’s attorney at what
time and where the application would be made {B)-thathe-or-she ,

(B) That the applicant in good faith attempted but was unable to inform the
opposing party and his-or-her the opposing party’s attorney but-was-unable-te-se
inform-the-opposing party-or-his-or-heratterney, specifying the efforts made to
contact them ;-of .

(C) that That for reasons specified he-or-she the applicant should not be
required to so inform the opposmg party or his—er-her the opposing party’s
attorney.

() In case a temporary restraining order shall be is granted without notice ; in
the contingency abeve specified in subdivision (d), the matter shall be made
returnable on an order requiring cause to be shown why the injunction should
not be granted, on the earliest day that the business of the court will admit of, but
not later than 15 20 days or, if good cause appears to the court, 20 25 days , from
the date of the temporary restraining order is issued. When the matter first comes
up for hearing the party who obtained the temporary restraining order must be
ready to proceed and-must-have-served _If a hearing is not held within the time

ired by thi ivision, the court may non ss hear the matter th
temporary restraining order is unenforceable unless reigsued under ivision (i).
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(f) The party who obtained the temporary restraining order shall serve upon the
eppestte opposing party -at-least-two-days-prier-+te-the-hearing; within the time
provided in subdivision (g) a copy of each of the following:

(1) If not previously served, the complaint and-ef all-affidavits ,

(2) The order to show cause.

(3) Affidavits to be used in the application-and-a-copy-of the-points .

{4) Points and authorities in Support of the application +f ,

(g) Service shall be made at least five days before the hearing if the hearing is
set ten or mor temporary restraini rder is issued, or st two
days before the hearing if the hearing is set less than ten days _after the temporary
restraining' order is issued. The court may for good cause. on motion of the
applicant or on its own motion, shorten the time for service.on the opposing
party.

(h) If the party who obtained the temporary restraining order is not ready, or if
he-orshe the party fails to serve-a-copy-of-his—er-hercomplaint,affidavits-and

points-and-authorities—as-hereinrequired; comply with subdivision (f), the court
shall dissolve the temporary restraining order. The defeadant; opposing party.

however, shall be entitled, as of course, to one continuance for a reasonable
period, if he-ershe the opposing party desires it, to enable him-or-her the
opposing party to meet the application for the preliminary injunction. The
defendant opposing party may, in response to such the order to show cause,
present affidavits relating to the granting of the preliminary injunction, and if sueh
the affidavits are served on the applicant at least two days prior to the hearing,
the applicant shall not be entitled to any continnance on account thereof. On the
day on which the order is made returnable, the hearing shall take precedence of
all other matters on the calendar of the day, except older matters of the same
character, and matters to which special precedence may be given by law. When
the cause is at issue it shall be set for trial at the earliest possible date and shall
take precedence of all other cases, except older matters of the same character, and
matters to which special precedence may be given by law.

(i) Upon the filing of an affidavit by the applicant that the opposing party could
not be served within the time required by subdivision the court may reissue
any temporary restraining order previously granted and dissolved by the court for

failure to serv: 0sin The rei rder shall state on its face the
ate of expiration of the order. No fe sh 11 be charged for reissuin rder

unlessl:h order h enrel su tw reviously.

licant shall serve a f th described in subdivision w1th1n the
tjmg provided by Section 1003.
{b) (k) This section does not apply to an order -deseribed-in-Seetion—240-of
issued under the Family Code.

Comment. Subdivision () of Section 527 is amended to change the time within which a
hearing must be held on an order to show cause and temporary restraining order granted
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without notice from 15 to 20 days and, where good cause is shown, from 20 to 25 days. A
temporary restraining order under the Family Code is subject to the same limitations. See
Fam. Code § 242(a).

Subdivision {e) is also amended to make clear that if a hearing is not held within the time
required, the court may hear the order to show cause as though it were a notice of motion,
and may hear the application for a permanent order. This changes the result in McDonald v.
Superior Court, 18 Cal. App. 2d 652, 64 P.2d 738 (1937). Although subdivision (g) permits
the order to show cause to be served less than 15 days before the hearing (the general
requirement for a notice of motion under Section 1005), the short time- permitted for service
is ameliorated by subdivision (h) which gives the opposing party the right to a continuance to
prepare for the hearing. If the opposing party exercises that right, the temporary restraining
order is deemed extended until the hearing. International Molders & Allied Workers Union,
Local 164 v. Superior Court, 70 Cal. App. 3d 395, 407, 138 Cal. Rptr. 794 (1977). If there is
no continuance, a temporary restraining order issued without notice that is not heard within
the time prescribed by subdivision (e) and not reissued is unenforceable. This is consistent
with Agricultural Prorate Commission v. Superior Court, 30 Cal. App. 2d 154, 85 P.2d 898
(1938).

