Admin. December 8, 1994

Memorandum 95-1

Election of Officers

The resignation of Commissioner Kolkey, effective January 1, 1995, leaves a vacancy in the office of Chairperson. The Commission's handbook of practices and procedures does not specify the procedures to be followed in this situation.

Similar circumstances have arisen in the past. The staff suggests that, for future guidance, past practice might be memorialized along the following lines (new material in italics):

1.1 Officers

The officers of the Commission are the Chairperson and the Vice Chairperson. The term of office of the Chairperson and Vice Chairperson is one year, commencing on September 1 of each year. The officers hold office until election of successors.

The Vice Chairperson shall act as Chairperson in the absence of the Chairperson or in case of a vacancy in the office of Chairperson. In case of a vacancy in the office of Chairperson, the Commission shall elect new officers for the remainder of the term.

No officer is eligible to succeed himself or herself in the same office in which the officer has served a full term. However, an officer who has served for less than a full term may succeed himself or herself in the same office for a full term; and, where the Chairperson is reelected to office, the incumbent Vice Chairperson is eligible for reelection even though reelection may result in the Vice Chairperson succeeding himself or herself for another full term.

The practice of the Commission is to elect the incumbent Vice Chairperson as Chairperson in an election to fill a vacancy in the office of Chairperson or in an election of new officers after the incumbent Chairperson has served a full term.

In any event, whether or not the Commission adopts these proposed rules or any others, the Commission should act at the January meeting to ensure that the Commission has the necessary officers. At the last election of officers in July 1994, Dan Kolkey was elected Chairperson and Colin Wied was elected Vice Chairperson for a one-year term commencing September 1, 1994.

Respectfully submitted,

Nathaniel Sterling Executive Secretary