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LETTER OF TRANSMITTAL

This recommendation proposes to enact the Uniform Probate Code
requirement that a potential helr must live at least 120 hours longer
than a decedent who dies without a will in corder te inherit property
from that decedent. This is to provide a more just result where a
husband and wife each have children cf a prior marriage and are both
killed in an accident.

Without the 120-hour survival rule, if one spouse survives the
other by a fraction of a second, that spouse's children will inherit
all the community property and a disproportionate share of the separate
property. With the 120-hour survival rule, the separate property of
each spouse and half the community property passes to that spouse's
heirs, a result more consistent with what the spouses probably would
have wanted.
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TENTATIVE RECOMMENDATION

relating to
120-HOUR SURVIVAL TO TAKE BY INTESTACY

If a husband and wife each have children of a prior marriage and
are killed in an accident, the property each child will take by
intestate succession depends on which spouse died first.

The following examples 1illustrate how existing California law
operates In a relatively simple case. Assume that the husband has
three children by a former marrlage and that the wife has one child by
a former marriage. Assume that they have §500,000 of community
property, that the husband has $300,000 of separate property, and that
the wife has $100,000 of separate property.

Example 1, Intestate succession rule——wife survives husband
by five minutes, Wife inherits from husband his half of the

commmity property ($250,000)1 and one-third of his separate
property ($100,000).2 Wife dies. Her child receives
$700,000, consisting of the following:

(1) All of the community property ($500,000) (the
wife's half and the half she inherited from her husband).

(2) All of the wife's separate property ($100,000).

(3) The share of the husband's separate property
inherited by the wife ($100,000).

The three children of the husband each receive
$66,666.67 (a one-third share of $200,000, the portion of the
husband's separate property not passing to the wife).

l. FProb. Code § 6401{a).

2. FProb. Code § 6401{(c){(3){A).




Example 2. Intestate succession rule—husband survives wife
by five minutes. Hushand inherits from wife her half of the
community property ($250,000)3 and one-half of her separate
property ($50,000).4 Husband dies. Each of his children
receives a one-third share of $850,000 ($283,333.33),
consisting of the following:

(1> All of the community property ($500,000) (the
husband’'s half and the half he inherited from his wife).

(2) All of the husband's separate property ($300,000).

(3) The share of the wife's separate property inherited
by the husband ($50,000).

The child of the wife receives $50,000 (the share of the
wife's separate property not passing to the husband).

These examples show the drastic difference in the amounts received
by the children, depending on the wholly fortuitous event of which
spouse died first, If the wife dies before the husband, her child
receives $50,000; but, if the wife dies after her husband, her child
receives $700,000. If the husband dies before his wife, his children
each receive $66,666.67. But if the husband dies after his wife, his
children each receive $283,333.33. It is apparent that the existing
California intestate succession rule operates in an arbitrary manner,
contrary toe what the spouses would have wanted if they had an
opportunity to indicate their desires.

Where one or both of the spouses who die in a common accident have

no children, the California intestate succession rule is difficult to

3. Prob. Code § 6401(a).

4., Prob. Code § 6401{c){2)(A).




determine and apply, and operates in manner contrary to what the
spouses would have desired.?

The California Uniform Simultaneous Death Act® deals with the
situation where the parties have died simultaneously. If it cannot be
established by clear and convincing evidence that one survived the
other, the property of each person is dealt with as if that person had
survived the other.’ Thus, the husband's half of the community
property and his separate property will go to his heirs. The wife's
half of the community property and her separate property will go to her
heirs.

If the rule of the California Uniform Simultaneous Death Act is
applied to the examples set out above, the following are the results:

5. Existing law is very difficult to determine and apply. This is
because the so called in-law inheritance statute (Prob. Code § 6402.5)
may apply. TFor example, suppose a husband is childless but has a
brother, the wife has a child by a former marriage, they do not have
wills, and they are killed in an accident but do not die
simultaneously. If the husband dies first, his property will pass to
his wife. When the wife dies, both her property and property she
received from her husband that is not subject to the in-law inheritance
statute will pass to her heirs to the exclusion of her husband's
heirs. The brother of the husband will take property subject to the
in-law inheritance statute (Prob. Code § 6402.5). Property is not
subject to the in-law inheritance statute unless it consilsts of
property "attributable to" (received from) the decedent's predeceased
spouse (1) who died not more than 15 years before the decedent in the
case of real property or (2) who died not more than five years before
the decedent Iin the case of personal property. Subject to this
limitation, Iif one spouse inherits from the other by intestate
succession, property subject to the in-law inheritance statute consists
of (1) all real property which was separate property of the first
spouse to dle and his or her half of community real property, and (2)
all the personal property of the first spouse to die (his or her
separate personal property and his or her half of community personal
property) for which there is a written record of title or ownership if
the aggregate value is $10,000 or more. Id. All other property passes
according to the usual rules of intestate succession. See Prob. Code
§ 6402,

6. Prob. Code §§ 220-234,

7. Prob. Code §§ 103, 220. 3See alsc Prob. Code § 6403,




Example 3, Simultaneous death rule—-wife survives husband by
five minutes. Child of the wife as her sole heir inherits
$350,000, consisting of the wife's separate property
($100,000) and the wife's one-half share of the community
property ($250,000).

Each child of the husband inherits $183,333.33, a
one-third share of $550,000, consisting of the following:

(1) The husband's share one-half share of the community
property {($250,000).

(2) The husband's separate property ($300,000).

Example 4. Simultaneous death rule—husband survives wife by

five minutes. Same results as in Example 3.

