CALIFORNIA LAW REVISION COMMISSION STAFF MEMORANDUM

Study D-354 October 4, 1999

Memorandum 99-76

Homestead Issues (Comments on Tentative Recommendation)

This memorandum considers comments we have received on the Tentative
Recommendation on the Homestead Exemption, which was distributed last April.
Attached to this memorandum is a staff draft recommendation, which includes
some technical revisions in response to cite-checking.

We received comments from two attorneys:

Exhibit p.

1. Ronald H. Sargis, California Association of Collectors, Sacramento
(Sept. 14, 1999) . . ... 1
2. Brian Holman, White & Case, Los Angeles (Email May 5, 1999)........ 8

Overview

The proposed law would make three important changes: (1) it would repeal
the homestead declaration procedure, (2) it would adopt in homestead sales the
general rule that an enforcing lienholder need only satisfy senior liens and
encumbrances, and (3) it would continue a limited form of the voluntary sale
proceeds exemption in the “automatic” homestead procedure. Both writers agree
with the first goal, as has every other commentator in staff memory. They also
concur in the second revision, although Mr. Holman suggests some technical
clarifications. Mr. Sargis, on behalf of the California Association of Collectors
(CAC), disagrees with the need for or advisability of the third revision
concerning continuation of a limited voluntary sale proceeds exemption.

The background of the homestead exemption is set out in a distilled form in
the draft recommendation. Most of this material is the same as what appeared in
the Commission’s 1996 recommendation on the homestead exemption. (While
Mr. Sargis’s letter refers to the “Staff Recommendation” and the “renewed Staff
Recommendation,” it should be clear that the Commission approved the
recommendation submitted to the Legislature in 1996 and approved the tentative
recommendation that is the subject of this memorandum.)



Automatic Homestead Exemption

Mr. Sargis expresses satisfaction with the “automatic” homestead exemption,
“contrary to the conclusion” of the tentative recommendation. The staff thinks
we are generally in agreement, however, that the automatic statutory exemption
in Code of Civil Procedure Sections 704-710-704.850 operates successfully to
protect judgment debtors from forced sale. It does this through a significant
homestead exemption amount ($50,000-$125,000), procedural protections (or
burdens, depending on one’s point of view), and the quirky requirement that “all
liens and encumbrances” be satisfied, not just senior liens and encumbrances. We
do not believe that the recommendation can be viewed as criticizing the utility of
the automatic exemption — in fact, by recommending repeal of the homestead
declaration, the recommendation relies on the continued vitality of the remaining
exemption statute. The “illusory protection” that is criticized in the
recommendation (see attached draft Recommendation, at 7) is the supposed
voluntary sale proceeds exemption under the declaration procedure, discussed
below.

Limited Voluntary Sale Proceeds Exemption

The crux of the CAC letter has to do with the six-month exemption for
proceeds of a voluntary sale (in the amount of the applicable exemption, based
on the law at the time the creditor’s lien attached). In recognition of the
practicalities and the balance between debtors and creditors, the Commission has
recommended merely continuing and generalizing the existing proceeds
exemption in the homestead declaration statute. The recommendation continues
the six month proceeds protection, which is consistent with other proceeds
exemptions in California, limits it to purchase of another dwelling in California,
and preserves existing lien priorities.

The CAC letter argues that the recommendation “destroys [the] balance of
power that drives judgment debtors and judgment creditors to consensually
resolve these obligations.” (Exhibit p. 3.) Apparently, the debtors are not
recording homestead declarations — or creditors are able to ignore the law and
the long-standing rights of debtors under the to a voluntary sale proceeds
exemption. The staff has yet to discover one anecdote from any debtors’ or
creditors’ attorney validating the effectiveness of the voluntary sale proceeds
exemption under the homestead declaration law. On the other hand, we have
been told there is no mechanism for its enforcement, since title companies merely



report recordations, and the lienholders can refuse to permit a sale to go forward
without satisfaction, notwithstanding the language of Section 704.960.

The CAC clearly doesn’t want to see an effective proceeds exemption, and
one approach the Commission should consider is to repeal the homestead
declaration statute without attempting to preserve (or resurrect?) a voluntary sale
proceeds exemption. Since, as Mr. Sargis discusses, the hard-pressed debtor can
use the threat of bankruptcy to negotiate with creditors, it is not as if debtors are
left completely defenseless. And, we might add, since it appears the existing
voluntary sale proceeds exemption is largely a dead letter, perhaps it is time the
statute was amended to recognize the existing state of affairs.

Mr. Sargis argues that a voluntary sale proceeds exemption would also be an
invitation to fraud. (Exhibit pp. 3-4.) The homeowner would sell to a friend or
relative at a depressed price to thwart creditors, with money or promises passing
under the table. The staff recognizes that this is a risk — it is a problem now, and
is not particularly related to the proposed law. Note that the sale proceeds are
not handed over to the debtor under the proposal. They are held for use in
purchase of a new dwelling in California within six months. The far greater
problem might be for a debtor to find financing and a sufficiently reckless lender
to enable purchase of a new home with $50,000 down. In addition, the creditor’s
lien and priority remain; it is not as if the lien is extinguished.

Mr. Sargis claims that the honest judgment debtor would be subject to an
“insidious problem,”
months. The staff doesn’t understand this point, since the proceeds would only
be tied up if the creditors won’t agree otherwise, and CAC has presented a model
in which creditors routinely deal in good faith with debtors who need to move
from one home to another.

Mr. Sargis argues that permitting the debtor to sell his dwelling and come out
with $50,000 puts him in far worse shape than if he comes out with little or
nothing (as under the existing state of affairs). Apparently, the debtor will now
be in a position where peddlers of reverse mortgages and equity loans will

since the proceeds would be tied up for as long as six

ensnare him. (Exhibit p. 4.) We can’t disagree about the dangers of unscrupulous
lenders and mortgage brokers, but the staff does not follow the argument if it is
supposed to lead to the conclusion that the debtor is better off with no proceeds
exemption.

Mr. Sargis also suggests that “exemption consultants” would spring up if
there were an effective proceeds exemption, with a host of unsavory

-3-



consequences. The staff wonders why this and the other concerns expressed by
CAC are not problems now, since we have had a voluntary sale proceeds
exemption in California for many years — it just requires prior recordation of a
piece of paper. Or is the truth of the matter that there is really no such exemption
because creditors can and do routinely ignore it? The CAC should be directing its
policy arguments against the existing proceeds exemption as well. (See, e.g., the
public policy discussion at Exhibit pp. 5-6.) Neither the Commission nor the
Commission staff invented this exemption. The question is what to do with two
inconsistent, overlapping statutes, one of which is highly confusing,
misunderstood, and the cause of a significant amount of litigation, particularly in
the bankruptcy context.

The Commission needs to decide on this fundamental policy issue: whether
to try to enact a limited and effective proceeds exemption, or to improve and
simplify the law by eliminating the voluntary sale exemption along with the rest
of the declaration procedure. The staff believes that the recommendation needs to
be made to the Legislature so that some resolution of these issues can be
achieved. Whether resulting legislation contains a voluntary sale proceeds
exemption or not, or some other approach emerges from the process, the existing
dual system should not continue.

Additional Protections

Mr. Sargis argues that the law should not impose additional court
proceedings, but at the same time complains that there is nothing in the
recommendation requiring the court to protect against depressed sales. (Exhibit
pp. 6-7, point D.) It might be beneficial to specifically authorize the court to
consider whether the sale is at fair market value, but the recommendation has not
attempted to invent a completely new scheme. The approach is to modify the
existing exemption procedures as needed to accommodate the proceeds
exemption, without creating burdensome procedures. It is hoped that the
existence of the procedure would act as an incentive to the parties to negotiate
and work together, as recommended in the first part of the CAC letter.

Lien Priorities

Mr. Holman is concerned that, in an execution sale, “properly perfected lien
creditors should not lose their place in line merely because they haven’t obtained
or levied a writ.” (Exhibit p. 8, point 2.) This is not a subject addressed by this



recommendation. However, the general rule in execution sales, including sales of
real property since repeal of the right of redemption, is that senior liens are
satisfied (or the sale is conducted subject to such liens) and junior liens are
extinguished following the sale. The remedy of sold-out juniors, as in foreclosure
sales generally, is to bid at the sale or to redeem a senior lien. However, Section
701.810(g) provides that the levying officer is to distribute proceeds remaining
after higher priorities are satisfied to judgment creditors who have delivered
writs to the officer “or any other persons actually known by the levying officer to
have a claim, lien, or other interest subordinate to the judgment creditor’s lien
that is extinguished by the sale and that is not otherwise satisfied pursuant to this
section.” This would appear to be close to what Mr. Holman is suggesting.