Subdivision (f) is amended to include a copy of the order to show cause with the
documents that must be served at least two days before the hearing. A copy of the complaint
must be served only if not previously served, consistent with the second sentence of
subdivision (a).

Subdivision (g) is added to provide that service shall be made at least five days before the
hearing if it is set ten or more days after the temporary restraining order is issued, or at least
two days before the hearing if it is set less than ten days after the temporary restraining order
is issued, and to give the court authority to shorten the time for service. The new authority for
the court to shorten time for service is consistent with Family Code Section 243. The
requirement of good cause for shortening time is taken from Rule 305 of the California Rules
of Court.

Subdivision (i) gives the court authorlty to reissue a temporary restraining order not served
within the required time. This 1s consistent with McDonald v. Superior Court, 18 Cal. App. 2d
652, 655-56, 64 P.2d 738 (1937), and with Family Code Section 245.

Subdivision (j) is added to make clear that, if a temporary restraining order has not been
issued, the order to show cause must be served within the time provided by Section 1005 for a
notice of motion (15 days, with additional time if mailed). This treats an order to show cause
without a temporary restraining order the same as a notice of motion for a preliminary
injunction without a temporary restraining order. See 2 California Civil Procedure Before
Trial Injunctions § 39.43 (3d ed., Cal. Cont. Ed. Bar 1992).

The other revisions to Section 527 are technical.

Code Civ. Proc. § 527.6 (amended). Temporary restraining order and injunction
prohibiting harassment

527.6. (a) A person who has suffered harassment as defined in subdivision (b)
may seek a temporary restraining order ; and an injunction prohibiting harassment
as provided in this section.

(b) For the purposes of this section, “harassment” is a knowing and willful
course of conduct directed at a specific person which seriously alarms, annoys, or
harasses the person, and which serves no legitimate purpose. The course of
conduct must be such as would cause a reasonable person to suffer substantial
emotional distress, and must actunally cause substantial emotional distress to the
plaintiff. “Course of conduct” is a pattern of conduct composed of a series of
acts over a period of time, however short, evidencing a continuity of purpose.
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Constitutionally protected activity is not included with the meaning of “course
of conduct.”
(c) Upon filing a petition for an injunction under this section, the plaintiff may

obtain a temporary restraining order in-accordance-with-subdivision-(a)-of Section

527. A temporary restraining order under this section is governed by Section 527

except to the extent this section provides a rule that is inconsistent, A temporary
restraining order may be granted issued with or without notice upon an affidavit

which, to the satisfaction of the court, shows reasonable proof of harassment of
the plaintiff by the defendant, and that great or irreparable harm would result to
the plaintiff. A temporary restraining order granted under this section shall remain
in effect, at the court’s discretion, for a period not to exceed 45 20 days, or for
good cause 25 days, unless otherwise modified, reissued, or terminated by the
court.

(d) Within 15-days-ef the-filing-of the petition 20 d_a,xs, I ﬁ good cause appear
to the court, 2 s, from th the temporary res r is issued, a
hearing shall be held on the petition for the injunction. The defendant may file a
response which explains, excuses, justifies, or denies the alleged harassment or
may file a cross-complaint under this section. At the hearing, the judge shall
receive such testimony as is relevant, and may make an independent inquiry. If
the judge finds by clear and convincing evidence that unlawful harassment exists,
an injunction shall issue prohibiting the harassment. An injunction issued
pursuant to this section shall have a duration of not more than three years. At any
time within the three months before the expiration of the injunction, the plaintiff
may apply for a renewal of the injunction by filing a new petition for an
injunction under this section.

(e) Nothing in this section shall preclude either party from representation by
private counsel or from appearing on his-er-her the party’s own behalf.

() In a proceeding under this section where there are allegations or threats of
domestic violence, a support person may accompany -a-party the plaintiff in court
and, where the party plaintiff is not represented by an attorney, may sit with the

party plaintiff at the table that is generally reserved for the—p&&y—aﬂd—h}s—er—her
the plaintiff and the plaintiff’s attorney. The support person is present to provide

moral and emotional support for a-person-who-alleges-he-or-she-is-a-vietim-of
domestic—iolence the plaintiff. The support person is not present as a legal
adviser and shall not give legal advice. The support person shall assist the persen

wheo-alleges-he-or-she-is-a—victim-of domestic-violenee plaintiff in feeling more
confident that he-or-she the plaintiff will not be injured or threatened by the other

party during the proceedings where the person—wheo-alleges-he-orshe-isa—vietim
of domestie—vielenee plaintiff and the other party must be present in close
proximity. Nothing in this subdivision precludes the court from exercising its
discretion to remove the support person from the courtroom if the court believes
the support person is prompting, swaying, or influencing the-party-assisted-by-the
suppert-person plaintiff..




