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Study H-855 August 18, 2006

Third Supplement to Memorandum 2006-33

Statutory Clarification and Simplification of
CID Law (Material Received at Meeting)

The following material was received by the Commission at the meeting on
August 18, 2006, in connection with Study H-855 on Statutory Clarification and
Simplification of CID Law, and is attached as an Exhibit:
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Respectfully submitted,

Brian Hebert
Assistant Executive Secretary

Any California Law Revision Commission document referred to in this memorandum can be
obtained from the Commission. Recent materials can be downloaded from the Commission's
website (www.clrc.ca.gov). Other materials can be obtained by contacting the Commission’s staff,
through the website or otherwise.



August 6, 2006
To:
Vineyard’s Board Members

From: Norma Walker
Vineyard’s Homeowner
Subject: My right as a homeowner to Inspect and Copy Association Records
New law became effective July 1, 2006
The Davis-Stirling Act
2006 Condominium Blue Book page 132-140 and 380

New homeowner association laws became effective July 1, 2006 stating boards shall
allow members to inspect/copy documents in Homeowner Associations in,
California. I am aware of these laws, because I traveled to Sacramento to testify, 1
submitted comments at hearings on this legislation, and I visited the office of the
author of this bill.
I requested copies of financial documents on July 7, 2006, and according to the new
law the association had within 10days to complete the request for the 2006
documents.
I was charged $15.00 by the Board for documents that should have cost at most
$3.00. You read part of a sentence of the law at our last monthly meeting, and I
believe your opinion was not what the new law stated if the entire paragraph is read.
I re-read the e-mail from Debbie, and Management requested $50.00 an hour in 15
minute intervals.

See Stirling- Davis recently enacted law stating a different cost allowed.

Also see case law Moran vs. Oso Valley Greenbelt Assn.
Case law and Davis Stirling does not agree with the interpretations of the board, and
the management company.

What is the rule, or the resolution on the amount a Vineyard’s Homeowners is

required to pay for copies or inspection of association financial documents?

Also, why did Carole Hochstatter only have to pay .10 cent a page for the documents she
requested recently?

Debbie of Pacific Management Company wrote on July 14, 2006 stating 1 will need
to know if you would like these items mailed to you or would you like to pick up at our
office. The cost is .10 a copy and $50 per hour in 15 minute intervals. This is the
charge to the association and the law allows the pass on of association costs. If you
would like the below items mailed | will also need the cost and the postage reimbursed
to the association before mailing. | will need at least a day to gather the requested
items and give you a cost.

I want to be reimbursed for the overcharge per section 1365.2. | did not ask for enhanced
records? | asked for records that were clearly identified in the new law.
Those who have nothing to hide, hide nothing,

Norma J. Walker
Vineyard’'s Homeowner