These are the results the spouses probably would have wanted.
However, the California Uniform Simultanecus Death Act is only a
partial solution. If there is clear and convincing evidence that one
spouse survived the other, even iIf only for a tiny fraction of a
second, then the Uniform Simultanecus Death Act does not apply.3

The Uniform Probate Code provides a more complete solution to this
problem by requiring that a potential heir survive the decedent by at
least 120 hours in order to take by intestacy from the decedent. If
the heir fails to survive for that period, the heir is treated as
having predeceased the decedent.? Thus, in the common accident
gsituation where the husband and wife die within 120 hours of each
other, the UPC achleves the same result as the Uniform Simultaneous
Death Act: The half of the community property and the separate
property of the spouse passes to his or her heirs.

Intestate succession law should dispose of the decedent's property
in a mamner consistent with what the decedent would have wanted if the
decedent had a will., Survivorship provisions are commonly found in

wills.10 Twenty states require some period of survival to take from

8, In one extreme case, the court held that the act did not apply
because there was testimony that one accldent wvietim survived the other
by 1/150,000th of a second., Estate of Rowley, 257 Cal. App. 2d 324, 65
Cal. Bptr. 139 (1967). The clear and convincing evidence requirement
was added to avold this kind of speculation as to the time of death.
See Tentative Recommendation Relating to Wills and Intestate
Succession, 16 Cal. L. Revision Comm'n Reports 2301, 2345-46 (1982),

9. Uniform Probate Code § 2-104 (1932),

10. See King, Outright Testamentary Gifts, in California Will Drafting
Practice § 8.21, at 349 (Cal. Cont. Ed. Bar 1982).
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the decedent by intestate succession: Seventeen states use the
120-hour period of the UPC,1l one requires survival for 72 hours, 12
and two require survival for 30 days.13 1n 1973, the California State
Bar endorsed the 120-hour survival requirement for intestate succession
in Section 2-104 of the Uniform Probate Code.l4

Five days is an appropriate survival period. Most fatalities
occur within the first five days after an accident, so the 120-hour
test will provide an equitable rule tc cover the usual case of death
caused by a common disaster. TYet the 120-hour survival period is short
enough not to delay administration of the estate or to interfere with
the ability of the survivor to deal with the property.

The Commission recommends adoption of the Uniform Probate Code
rule requiring that a potential heir must survive the decedent by at
least 120 hours to take by intestate succession from the decedent.l>

11. Ala. Code § 43-8-43 (1982); Alaska Stat. § 13.11.020 (1985); Ariz.
Rev. Stat. Ann. § 14-2104 (1975); Colo. Rev. Stat. § 15-11-140 (1974);
Del. Code Ann. tit. 12, § 504 (1987); Idaho Code § 15-2-104 (1979); Me.
Rev. Stat. Amn. tit, 184, § 2-104 (1981); Mich. Stat. Ann, § 27.5107
{1980); Mont, Code Ann. § 72-2-205 {(1985); Neb. Rev. Stat. § 302304
{1985); N.J. Stat. Ann. § 3B:5-1 (West 1983); N.M. Stat. Amn.
§ A45-2-104 (1978); N.D. Cent, Code § 30.1-04-04 (1976); Or. Rev. Stat.
§ 112,085 (1983 & 1985 reprint); 5.C. Code Ann. § 62-2-104 (Law. Co-op.
1987); Tex. Prob. Code Amm. § 47 (Vernon 1980); Utah Code Ann.
§ 75-2-104 (1978).

12, Wise. Stat. Ann. § 852.01 (West Supp. 1987).

13. M4. Est., & Trusts Code Ann. § 3-110 (1974) (limited to
descendants, ancestors, or descendants of an ancestor of the decedent);
Ohio Rev. Code Ann. § 2105.21 (Page 1976).

14. State Bar of California, The Uniform Probate Code: Analysis and
Critique 30 (1973). The State Bar thought the 120-hour survival
requirement for wills in Section 2-601 of the Uniform Probate Code was
unnecessary because the testator may provide for survivorship in the
will, I1d. at 51.

15, For a previous Commission recommendation on this subject, see 17
Cal. L. Revision Comm'n Reports 443-60 (1984).
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The Commission’'s recommendation would be effectuated by enactment

of the following measure:

An act to amend Section 6403 of the Probate Code, relating to the

perlod of survival required to take property.

The people of the State of California do enact as follows:

Probate Code 4 amended Reguirement that heir survive decedent
SECTION 1. Section 6403 of the Probate Code is amended to read:
6403. A person who fails to survive the decedent by 120 hours is

deemed to have predeceased the decedent for the purpose of intestate
succession, and the heirs are determined accordingly. If it cannot be
established by clear and convincing evidence that a persoen whe would
otherwise be an heir has survived the decedent by 120 hours , it is
deemed that the person failed to survive the--deeedent for the required
period, The requirement of this section that a person who survives

the
decedent must survive the decedent by 120 hours does not apply if the
the

application of the 120-hour survival requirement would result in
escheat of property to the state,

Comment. Section 6403 is amended to provide a 120-hour survival
rule. As amended, Section 6403 is the same in substance as Section
2-104 of the Uniform Probate Code (1982) insofar as that section
relates to taking by intestate succession. Where Section 6403 applies,
the 120-hour survival requirement is used to determine whether one
person survived another for the purposes of Sections 103 (simultaneous
death of husband and wife) and 234 (proceedings to determine survival).

Uncodified transitional provision

SEC. 2. This act does not apply in any case where any of the
decedents upon whose time of death the disposition of property depends
died before the operative date of this act, and such case continues to be
governed by -the law applicable to the case before the operative date of
this act,