Mr. Holman also argues “for the same reason” that junior liens should attach
to the proceeds of a voluntary or involuntary homestead sale, pending purchase
of a new dwelling. (Exhibit p. 8, point 3.) If the proceeds are ever applied to the
satisfaction of the judgment, then the rules in Section 701.810 apply, including
the protection for junior lienholders just discussed. If they are not applied to
satisfaction of the judgment, then it is because they were used to purchase the
new dwelling.

Respectfully submitted,

Stan Ulrich
Assistant Executive Secretary
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Dear Mr. Ulrich:

The California Association of Collectors, Inc. provides the following comments and analysis
to the renewed Staff Recommendation for modifications of the California homestead exemption
statutes. As an initial point, the California Association of Collectors, Inc. disagrees with the Staff's
basic premise that while “{mlany reforms have been accomplished, [but] several critical proposals
could not be achieved in 1982 and again in 1996, leaving the law in a sorry and confusing state. The
homestead exemption statues do not achieve their intended purposes in many case, are misunderstood
and misapplied in state debt collection proceedings, are ignored in self-help transactions, and
contribute to a morass of confusion in the personal bankruptcy arena.” Memorandum 99-35, January
27, 1999,

Other than one bankruptcy, court decision out of the Norther District of California, which was
reversed by the Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals and lead to the pro-consumer debtor homestead
exemption 1994 amendments to the Banlkauptcy Code, the state of the California homestead
exemption has not been in a sorry state of affairs. Rather, it has worked well to protect judgment
debtors from having their homes sold by judgment creditors, and in those rare cases when a sale may
have occurred because of a large equity in the property, the judgment creditor was required to pay
the judgment debtor $50,000, $75,000 or $125,000 cash homestead exemption from the sale proceeds.
Since the 1982 amendments to the homestead law, there have been very few, especially in light of
the number of judgment debtors statewide, appellate decisions addressing confusion or abuse of
judgment debtors under the current law.

I The California Association of Collectors, Inc. concurs in the recommendation to eliminate the
Declared Homestead exemption.

(MY
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IL. The California Association of Collectors, Inc. concurs in the recommendation to amend the
enforcement of judgments provisions to allow a judgment creditor to sell a homestead
property so long as the senior liens and homestead exemption are paid from the sales
proceeds.

III. The California Association of Collectors, Inc. disagrees with the Recommendation to allow
judgment debtors to voluntarily sell homestead property free and clear of judgment liens.

The current Staff Recommendation includes a recasting of Staff’s prior recommendation to
allow a judgment debtor to voluntarily sell homestead property free and clear of recorded judgment
liens. This proposal has not been substantially changed from that presented two years ago and suffers
from the same deficiencies. As discussed below, these deficiencies exist not only to the unfair
detriment of judgment creditors, but also are adverse to the best interests of the consumer judgment
debtors, the courts, and the consumer credit system as a whole.

A, The Current Automatic Homestead Exemption Protects both Judgment Debtors and
Judgment Creditors.

Contrary to the conclusion cited in the Staff Recommendation, the automatic homestead
exemption is regularly enforced to the benefit of judgment debtors both in state court and bankruptcy
court. The cases addressing the rights of judgment creditors are few and no pressing problems
negatively impacting judgment debtors has been cited in any of the past or present recommendations.
No judgment debtors are being forced from their homes by judgment creditors.

Under the current system, a judgment creditor’s ability to enforce a judgment is very limited.
The ability to garnish wages is constrained by both federal and state law. A comprehensive series
of exemptions exist for personal property, including retirement accounts. As required by the
California Constitution, the current homestead exemption protects the judgment debtor’s residence
from a forced sale by a judgment creditor.’

With respect to homestead exemption, a judgment creditor cannot sell the judgment debtor’s
residence without paying all of the liens against the property and paying, in cash, the debtor’s
homestead exemption of $50,000, $75,000, or $125,000.2 Clearly the system is so heavily weighted
in favor of the judgment debtor that the average judgment creditor cannot force a sale of the judgment
debtor’s residence.

! California Constitution, Article XX, Sec. 1.5.

2 California Association of Collectors, Inc. concurs with the recommendation to change this
provision to require only the payment of senior liens and the homestead exemption.

2
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The current automatic homestead exemption system promotes passive debt collection practices
of recording a judicial lien against the judgment debtor’s residence. By recording the judgment lien,
the judgment creditor's potential rights in the property are protected against other creditors and the
judgment debtor, without interfering with the judgment debtor’s peaceful possession of the property.

It is only when the judgment debtor attempts to sell or refinance the property that the
judgment creditor’s lien rights come into play. The judgment debtor and judgment creditor must fairly
negotiate for a payment of the outstanding judgment, often time a partial payment with release of the
remaining judgment. This places the judgment debtor in a significant bargaining position with the
judgment creditor.

The judgment debtor is required to negotiater because hefshe must obtain a release of the
judgment lien in order to complete the refinance or sale. The judgment creditor must negotiate in
good faith or else the judgment debtor will not complete the sale, thereby resulting in no money for
the judgment creditor. This balance of the homestead exemption and the judgment lien rights has
clearing worked since the automatic homestead exemption was enacted.

In the event that the judgment debtor is under severe financial distress or the judgment is of
significant size and the judgment creditor is unreasonable, the judgment debtor has the added
leverage of (threatening) filing bankruptcy. Under the Bankruptcy Code, 11 U.S.C. section 522(f},
the judgment debtor has the right to strip off any judgment lien for which there is no value in the
homestead property above the senior liens and homestead exemption. This is a mechanical formula
routinely applied by the bankruptcy courts. Often the mere reference (threat) of a possible bankruptcy
that is sufficient incentive to bring even the unreasonable judgment creditor to a quick and fair
agreement.

The Staff Recommendation destroys this balance of power that drives judgment debtors and
judgment creditors to consensually resolve these obligations, and destroys the only mechanism by
which a long standing judgment creditor has any reasonable expectation to be paid from the growing
equity in a judgment debtor's residence.

B. The Proposal Would Encourage Fraud And Abuse Of The Exemption Provisions.

The proposal to allow a judgment debtor to sell, at whatever price, homestead property free
and clear of the judgment liens is a clear recipe for abuse. In reviewing the limited number of
homestead cases since enactment of the automatic homestead exemption, several of them relate to
alleged fraudulent conveyances by a judgment debtor of the homestead property to a non-debtor
spouse or child. If adopted, this free and clear sale Recomimendation would soon result in sham sales
and schemes to conduct "sales” at depressed prices to relatives and friends of the judgment debtors,
and sham escrows with the debtors receiving money under the table or for “future services to be

L
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rendered.” The potential for abuse is limited only by the creatively of a judgment debtor attempting
to evade a creditor or someone (debtor consultant) trying to make money from a judgment debtor.

On this point, one of the significant problems facing consumers in California, as identified
by Consumers' Union, are the various reverse mortgages and equity loans being sold in Californian.
Identified were the "High pressure home improvement salespeople, foreclosure “rescue” services, and
unscrupulous lenders and mortgage brokers have ensnared victims into traps that rob them of their
homes. The victims are manipulated and deceived into signing for loans with interest rates as high
as 30 percent and fees of 20 or more points... Estimated losses due to home equity fraud and
overpriced and unfairly induced loans in California run at least into the tens of millions of dollars and
very possibly hundreds of millions. Law enforcement officials and lawyers for victims say the cascs
that are discovered and brought to court are just the tip of the iceberg. Nationally, home equity fraud
and home repair fraud have stripped the value from the homes of an estimated 100,000 people in 20
states.”

Because of the consumer abuse occurring under the current declared homestead provisions,
the Legislature enacted Business and Professions Code section 17537.6 to stop the “declared
homestead exemption mills” that sprung up selling declared homesteads to consumers. These mills
used mass mailing tactics and created the fear that the consumer would lose his/her home if the mill
was not paid an exorbitant sum for preparing a declared homestead.

Creating the right to sell free and clear of a homestead exemption will be an invitation for a
new wave of unscrupulous debtor consultants to start selling “homestead exemption sales services.”
These new “exemption consultants” who would counsel judgment debtors how to avoid paying
judgment creditors, structuring exemption sales so that the sales price does not generate non-exempt
sales proceeds, and scams to steal property from judgment debtors through judgment lien avoidance
strawman escrows. Judgment debtors, mislead into believing that it is better to avoid paying a
judgment, will be lead into transactions intended to defraud creditors, cost the judgment debtor fees
and costs, and ultimately result in their loss of the property.

