Subject: Election of Officers

Reproduced immediately below is an extract from the Commission's Handbook of Practices and Procedures (April 1982) relating to officers of the Commission.

The officers of the Commission are the Chairperson and the Vice Chairperson. The term of office of the Chairperson and Vice Chairperson is one year, commencing on December 31 of each year. No officer is eligible to succeed himself or herself in the same office in which the officer has served a full term. However, an officer who has served for less than a full term may succeed himself or herself in the same office for a full term; and, where the Chairperson is reelected to office, the incumbent Vice Chairperson is eligible for reelection even though reelection may result in the Vice Chairperson succeeding himself or herself for another full term.

Since there will be no Commission meeting in December, the November - meeting is the appropriate time for election of officers.

The current Chairperson, Commissioner Berton, was elected in May 1982 to serve the remainder of the unexpired term of former Chairperson Jean C. Love ending December 30, 1982. Commissioner Berton has not served a previous term as Chairperson or Vice Chairperson.

The current Vice Chairperson, Commissioner Lawson, was elected in December 1981 to serve the term commencing December 31, 1981 and ending December 30, 1982. Commissioner Lawson has served previously as Chairperson (September 13, 1979 to December 30, 1981) and as Vice Chairperson (December 31, 1977 to September 12, 1979).

Respectfully submitted,

<sup>1. &</sup>lt;u>Cf.</u> Gov't Code § 10303 (the commission shall select one of its members chairman).

<sup>2.</sup> Minutes, December 1981.

<sup>3.</sup> Minutes, January 1960.

<sup>4.</sup> Minutes, December 1960.

<sup>5.</sup> Minutes, January 1962.