Admin.

Memorandum 95-27

Election of Officers

The Commission's practice is annually to hold an election of officers at the meeting preceding commencement of the terms of the officers on September 1.

The Commission's Handbook of Practices and Procedures, as revised in January 1995, states:

1.1 Officers

The officers of the Commission are the Chairperson and the Vice Chairperson. The term of office of the Chairperson and Vice Chairperson is one year, commencing on September 1 of each year. The officers hold office until election of successors.

The Vice Chairperson shall act as Chairperson in the absence of the Chairperson or in case of a vacancy in the office of Chairperson. In case of a vacancy in the office of Chairperson, the Commission shall elect new officers for the remainder of the term.

No officer is eligible to succeed himself or herself in the same office in which the officer has served a full term. However, an officer who has served for less than a full term may succeed himself or herself in the same office for a full term; and, where the Chairperson is reelected to office, the incumbent Vice Chairperson is eligible for reelection even though reelection may result in the Vice Chairperson succeeding himself or herself for another full term.

The incumbents, Chairperson Colin Wied and Vice Chairperson Ed Marzec, were elected at the January 1995 Commission meeting. Mr. Wied was elected for the remainder of the term of forrmer Chairperson Dan Kolkey, who had resigned. Mr. Marzec was elected for the remainder of the term of former Vice Chairperson Colin Wied, who was elected chairperson. The terms of office expire August 31, 1995.

Officers elected at the June 1995 meeting would take office on September 1, 1995, and hold office until August 31, 1996.

Respectfully submitted,

Nathaniel Sterling Executive Secretary