* October 1995, “Dirty Deeds: Abuses and Fraudulent Practices in California’s Home Equity
Market,” by Norma Paz Garcia at the Consumers Union West Coast Regional Office.

See also: Press Release, July 28, 1998, Contact: Norma Garcia, (415) 431-6747, Consumers Union
West Coast Regional Office; CALIFORNIA HOMEOWNERS AT RISK FOR LENDING FRAUD
& ABUSE.

Articles obtained from Consumers’ Union web page.
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C. Public Policy Is Not Served And It Is Adverse To The General Interests of The

Judgment Debtor To Encourage Further Deferring Payments To Judgment Lien
Creditors.

Under the current automatic homestead exemption statute, judgment debtors are protected from
being forced from their homes, but have to recognize a judgment debt when they chose to sell the
property. The Staff Recommendation would be give a judgment debtor the illusion that hefshe could
indefinitely avoid paying the judgment debt, since it cannot be enforced even if the judgment debtor
wants to trade-up homes and lifestyles. This would be true so long as the judgment debtor continues
to maintain a large mortgage on the property. Such incentives are unfair and detrimental to the
creditors.

As an initial point, it unfairly forces the judgment creditor to provide an involuntary “equity”
loan to the judgment debtor. The judgment debtor may very well be continuing to make his/her
mortgage payments with the monies that should have gone to repay the judgment creditor. The very
creation of the homestead equity that the exemption is protecting is being “financed” by the judgment
creditor. Under the current law, the judgment creditor is required to provide this involuntary
financing until the judgment debtor sells the home. The Staff Recommendation would make this
involuntary financing a long term commitment for the judgment creditor. While under the current
statutes it may be fair to prohibit a judgment creditor from selling the debtor’s house without first
paying the judgment debtor $50,000, $75,000, or $125,000 homestead exemption amount, it is
patently unfair to turn an ordinary judgment creditor into an involuntary long term junior equity
lender to finance the judgment debtor trading-up for a better home.

On a second point, there are no limitations on the judgment debtor for the new homestead
property to be purchased under the Recommendation. There is no limit on the type of property,
location, or amount of senior liens that the judgment debtor could place on the property. The
Recommendation creates an incentive on the judgment debtor to increase the amount of the mortgage,
allowing him/her in homes of increasing value, but maintain an equity within the homestead
exemption. Even worse, it would only be a short time before an unscrupulous lender and enterprising
debtor figure out that the debtor could purchase a more expensive house, increase the amount of the
mortgage over what he originally held, and get monies back from the lender through or around the
escrow. Through this very simple attifice, the judgment debtor could destroy the judgment creditor’s
lien rights.

The perpetual homestead exemption Recommendation by Staff also misleads the average
consumer judgment debtor to hisfher financial detriment. Under the current system, at the time of
a sale or refinance, the judgment debtor negotiates a fair payment on the debt. Often times it results
in a partial payment that resclves the debt in full. With that resolution of the debt, the judgment
debtor has stopped incurring further 10 percent post judgment interest.

ot
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If, as Staff proposes, the judgment debtor can freely move the proceeds irrespective of the
judgment liens, the average consumer debtor will not make provision for the payment of the debt.
In such a case, interest will continue to accrue at 10 percent annually, compounding upon the renewal
of the judgment. The average judgment debtor will not appreciate the real cost of delaying the
payment on the judgment, but instead look to enhancing his/her short term lifestyle.* While in the
short run the judgment debtor may enjoy the luxury that he/she can freely move-up from house to
house without regard to the creditor’s claim, it is coming at a high price.

The Staff Recommendation also subjects the honest judgment debtor to a more insidious
problem. Upon completion of the sale, the debtor would have the homestead exemption money
deposited in a “controlled” account. The judgment debtor would then have six months in which to
use the money to purchase a new house.

Presumably, the average consumer judgment debtor would have to obtain a mortgage for the
new home. As a practical matter, outstanding judgments would disqualify the judgment debtor from
conventional mortgage financing. If financing could be found at all, it would be in the sub-par
market, which charges the borrowers higher interest and points.® This would force the judgment
debtor to pay additional amounts, reducing the amount of protected equity in the new homestead, and
divert even more money from the judgment creditor.

An even worse case scenario for the judgment debtor is to have completed the sale and then
be unable to qualify for a new loan. They would then be facing the loss of the exemption in its
entirely. Consumer debtors, then desperate to save any portion of the homestead exemption, would
be easy prey for third parties selling fraudulent schemes for strawman sales, lease/purchase options,
and other devices to separate the consumer from the very asset, home ownership, that the curment
homestead exemption protects.

D. Any Amendments Should Be To Promote Consensual Creditor-Debtor Resolutions,
Not_Additional Court Proceedings.

Under the Staff Recommendations, a judgment debtor makes the unilateral determination of
whether to sell the homestead property and the sales price. No provision is made for court

* As an example, if a judgment creditor has a judgment in the amount of $10,000, interest will
accrue at the rate of $1,000 a year. By the end of 5 years, the total amount owing will be $15,000.
At that point, if the judgment is renewed, the annual interest accrual is $1,500. By the end of 10
years, the judgment debt has increased to $22,500, at which point the judgment could again be
renewed, and interest would increase to $2,250 per year.

S The specific problem identified by Consumers’ Union.

6
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supervision, determination if the sales price is fair, or that the sales proceeds are protecied for the
judgment creditor. Instead, merely upon the sale being made, the judgment lien is automatically
released. The sales proceeds, if any, are then to be deposited into a “controlled account.”

Not even under the bankruptcy laws, which are pro-consumer debtor with respect to
exemptions, is the judgment debtor given the unilateral right to transfer property away from creditors.
A bankruptcy trustee and court oversee the actions of the debtor. The bankruptcy debtor must come
before the court to establish the value of the homestead property if he/she want to have the judgment
liens stripped off as provided in {1 U.5.C. section 522(f).

The Staff Recommendation would lead to more court proceedings with allegations of
fraudulent transactions and diversion of exemption proceeds. Currently, the questions of whether the
sales price is fair, the escrow valid, and the judgment debtors conduct honest, are worked out in
advance by the judgment debtor and creditor without imposing on the court. Any amendments to the
homestead exemption should enhance the ability of the parties to mutually resolve the disputes, not
create the unilateral right of one party (the judgment debtor) to destroy the lien right of the judgment
creditor.

The Staff Recommendation would force the judgment creditors to bring more post judgment
enforcement litigation to enjoin proposed sales, when they learn of them in advance, or more likely,
to commence additional fraudulent transfer actions. Litigation would arise over the “controlled
account” and the disposition of its monies. No provision is made for who or what will control the
account, how it will be disbursed, and how the monies will be deposited in the account. This equates
to further burden on the court and utilization of court resources to address an area where no problem
exists today.

Very truly yours,

ENER, STARK & MAROIS, LLP

o A

Ronaly H. Sargis

RHS:dn
cacthomeulrich.1t1
0177-45
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Date: Wed, 5 May 1999 17:34:36 -0400

From: "Holman, Brian'" <holmabr@la.whitecase.com>

Sender: "Holman, Brian"™ <holmabr@la.whitecase.com>

Organization: White & Case

To: comment@clrc.ca.gov

Subject: Tentative Recommendation concerning the Homestead Exemption
Importance: Normal

X-SMF-Hop-Count: 2

X-Rcpt-To: comment@clrc.ca.gov

Gentlemen:
1 am a lawyer frequently involved in debtor/creditor matters.

I have the following comments on the Tentative Recommendation concerning
the Homestead Exemption (CLRC News Release April 30, 1999):

1. I concur in the Commission®s recommendation that the declared
homestead procedure be repealed and replaced by an automatic exemption
for a portion of the proceeds of a voluntary sale of a homestead.

2. The proceeds of a judgment creditor"s execution sale of a homestead in

excess of the sum of the homestead exemption and the total of senior

liens should be distributed first to the levying judgment creditor and

then to junior lien creditors in the order of the priority of their

liens, irrespective of whether any junior lien creditor has caused the

levy of a writ of execution against the property or the proceeds of sale.
Properly perfected lien creditors should not lose their place in line

merely because they haven"t obtained or levied a writ. Compare section

727 of the California Code of Civil Procedure.

3. For the same reason, all junior liens should attach to the exempt
proceeds of a sale (voluntary or involuntary) of a homestead pending the
use of such funds to purchase a replacement homestead. |If the exempt
proceeds of sale are later distributed because no replacement dwelling is
purchased within six months, the proceeds should be distributed to the
junior lien creditors in the order of the priority of their liens,
irrespective of whether any junior lien creditor has caused the levy of a
writ of execution against the property or the proceeds of sale. Again,
properly perfected lien creditors should not lose their place in line
merely because they haven"t obtained or levied a writ. Compare section
727 of the California Code of Civil Procedure and subdivision (a)(3) of
section 2924k of the California Civil Code.