(g) Upon filing of a petition for an injunction under this section, the defendant
shall be personally served with a copy of the petition, temporary restraining order,
if any, and notice of hearing of the petition. Service shall be m ast five

days before the hearing if the hearing is set ten or more days after the temporary
restraining order is issued. or at least two days before the bearing if the hearing is
set less than ten days after temporary restraining order is i The court
may for good cause, on motion of the applicant or on its own motion. shorten the
time for service on the opposing party.

(h) The court shall order the plaintiff or the attorney for the plaintiff to deliver a
copy of each temporary restraining order or injunction, or modification or
termination thereof, granted under this section, by the close of the business day
on which the order was granted, to the law enforcement agencies within the
court’s discretion as are requested by the plaintiff. Each appropriate law
enforcement agency shall make available information as to the existence and
current status of these orders to law enforcement officers responding to the scene
of reported harassment.

(i} The prevailing party in any action brought under this section may be
awarded court costs and attorney’s fees, if any.

(1) Any willful disobedience of any temporary restraining order or injunction
granted under this section is punishable pursuant to Section 273.6 of the Penal
Code.

(k) This section does not apply to any action or proceeding covered by Title
1.6C (commencing with Section 1788) of the Civil Code or by Part 4
(commencing with Section 240) of Division 2 of the Family Code. Nothing in this
section shall preclude a plaintiff’s right to utilize nse other existing civil remedies.

(1) The Judicial Council shall promulgate forms and instructions therefor, rules
for service of process, scheduling of hearings, and any other matters required by
this section. The petition and response forms shall be simple and concise.

Comment. Subdivision (c} of Section 527.6 is amended to extend the time a temporary
restraining order remains in effect from 15 to 20 days, or for good cause 25 days, unless
otherwise modified, reissued, or terminated by the court. Although subdivision (c) permits a
temporary restraining order to be issued without notice, the plaintiff must make a good faith
effort to give informal notice or show good cause for not doing so. See Section 527(d); Cal.
R. Ct. 379.

Subdivision {(d} is amended to extend the time within which a hearing must be held to 20
days, or, if good cause appears to the court, 25 days, from the date of the temporary
restraining order. This conforms Section 527.6 to Section 527 of the Code of Civil
Procedure, and to Section 242 of the Family Code. Formerly, under Section 527.6 the
required time was 15 days from the date of the filing of the petition.

The other revisions to Section 527.6 are technical.




CONFORMING REVISION

Fam. Code § 243 (amended). Readiness for hearing; continnance; counter-affidavits

243. (a) When the matter first comes up for hearing, the applicant must be ready
to proceed. '

(b) If a temporary restraining order has been issued without notice pending the
hearing, the applicant must have served on the respondent -atleasttwo-days
before-the hearing; within the time provided in subdivision (d) a copy of each of
the following:

(1) The order to show cause.

(2) The application and the affidavits and points and authorities in support of
the application. |

(3) Any other supporting papers filed with the court.

(c) If the applicant fails to comply with subdivisions (a) and (b}, the court shall
dissolve the order.

(d) Service shall be made at Jeast five days before the hearing if the hearing is

set ten or more days after the temporary restraining order is issued, or at least two
days before the hearing if the hearing is set less than ten days after the temporary

restraining order is issued.
(e) If service is made under subdivision (b), the respondent is entitled, as of

course, to one continuance for a reasonable period, to respond to the application
for the order. '

(e) (f) On motion of the applicant or on its own motion, the court may shorten
the time provided in this section for service on the respondent.

(B (g) The respondent may, in response to the order to show caunse, present
affidavits relating to the granting of the order, and if the affidavits are served on
the applicant at least two days before the hearing, the applicant is not entitled to
a continuance on account of the affidavits.

Comment. Section 243 is amended to provide that service of the order to show cause and
supporting papers shall be made at least five days before the hearing if the hearing is set ten
or more days after the temporary restraining order is issved, or at least two days before the
hearing if the hearing is set less than ten days after the temporary restraining order is issved.
Under subdivision (f), the court may shorten these times. Formerly, the two-day service
requirement applied without regard to when the hearing was set. See also Code Civ. Proc. §
527.

Staff Note. Section 243 is shown as it would be revised by the Commission’s 1993 Family
Code cleanup bill, AB 1500.
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