Memorandum 93-38

Subject: Election of Officers

The Commission's current practice is to hold an election of officers at the July meeting, with the terms of the officers to commence on September 1.

The Commission's Handbook of Practices and Procedures states:

The officers of the Commission are the Chairperson¹ and the Vice Chairperson. The term of office of the Chairperson and Vice Chairperson is one year, commencing on September 1 of each year.² No officer is eligible to succeed himself or herself in the same office in which the officer has served a full term.³ However, an officer who has served for less than a full term may succeed himself or herself in the same office for a full term;⁴ and, where the Chairperson is reelected to office, the incumbent Vice Chairperson is eligible for reelection even though reelection may result in the Vice Chairperson succeeding himself or herself for another full term.⁵

The incumbents, Chairperson Marshall and Vice Chairperson Skaggs, were elected at the July 1992 Commission meeting for a one year term commencing on September 1, 1992. New officers elected at the July 1993 meeting would take office on September 1, 1993, and hold office until August 31, 1994.

Respectfully submitted,

Nathaniel Sterling Executive Secretary

^{1.} Cf. Gov't Code § 8283 ("The commission shall select one of its members chairperson.")

^{2.} Minutes, April 1987.

^{3.} Minutes, January 1960.

^{4.} Minutes, December 1960.

^{5.} Minutes, January 1962.