Brian L. Holman, White & Case LLP, Los Angeles 213/620-7781
E-mail: holmabr@la.whitecase.com

Printed for Stan Ulrich <sulrich@clrc.ca.gov>
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SUM MARY OF TENTATIVE RECOM MENDATION

The Commission proposes repeaing the declared homestead procedure and
amending the automatic homestead exemption to protect proceeds of a voluntary
sale on the same basis as other homestead proceeds are protected. Dwelling pro-
ceeds would be exempt in the amount of the homestead exemption for which the
debtor qualifies. The burden would be on the exemption claimant to prove qualifi-
cation for the exemption and the amount. Proceeds would be held in an exempt
account for six months for the purpose of purchasing another qualifying home-
stead or else applied to satisfaction of creditors' liens. Consistent with the general
rule applicable to execution sales, the statute would be revised to require satisfac-
tion of senior liens and encumbrances, rather than al liens and encumbrances on
the property. Junior liens would be extinguished by an execution sale on a senior
lien.

The proposed revisions are intended to simplify a confusing statute that debtors,
creditors, lawyers, and both state courts and federal bankruptcy courts have trouble
understanding and applying. In the process of revision, the Commission has sought
to preserve the major benefit offered by the homestead declaration procedure and
the balance between debtors and creditors reflected in the current statutory
scheme.

This recommendation was prepared pursuant to Resolution Chapter 81 of the
Statutes of 1999.
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HOM ESTEAD EXEMPTION

The Enforcement of Judgments Law? contains two procedures relating to home-
stead exemptions from enforcement of money judgments: the automatic home-
stead exemption and the homestead declaration.2 This recommendation proposes
repealing the homestead declaration procedure and preserving its primary benefit,
the voluntary sale proceeds exemption, in the general automatic homestead exemp-
tion. Additional technical revisions are also proposed.

Background

The Cdlifornia Constitution requires the Legislature to “protect, by law, from
forced sale a certain portion of the homestead and other property of all heads of
families.”3 But there is no requirement that the law provide a homestead declara-
tion procedure. The procedure for implementing this constitutional mandate is
determined by the Legislature.4

Cdlifornia has not always had a homestead declaration procedure. A clamed
homestead procedure existed from 1851 until it was superseded by the declared
homestead in the early 1860s.> For over a century, the homestead was protected
against money judgment liens only if the homestead declaration was recorded
before the judgment lien. The principle of “first in time, first in right” was applied
with drastic consequences to the tardy debtor. To protect families of debtors who
failed to record the exemption before death, the probate homestead procedure was
developed, permitting the court to declare an exemption.®

In 1974, the Legidature enacted a second procedure enabling a debtor who had
not recorded a homestead declaration to claim an exemption when the dwelling
was levied on under a writ of execution.” The judgment creditor was required to

1. See 1982 Cal. Stat. ch. 1364, operative July 1, 1983. The Enforcement of Judgments Law was
enacted on recommendation of the Commission. See 1982 Creditors Remedies Legislation, 16 Cal. L.
Revision Comm’ n Reports 1001, 1009 (1982).

2. See Code Civ. Proc. 88 704.710-704.850 (“automatic” homestead exemption), 704.910-704.995
(declared homesteads). (All further statutory references are to the Code of Civil Procedure, unless otherwise
indicated.) The homestead declaration procedure is not complete, incorporating many substantive pro-
visions of the automatic homestead exemption. See Sections 704.910(c) & (€), 704.950(c)(2), 704.960(a),
704.965, 704.970(b), 704.995(c). The Commission recommended repeal of the declared homestead in favor
of the automatic homestead in its 1980 report. See Tentative Recommendation Proposing the Enforcement
of Judgments Law, 15 Cal. L. Revision Comm’ n Reports 2001, 2090-93, 2611-12 (1980). The Commission
again recommended repea in its recommendation on the Homestead Exemption, 26 Cal. L. Revision
Comm'’ n Reports 37 (1996). This recommendation is arevision of the 1996 recommendation.

3. Cal. Const. art. XX, § 1.5.
4. See, e.g., Noblev. Hook, 24 Cal. 638 (1864).

5. For detailed background on the history of the exemption, see Taylor v. Madigan, 53 Cal. App. 3d
943, 126 Cal. Rptr. 376 (1975); Adams, Homestead Legidlation in California, 9 Pac. L.J. 723 (1978)
(prepared by Commission consultant).

6. SeeTaylor v. Madigan, 53 Cal. App. 3d 943, 968, 126 Cal. Rptr. 376 (1975).
7. See 1974 Cal. Stat. ch. 1251, superseded by arevised but similar procedure, 1976 Cal. Stat. ch. 1000.
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petition for issuance of a writ of execution directed against the dwelling and give
notice to the debtor who could then assert the exemption. This procedure was sub-
stantially revised in the Enforcement of Judgments Law, enacted in 1982, resulting
in the homestead exemption procedure in Code of Civil Procedure Sections
704.710-704.850. The probate homestead was put on an independent footing,
unrelated to the homestead declaration.8

Automatic Homestead Exemption

The “automatic” homestead exemption — or dwelling house exemption, asit is
also known — requires the judgment creditor to initiate court proceedings to
determine whether the property is exempt and the amount of the exemption. Gen-
erally where other property islevied on to enforce a money judgment, the debtor is
given notice of levy and must make an exemption claim within 10 days.® A credi-
tor who levies on a “dwelling,”10 which may be an exempt homestead, may not
have it sold to enforce a money judgment without first obtaining a court order for
sale. The creditor must apply for the order for sale within 20 days after notice of
levy is served on the judgment debtor.11 The judgment creditor’s application is not
simple: the creditor must determine whether the county tax assessor’s records
show a current homeowner’s exemption or disabled veteran’s exemption, must
state on information and belief whether the dwelling is a homestead, the amount of
the exemption, and whether there is a homestead declaration recorded, and must
state the amount of liens and encumbrances and the address of other lien creditors
and encumbrancers as shown in the recorder’s files.12 The creditor must give
notice of the application, including personal service on any occupant, at least 30
days before the hearing.13

At the hearing, the creditor has the burden of showing the dwelling is not exempt
iIf thereis atax exemption on file in the tax assessor’ s office; otherwise, the burden
Is on the debtor to prove the exempt status.14 The property is appraised, and if it is
of sufficient value, it is ordered to be sold. Notice of the sale cannot be given until
at least 120 days after the notice of levy, thus affording an opportunity to avoid the
sale.ls Ultimately, the homestead cannot be sold unless the bid exceeds the amount
of the applicable homestead exemption plus the amount necessary to satisfy all
liens and encumbrances on the property, and the price must be 90 percent of the

8. See Prob. Code 88 60, 6520-6528; Recommendation Relating to Probate Homestead, 15 Cal. L.
Revision Comm’ n Reports 401 (1980).

9. Section 703.520.
10. A detailed definition of “dwelling” is set out in Section 704.710.
11. Sections 704.740-704.750.
12. Section 704.760.
13. Section 704.770.
14. Section 704.780(a).
15. Section 701.545. This delay affords an opportunity for the debtor to redeem from the lien.
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appraised value unless the court orders otherwise.l6 Proceeds of a sale are dis-
tributed first to pay off “al liens and encumbrances,” second to the debtor in the
amount of the exemption, third to the levying officer for costs, and finaly to the
judgment creditor to apply to the judgment.1”

This procedure is highly protective of debtors homesteads. It provides for mul-
tiple notices, including personal service, built-in delays and a second-chance pro-
ceeding, significant procedural burdens, appraisals with presumptive minimum
bids, and evidentiary burden shifting. In light of these protections, there should be
no need for a separate homestead declaration procedure.

