Admin. January 12, 1998

Memorandum 98-1

Election of Officers

Christine Byrd was elected Chairperson and Ed Marzec was elected Vice Chairperson of the Commission for the term beginning September 1, 1997. The expiration of Christine Byrd's term of office leaves a vacancy in the office of Chairperson.

The Commission's Handbook of Practices and Procedures, as revised in January 1995, states:

1.1 Officers

The officers of the Commission are the Chairperson and the Vice Chairperson. The term of office of the Chairperson and Vice Chairperson is one year, commencing on September 1 of each year. The officers hold office until election of successors.

The Vice Chairperson shall act as Chairperson in the absence of the Chairperson or in case of a vacancy in the office of Chairperson. In case of a vacancy in the office of Chairperson, the Commission shall elect new officers for the remainder of the term.

No officer is eligible to succeed himself or herself in the same office in which the officer has served a full term. However, an officer who has served for less than a full term may succeed himself or herself in the same office for a full term; and, where the Chairperson is reelected to office, the incumbent Vice Chairperson is eligible for reelection even though reelection may result in the Vice Chairperson succeeding himself or herself for another full term.

Under these rules, Commissioner Marzec acts as Chairperson until election of new officers. New officers serve the remainder of the current term, until August 31, 1998.

Respectfully submitted,

Nathaniel Sterling Executive Secretary