M odern Declared Homestead

The minimal homestead declaration procedure that has existed since 1982 is
largely aformality. A homeowner or spouse of a homeowner may record a home-
stead declaration describing the principal dwelling. The declaration must be
acknowledged in the manner of a conveyance of real property.18 Unlike its prede-
cessor, the modern homestead declaration has no effect on the right to convey or
encumber the property.1° Nor does it prevent creation of judgment liens,20 attach-
ment liens,21 or state tax liens.22

While the real homestead protection lies in the automatic exemption statute, the
homestead declaration provides several distinct features that must be evaluated
before the procedure can be repeal ed:

1. Judgment lien attaches only to surplus value. Section 704.950 is a mgor
source of confusion. Subdivision (@) provides that judgment liens do not attach to
property subject to a prior homestead declaration, seemingly preserving the old
shield rule. However, subdivision (@) is subject to the exception provided in sub-
division (c), which provides that a judgment lien does attach to the surplus value
of the property over al senior liens and encumbrances plus the homestead exemp-
tion amount. Thus, the exception in subdivision (c) eats up the rule in subdivision
(a)_23

16. Section 704.800.

17. Section 704.850.

18. Sections 704.920-704.930.
19. Section 704.940 & Comment.
20. Section 704.950(c).

21. Section 487.025.

22. Gov't Code § 7170(a).

23. Subdivision (c) was added to Section 704.950 at the last opportunity when the bill was before the
Legidature, asis evident from the Comment which was not revised to reflect the final statutory language.
Two California Courts of Appea have grappled with this part of the homestead declaration statute,
with contradictory results. In Teaman v. Wilkinson, 59 Cal. App. 4th 1259, 1262, 69 Ca. Rptr. 2d 705
(1997), the court interpreted Section 704.950 to mean that a judgment lien does not “attach” to the property
until a surplus equity develops. The court in Smith v. James A. Merrill, Inc., 64 Cal. App. 4th 94, 75 Cal.
Rptr. 2d 108 (1998), correctly interpreted the statute, concluding that a judgment lien attached to the prop-
erty under other law and that the homestead law governed the amount of the lien, not its priority in time.

3=
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This section presents a conceptual conundrum. How can it be determined
whether the judgment lien has attached? The amount of the homestead exemption
can change, as well as the amount of senior liens. A judgment lien attaches to any
property owned or acquired by a debtor in the county where the abstract of judg-
ment is recorded; it is a“dragnet” lien and is not directed at particular property.24
How can it be determined when the lien attaches since the value of the property is
unknown in the absence of a sale or appraisal? Section 704.950(a) provides that
the lien does not attach, subject to the exception in subdivision (c). Subdivision ()
provides that the lien attaches to the surplus value, but does not say when the lien
attaches. Arguably it attaches only when the surplus value exists. Section 704.965
locks in the exemption amount at the time when the lien attaches, but when is that?

This rule, then, does not appear to provide any clear advantage to the homestead
declaration. Theoretically, it might be easier to sell rea property free of the judg-
ment lien if there were a prior homestead declaration recorded, assuming that the
debtor’s equity in the property was agreed by al parties to be less than the home-
stead exemption amount at the time of transfer. But this does not appear to be a
practical advantage, and does not justify continuing the cumbersome and confus-
ing homestead declaration procedure.

2. Exemption of proceeds of voluntary sale. Section 704.960(a) protects the pro-
ceeds of a voluntary sale of the homestead for six months after the date of salez
The automatic homestead exemption protects proceeds of sale, but only where the
homestead is sold at an execution sale, is damaged or destroyed, or is acquired for
public use — in other words, not in the case of a voluntary sale.26 The proceeds
exemption is limited, however, so that it does not include any increase in the
exemption occurring after a judgment lien attaches.2” This is consistent with the

Until the law is clarified, this confusion can be expected to continue in state courts and federal bankruptcy
courts. For bankruptcy cases, see, e.g., City Nat'| Bank v. Chabot (In re Chabot), 100 B.R. 18 (Bankr. C.D.
Cal 1989, aff'd, 131 B.R. 720 (C.D. Cal. 1991), aff'd, 992 F.3d 891 (9th Cir. 1993); Inre Dodge, 138 B.R.
602 (Bankr. E.D. Cal. 1992); Inre Mulch, 182 B.R. 569 (Bankr. N.D. Cdl. 1995); Jones v. Heskett, 180
B.R. 575 (B.A.P. 9th Cir. 1994), rev'd, 106 F.3d 923 (9th Cir. 1997).

24. See Section 697.340.

25. The voluntary sale proceeds exemption originated in 1911. See former Civ. Code § 1265, as
amended by 1911 Cal. Stat. ch. 45, § 1. The proceeds exemption remained essentially unchanged until it
was replaced by Section 704.960 in 1982. See 1982 Cal. Stat. ch. 497, § 8; 1982 Cal. Stat. ch. 1364, § 2.

26. See Section 704.720(b).

27. Section 704.965. This rule was added to the law in conjunction with a bill increasing the amount of
the homestead exemption. See 1984 Cal. Stat. ch. 454. The limitation in Section 704.965 isirrelevant to the
homestead exemption as applied in aforced sale by the judgment creditor. See Section 704.970(b). If a sec-
ond homestead is purchased with exempt proceeds limited by the rule in Section 704.965, it appears that the
exemption of voluntary sale proceeds from the second homestead would also be limited to the level locked
in by the order of recording the judgment lien and initial homestead declaration. Similarly, if the homestead
declaration had been recorded before any attachment or judgment lien, the debtor would have the benefit of
any increased exemption amounts based solely on order of recording.

—4—
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general rule that the amount of an exemption is determined according to the law in
effect when the creditor’ s lien attaches to the property.28

Under existing law, a sufficiently sophisticated debtor would simply record a
homestead declaration before a voluntary sale of the home and thereby protect the
proceeds for six months in the amount applicable when the creditor’ s lien attached.
The Commission can envision no public policy that is served by the formality of
recording a declaration in such circumstances. The creditor cannot prevent the
recording of the declaration. The proceeds exemption follows mechanically from
the act of recording the piece of paper. The specific amount of the voluntary pro-
ceeds exemption depends on the fortuity of the order in which the debtor and the
creditor record their respective papers. The recording has no relation to any other
act. It isnot reviewed and notice is not given. It is not subject to contest at the time
of recording. The protection of voluntary sale proceeds depends solely on the arbi-
trary factor of whether the debtor has remembered to record a paper, a paper which
will then clutter up the public records for years, since it describes as a homestead
property that the debtor intends to sell shortly after the declaration is recorded.

The justification for the reforms of the old homestead declaration, which resulted
in the modern automatic homestead exemption, apply as well to the exemption of
proceeds. Since a prior judgment lien does not prevent recording a homestead dec-
laration with its attendant voluntary sale proceeds exemption, the proceeds exemp-
tion should be incorporated into the automatic homestead exemption. The better
procedure is the general one — proceeds of a voluntary sale are exempt for six
months following sale and the burden is on the debtor to prove the exemption and
trace the proceeds.29 Consistent with general principles,30 the exemption amount
would be determined under the law in effect at the time the judgment creditor’s
lien attached to the homestead.

An important limitation on the proceeds exemption should be codified. The pur-
pose of the proceeds exemption is to enable the judgment debtor to substitute one
home for another without |osing the exemption.3?

3. Relation-back of homestead declaration. Section 704.960(b) provides a
portability feature, permitting the debtor to record a homestead declaration on
property acquired with proceeds from a sale of a declared homestead and continue
the original recording priority in the new homestead. This applies to any exempt
homestead proceeds, whether from voluntary or forced sale, or reimbursement

28. Section 703.050. See also Section 703.060 (liens deemed granted by statute in recognition of power
of stateto repeal, alter, or add to exemptions).

29. For the general rules applicable to proceeds exemptions, see, e.g., Sections 703.030 (manner of
claiming exemptions; effect of failure to claim), 703.080 (tracing exempt funds).

30. See Section 703.100.

31. Thorsby v. Babcock, 36 Cal. 2d 202, 205, 222 P. 2d 863 (1950); Ortale v. Mulhern, 58 Cal. App. 3d.
861, 864, 130 Cal. Rptr. 277 (1976).
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from insurance, so long as the new declaration is recorded within the six-month
period during which proceeds are protected.

This feature also permits the debtor to lock in the opportunity to take advantage
of later statutory increases in the homestead exemption amounts.32 A person who
records a homestead declaration before a creditor’s lien attaches can preserve that
priority and receive the benefit of increased exemptions in proceeds and in a home
purchased with exempt proceeds.33

The general rule is that the amount of an exemption is determined under the law
in effect when the creditor’s lien attached to the property.34 The genera rule
should be applied to homesteads, independent of the fortuity of whether a home-
stead declaration may have been filed.

4. Continuation of homestead after death. Section 704.995 provides that the pro-
tection of the declared homestead from a creditor having an attachment lien, exe-
cution lien, or judgment lien continues after the death of the declared homestead
owner if the dwelling was the principal dwelling of the surviving spouse or a
member of the decedent’s family to whom an interest in the dwelling passes. But
subdivision (c) provides that the amount of the exemption is determined under
Section 704.730 in the general procedure, depending on the circumstances of the
case at the time the amount is required to be determined.3> Where specia protec-
tion of the family home is appropriate, the probate homestead is the better proce-
dure38 The existing homestead declaration procedure provides no meaningful,
additional protection in the case of enforcement proceedings. Section 704.995
harks back to a time when the declared homestead created important rights in
homestead property that could descend to the survivors even contrary to a testa
mentary disposition.

5. Prima facie evidence. Section 704.940 provides that the homestead declara-
tion is prima facie evidence of the matters stated, which would include the state-
ment that the property is the dwelling of the persons listed. Arguably, this provi-
sion may put some burden on the judgment creditor in proceedings to sell a

32. See Section 704.965.

33. The exact outcome depends on the interpretation given Section 704.965. If the creditor’s judgment
lien attaches as of the time it is recorded, notwithstanding the language of Section 704.950(c) concerning
what amount the lien attaches to (surplus over senior liens and homestead exemption amount under Section
704.730), then the problem is a simple one of comparing dates of recording. But if the creditor “obtains” a
lien only at the instant that the value of the homestead actually exceeds the value of liens senior to the
judgment lien at the time it was recorded plus the value of the homestead exemption — then the increased
exemption, by relation back, would have the effect of forestalling the time when the judgment lien could
attach to any surplus value. It is also assumed that Section 704.965 serves as an exception to the general
rule in Section 703.050 that the amount of an exemption is fixed as of the time the creditor’s lien is created
on the property.

34. Section 703.050.
35. Thisisin apparent conflict with the rule in Section 704.965.

36. See Prob. Code 88 60, 6520-6528; Recommendation Relating to Probate Homestead, 15 Cal. L.
Revision Comm’' n Reports 401 (1980).
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dwelling. However, the relevant procedural provisions do not shift the burden to
the creditor as in the case of a current homeowner’ s tax exemption or disabled vet-
eran’s tax exemption.3” While the creditor is required to determine and report
whether there is a homestead declaration38 as part of the procedure for obtaining
an order for sale of adwelling, no statutory duty results from the report.

Problems Created by Separate Homestead Declaration Procedure

The declared homestead provisions present a number of problems which should
be weighed against any claimed advantages:

1. Uncertainty. The one feature a declared homestead procedure based on filing
with the county recorder should have is certainty — yet no one can rely on the
validity of a homestead declaration. The filing sits in the records, but has little
meaning unlessit is tested in execution proceedings. The debtor may have moved
to another residence or the debtor’ s marriage may be dissolved. A later declaration
as to different property acts as an abandonment pro tanto of the interest of the
declarant.3® Thus, if spouses choose to live apart, and a second (or second and
third) declaration is recorded, the first declaration becomes meaningless.

2. lllusory protection. The homestead declaration provides little rea protection
for the family home. The most important protections (other than the voluntary sale
proceeds exemption) are embodied in the automatic homestead. The homestead
declaration can only give afalse sense of security. In any event, most homeowners
have no need for the protection, because most homeowners never become judg-
ment debtors. If they do become judgment debtors, the statute should provide
essential protections without regard to whether a paper may have been filed at
some time in the past.

3. Opportunity for misleading homestead declaration mills. Anyone who has
purchased a house in recent years has probably received one or more solicitations
from the homestead declaration mills.40 Experience with these dubious operations,
whose broadsides typically misrepresent the law, impelled the Legislature to enact
a consumer protection statute governing homestead filing services.41 One operator
who ran afoul of the statute mailed approximately four million solicitations in a
four-year period after enactment of the regulatory statute.42 Repeal of the declared

37. See Section 704.780.
38. Section 704.760(b).
39. Section 704.990(a).

40. See Arthur M. Louis, Homesteading Scam Targets Unwary Homeowners, San Francisco Chronicle,
Sept. 19, 1994, at B1, B3. For a sample solicitation from Morse & Associates, see Memorandum 95-22,
Exhibit pp. 22-24, on file with California Law Revision Commission. The text of the solicitation is also set
out in Appendix A to Inre Morse, 11 Cal. 4th 184, 900 P.2d 1170, 44 Cal. Rptr. 2d 620, 637-39 (1995).

41. SeeBus. & Prof. Code § 17537.6.

42. See People v. Morse, 21 Cal. App. 4th 259, 25 Cal. Rptr. 2d 816 (1993); see aso In re Morse, 11
Cal. 4th 184, 900 P.2d 1170, 44 Cal. Rptr. 2d 620 (1995).
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homestead would put an end to the opportunity to profit from causing undue alarm
and confusing homeowners throughout the state.

Satisfaction of Other Liens and Encumbrances

The minimum bid in the sale of a homestead must include an amount sufficient
to satisfy “all liens and encumbrances on the property.”43 This language is arelic
surviving from the time when ajudgment lien could not attach if there was a prior
homestead declaration on record.#4 The declaration acted as a complete shield
against attachment and judgment liens, but it did not protect against execution on
the homestead. Notwithstanding the prior homestead declaration, the creditor
could seek enforcement of the money judgment through levy of a writ of execu-
tion. If the property was sold on execution without a pre-existing judgment lien in
favor of the creditor, there would be no junior liens practically speaking, and all
the other liens on the property, whether mortgage liens, tax liens, other judgment
liens, would be superior to the creditor’ s execution lien. If the creditor had won the
race to the recorder’s office and the judgment lien had attached first, then there
would be no application of the “al liens and encumbrances’ language, since the
homestead exemption would not apply. Instead, the various lienors would have
had an opportunity to engage in several rounds of redemptions, with junior lien-
holders redeeming from their seniors and the debtor redeeming where possible.

Under existing law, the “all liens and encumbrances’ language can act in an
arbitrary and unreasonable manner, benefiting the profligate or severely unlucky
debtor. If a debtor has enough liens on the property, no creditor can reach it
because any creditor would have to pay off al other liens, junior and senior, under
the literal terms of the statute. On the other side of the coin, the home of a more
responsi ble debtor would not be as hard to reach.

Recommendations 45

Continuation of voluntary sale proceeds exemption. The Commission proposes
repealing the homestead declaration procedure and amending the automatic home-
stead exemption to protect proceeds of a voluntary sale for a six-month period.
Dwelling proceeds would be exempt to the extent traceable in deposit accounts
and cash or its equivalent, with the burden on the exemption claimant to prove the
exemption.

Limitation on use of proceeds. Exempt proceeds would be held as agreed by the
debtor and creditor or deposited in a controlled account, subject to the limitation
that the funds could be applied only to a new qualifying homestead or to satisfac-

43. Section 704.800.

44, Seediscussions of prior law in Tentative Recommendation Proposing the Enforcement of Judgments
Law, 15 Cal. L. Revision Comm'’'n Reports 2001, 2094 (1980); Adams, Homestead Legislation in Cali-
fornia, 9 Pac. L.J. 723 (1978); Taylor v. Madigan, 53 Cal. App. 3d 943, 126 Cal. Rptr. 376 (1975).

45. Additional technical revisions would also be made. These changes are noted in the Comments to the
sections in the proposed legislation, infra.
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tion of the judgment. This rule is consistent with the purpose of the exemption to
protect a home for the debtor and the debtor’s family. During the six-month
period, the exempt fund would continue to be subject to unsatisfied liens on the
homestead.

Priority treatment of support enforcement. The proceeds from a voluntary sale of
a homestead should presumptively be subject to enforcement of judgments for
child, family, or spousal support. However, if a support obligor has other obliga-
tions for child, family, or spousal support, the support obligor should be able to
seek a court order on noticed motion for an equitable determination of the extent to
which the exemption should apply.46

Elimination of “ all liens and encumbrances’ rule. The statute should be revised
to require satisfaction of senior liens and encumbrances, rather than all liens and
encumbrances on the property, and junior liens would be extinguished, consistent
with the general rule applicable to execution sales.

46. This proposa rectifies a confusing aspect of the existing statutes. Under general exemption rules
provided in Section 703.070, exemptions apply to enforcement of child, family, or spousal support unless
the support obligee obtains an order for the equitable determination of the extent to which the exemption
can be applied to the support obligation. However, under Section 704.950(b), a homestead declaration does
not apply to ajudgment lien created by recording a support judgment. The full implications of this section
are unclear, but it has been interpreted in practice to mean that there is no exemption of proceeds of a vol-
untary sale of a homestead.
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Comment. Former Section 17537.6 is repealed because it is not necessary in view of the repeal
of the homestead declaration procedure. See also Code Civ. Proc. § 694.090 (effect of homestead
declaration under former law).

Code Civ. Proc. § 487.025 (repealed). Right to attach declared homestead
SEC 2. Sectron 487 025 of the Code of Civil Procedure is repealed

Comment. Section 487.025 is repealed because it is not necessary in view of the repeal of the
homestead declaration procedure. See also Section 694.090 (effect of homestead declaration
under former law).

Code Civ. Proc. § 694.090 (amended). Effect of homestead declar ation

SEC. 3. Section 694.090 of the Code of Civil Procedure is amended to read:

694.090. On and after the operative date January 1, 2001, a declaration of
homestead made under prior law pursuant to Title 5 (commencing with Section
1237) of Part 4 of Division 2 of the Civil Code is-effective-only-to-the-extent
provided-in or Article 5 (commencing with Section 704.910) of Chapter 4 of
Division 2 of this code is ineffective.

Comment. Section 694.090 is amended to reflect the repeal of the homestead declaration
procedure in Sections 704.910-704.995. The homestead exemption is governed by Sections
704.710-704.860. The protection of voluntary sale proceeds under the former homestead
declaration procedure is continued in Section 704.720.

Code Civ. Proc. § 703.145 (added). Homestead exemption in bankruptcy
SEC. 4. Section 703.145 is added to the Code of Civil Procedure, to read:
703.145. For the purpose of subdivision (a) of Section 703.140, the amount of
and qualifications for the homestead exemption shall be determined under Article
4 (commencing with Section 704.710) without regard to the procedural rules, the
rules governing the rights of judgment creditors, and other limitations and
conditions provided by that article.

—-12 -
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Comment. Section 703.145 is new. This section is intended to avoid problems in applying the
state homestead exemption in bankruptcy pursuant to Section 703.140. Substantive rules are
applied but not procedural rules, since the procedural rules are designed for use in state money
judgment enforcement proceedings. For bankruptcy purposes, only the substantive rules
governing the homestead exemption are borrowed. Thus, the amount of the exemption is
determined based on the bankrupt’s personal circumstances under Section 704.730. If proceeds
are claimed as exempt in bankruptcy proceedings, the protection provided in Section 704.720
would apply, but is not limited to six months or for the purpose of purchasing another qualifying
homestead. Similarly, the rules concerning creditors’ rights and agreements between debtors and
creditors should not apply in the bankruptcy context.

Code Civ. Proc. § 704.720 (amended). Homestead exemption

SEC. 5. Section 704.720 of the Code of Civil Procedure is amended to read:

704.720. (8) A homestead is exempt from enforcement of a money judgment as
provided in this article and is exempt from sale under this division to the extent
provided in Section 704.800.

(b) The proceeds from a disposition of a homestead are exempt for the purpose
of purchasing another qualifying homestead under the following conditions:

(1) If a homestead is sold under this division or is damaged or destroyed or is
acquired for public use, the proceeds of sale or of insurance or other
indemnification for damage or destruction of the homestead or the proceeds
received as compensation for a homestead acquired for public use are exempt in
the amount of the homestead exemption provided in Section 704.730.-The
proceeds are exempt for a period of six months after the time date the proceeds are
actually received by or become payable in an amount certain to the judgment

debtor Whlchever is the earller date @eeepuhakmaﬁhem%teadﬁ@eencmren%

(2) If a hom&ctead is voluntarily sold or otherW|se sold in a manner not

described in paragraph (1), the proceeds of sale are exempt in the amount of the
homestead exemption provided in Section 704.730 for a period of six months after
the date of sale.

(3) If ahomestead exemption is applied to other property of the judgment debtor
or the judgment debtor’'s spouse during the six-month period provided in
paragraph (1) or (2), the proceeds exemption terminates.

(c) If the judgment debtor and spouse of the judgment debtor reside in separate
homesteads, only the homestead of one of the spouses is exempt and only the
proceeds of the exempt homestead are exempt.

(d) The exemption of proceeds provided in paragraph (2) of subdivision (b) does
not apply to the enforcement of a judgment for child, family, or spousal support,
unless the judgment debtor has other obligations for child, family, or spousal
support and obtains an order, on noticed motion, that all or part of the proceeds are
exempt. In making this determination, the court shall apply the standards provided
in subdivision (c) of Section 703.070.

—-13-
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(e) Except as otherwise agreed by the judgment debtor and judgment creditor, if
an exemption is claimed for proceeds under this section, the proceeds shall be held
in a controlled deposit account, subject to the judgment creditor’ s lien, and the lien
on the dwelling shall be released. At any time during the applicable six-month
exemption period provided in subdivision (b), the court shall, on noticed motion of
the judgment debtor, make an order applying all or part of the proceeds to the
purchase of another dwelling that qualifies for a homestead exemption under this
article. Unless the judgment debtor purchases another dwelling that qualifies for a
homestead exemption under this article during the six-month exemption period,
the court, on noticed motion, shall order the proceeds applied to the satisfaction of

the judgment.
(f) The proper court for filing motions under this section is the court where an

application for an order of sale of the dwelling would be made under Section
704.750.

Comment. Subdivision (a) of Section 704.720 is revised for clarity and for consistency with
other exemption provisions. See, e.g., Sections 703.010, 704.010, 704.020.

Subdivision (b) is amended to adopt as a genera rule the exemption for proceeds of voluntary
sales under former Section 704.960 (homestead declaration). Subdivision (b)(3) is generalized
from the last clause of former subdivision (b) of this section. See also Section 703.080 (tracing
exempt funds).

Subdivision (d) is a new provision that implements the application of the general rule on
equitable division of exemptions in Section 703.070 in a situation where the judgment debtor has
multiple support obligees. Unlike the genera rule, however, subdivision (d) places the burden on
the judgment debtor to file the motion and seek the court order.

Subdivision (e) provides a new procedure for claiming the proceeds exemption and restricting
the availability of the funds to the purpose of acquiring a new homestead. Accordingly, during the
six-month period during which proceeds are exempt, the money is held in a controlled account for
the sole purpose of purchasing another homestead that qualifies under this article. The judgment
creditor’s lien priority is preserved on the proceeds during the six-month period. If the proceeds
have been levied upon after they were received by the judgment debtor, such as in a case where
the debtor has deposited the proceeds in a deposit account, the general exemption procedure
following levy of execution is applicable. See Section 703.510 et seg. The tracing rulesin Section
703.080 apply to determine the extent to which a fund contains the exempt proceeds from
disposition of a homestead.

Subdivision (f) specifies the proper court for proceedings under this section.

Revised Background Comment (1982). Subdivision (a) of Section 704.720 supersedes former
Civil Code Section 1240 (providing for a declared homestead) and former Code of Civil
Procedure Sections 690.3 and 690.31(a) (providing for a claimed dwelling exemption). Unlike the
former provisions, Section 704.720 does not specify the interest that is protected and does not
limit the homestead in a leasehold to a long-term lease; any interest sought to be reached by the
judgment creditor in the homestead may be entitled to the exemption. The homestead exemption
does not apply where a lien on the property other than an enforcement lien is being forecl osed.
See Section 703.010.

Subdivision (b)(1) provides an exemption for proceeds of an execution sale of a homestead, for
proceeds from insurance or indemnification for the damage or destruction of a homestead, and for
an eminent domain award or proceeds of a sale of the homestead for public use. Subdivision
(b)(1) supersedes portions of former Civil Code Sections 1256 and 1265 and of former Code of
Civil Procedure Sections 690.8 and 690.31(k). The exemption for insurance proceeds was not
found in former law. But see Houghton v. Lee, 50 Cal. 101, 103 (1875) (insurance proceeds for
destruction of declared homestead exempt).

—14—
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Subdivision (c) is new. The spouses may select which of the homesteads is exempt. If the
spouses are unable to agree, the court determines which homestead is exempt. See Section
703.110 (application of exemptions to marital property). Note that a married person may, after a
decree of legal separation or an interlocutory judgment of dissolution of marriage, be entitled to a
homestead in his or her own right, and this right is not affected by subdivision (c). See Section
704.710(d) (“spouse” defined) & Comment.

Code Civ. Proc. 8§ 704.760 (amended). Contents of application for sale of dwelling

SEC. 6. Section 704.760 of the Code of Civil Procedure is amended to read:

704.760. The judgment creditor’s application shall be made under oath, shall
describe the dwelling, and shall contain all of the following:

(@) A statement whether or not the records of the county tax assessor indicate
that there is a current homeowner’ s exemption or disabled veteran’s exemption for
the dwelling and the person or persons who claimed any-such the exemption.

(b) A statement, which may be based on information and belief, whether the
dwelling is ahomestead and the amount of the homestead exemption, if any;-and-a

the judgment debtor.

(c) A statement of the amount of any liens or encumbrances on the dwelling, the
name of each person having a lien or encumbrance on the dwelling, and the
person’s address of such-person used by the county recorder for the return of the
instrument creating such the person’slien or encumbrance after recording.

Comment. Subdivision (b) of Section 704.760 is amended to delete the obsolete reference to
the repealed homestead declaration procedure. See also Section 694.090 (effect of homestead
declarations under prior law). The other changes are technical, nonsubstantive revisions.

Code Civ. Proc. § 704.780 (amended). Hearing

SEC. 7. Section 704.780 of the Code of Civil Procedure is amended to read:

704.780. (a) The burden of proof at the hearing is determined in the following
manner:

(1) If the records of the county tax assessor indicate that there is a current
homeowner’ s exemption or disabled veteran’s exemption for the dwelling claimed
by the judgment debtor or the judgment debtor’ s spouse, the judgment creditor has
the burden of proof that the dwelling is not a homestead. If the records of the
county tax assessor indicate that there is not a current homeowner’s exemption or
disabled veteran’s exemption for the dwelling claimed by the judgment debtor or
the judgment debtor’ s spouse, the burden of proof that the dwelling is a homestead
IS on the person who claims that the dwelling is a homestead.

(2) If the application states the amount of the homestead exemption, the person
claiming the homestead exemption has the burden of proof that the amount of the
exemption is other than the amount stated in the application.

(b) The court shall determine whether the dwelling is exempt. If the court
determines that the dwelling is exempt, the court shall determine the amount of the

—-15-
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homestead exemption and the fair market value of the dwelling. The court shall
make an order for sale of the dwelling subject to the homestead exemption, unless
the court determines that the sale of the dwelling would not be likely to produce a
bid sufficient to satisfy any part of the amount due on the judgment pursuant to
Section 704.800. The order for sale of the dwelling subject to the homestead
exemption shall specify the amount of the proceeds of the sale that is to be
distributed pursuant to Section 704.850 to each person having a lien or
encumbrance on the dwelling that is superior to the judgment creditor’s lien, and
shall include the name and address of each such person. Subject to the provisions
of this article, the sale is governed by Article 6 (commencing with Section
701.510) of Chapter 3. If the court determines that the dwelling is not exempt, the
court shall make an order for sale of the property in the manner provided in Article
6 (commencing with Section 701.510) of Chapter 3.

(c) The court clerk shall transmit a certified copy of the court order (1) to the
levying officer and (2) if the court making the order is not the court in which the
judgment was entered, to the clerk of the court in which the judgment was entered.

(d) The court may appoint a qualified appraiser to assist the court in determining
the fair market value of the dwelling. If the court appoints an appraiser, the court
shall fix the compensation of the appraiser in an amount determined by the court to
be reasonable, not to exceed similar fees for similar services in the community
where the dwelling is located.

Comment. Subdivision (b) of Section 704.780 is amended to make clear that only liens with
priority over the judgment creditor’s lien, upon which the property is to be sold, are entitled to
satisfaction from the proceeds of sale. See also Sections 704.800 (minimum bid), 704.850
(distribution of proceeds).

Code Civ. Proc. § 704.800 (amended). Minimum bid at sale of homestead

SEC. 8. Section 704.800 of the Code of Civil Procedure is amended to read:

704.800. (a) If no bid is received at a sale of a homestead pursuant to a court
order for sale that exceeds the amount of the homestead exemption plus any
additional amount necessary to satisfy all liens and encumbrances on the property,
including but not limited to any attachment or judgment lien, that are superior to
the judgment creditor’s lien, the homestead shall not be sold and shall be released
and is not thereafter subject to a court order for sale upon subsequent application
by the same judgment creditor for a period of one year after the date set for the
sae.

(b) If no bid is received at the sale of a homestead pursuant to a court order for
sale that is 90 percent or more of the fair market value determined pursuant to
Section 704.780, the homestead shall not be sold unless the court, upon motion of
the judgment creditor, does one of the following:

(1) Grants permission to accept the highest bid that exceeds the amount of the
minimum bid required by subdivision (a).

(2) Makes anew order for sale of the homestead.

—-16-
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Comment. Subdivision (a) of Section 704.800 is amended to provide that only liens and
encumbrances senior to the judgment creditor’s lien, taking into account any relation back, are
entitled to satisfaction out of the proceeds from the sale of a dwelling under this article. See a'so
Sections 704.780 (hearing), 704.850 (distribution of proceeds).

Code Civ. Proc. § 704.840 (amended). Costsincurred in sale proceedings

SEC. 9. Section 704.840 of the Code of Civil Procedure is amended to read:

704.840. (a) Except as provided in subdivision (b), the judgment creditor is
entitled to recover reasonable costs incurred in a proceeding under this article.

(b) If no bid isreceived at a sale of a homestead pursuant to a court order for sale
that exceeds the amount of the homestead exemption plus any additional amount
necessary to satisfy all liens and encumbrances on the property that are superior to
the judgment creditor’s lien, the judgment creditor is not entitled to recover costs
incurred in a proceeding under this article or costs of sale.

Comment. Section 704.840 is amended for consistency with Section 704.800.

Code Civ. Proc. § 704.850 (amended). Distribution of proceeds of sale of homestead

SEC. 10. Section 704.850 of the Code of Civil Procedure is amended to read:

704.850. (a) The levying officer shall distribute the proceeds of sale of a
homestead in the following order:

(1) To the discharge of all liens and encumbrances;-if-any, on the property that
are superior to the judgment creditor’slien.

(2) To the judgment debtor in the amount of any applicable exemption of
proceeds pursuant to Section 704.720.

(3) To the levying officer for the reimbursement of the levying officer’s costs for
which an advance has not been made.

(4) To the judgment creditor to satisfy the following:

(A) First, costs and interest accruing after issuance of the writ pursuant to which
the saleis conducted.

(B) Second, the amount due on the judgment with costs and interest, as entered
on the writ.

(5) To any other judgment creditors who have delivered writs of execution to the
levying officer, accompanied by instructions to levy on the proceeds of sale, in the
amounts to which the persons are entitled in order of their respective priorities.

(6) To the jJudgment debtor in the amount remaining.

(b) Sections 701.820 and 701.830 apply to distribution of proceeds under this
section.

Comment. Subdivision (a)(1) of Section 704.850 is amended for consistency with Section
704.800. The words “if any” are deleted as surplus. A new subdivision (a)(5) is added to permit
junior creditors whose liens will be extinguished pursuant to Section 704.860 to seek satisfaction
from any excess proceeds at the sale, by delivering awrit of execution and levy instructions to the
levying officer. This procedure is consistent with the genera rule in Section 701.810(Q)
(distribution of proceeds of sale or collection). Note that under the rule in Section 704.800(a) the
items listed in paragraphs (1) and (2) of subdivision (a) are of equal priority since the homestead
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may not be sold unless al senior liens and encumbrances are satisfied and the judgment debtor
receives the full amount of the applicable exemption.

Revised Background Comment (1982). Subdivision (a) of Section 704.850 continues the
priority of distribution of proceeds provided by subdivision (j) of former Section 690.31 and of
former Civil Code Section 1255. This section is an exception to the general rules on distribution
of proceeds provided by Section 701.810. Liens and encumbrances required to be satisfied under
subdivision (a8)(1) include not only preferred labor claims to be satisfied pursuant to Section 1206
and the amount of any state tax lien (as defined in Government Code Section 7162) but also any
other liens and encumbrances with priority over the judgment creditor’slien.

Subdivision (b) makes clear that the general provisions governing the time for distributing
proceeds (Section 701.820) and the resolution of conflicting claims to proceeds (Section 701.830)
apply to the distribution of proceeds from the sale of a homestead.

Code Civ. Proc. § 704.860 (added). Extinction of liensupon sale
SEC. 11. Section 704.860 is added to the Code of Civil Procedure, to read:
704.860. If property is sold pursuant to this article, the lien under which it is sold
and any liens subordinate thereto on the property sold are extinguished.

Comment. Section 704.860 is new. The rule in this section applicable to homestead sales is
consistent with the general rule under Section 701.630.

Code Civ. Proc. 88 704.910-704.995 (repealed). Declared homestead
SEC. 12. Article 5 (commencing with Section 704.910) of Chapter 4 of Division
2 of Title 9 of Part 2 of the Code of Civil Procedure is repealed.

Note. The text of Sections 704.910-704.995 is set out infra. See material under “Comments to
Repealed Sections.”

Gov't Code § 7170 (technical amendment). Attachment of tax lien

SEC. 13. Section 7170 of the Government Code is amended to read:

7170. (a) Except as provided in subdivisions (b) and (c), a state tax lien attaches
to al property and rights to property whether real or personal, tangible or
intangible, including all after-acquired property and rights to property, belonging

to the taxpayer and Iocaf[ed in thls state A%tate%%nena{aeh&s%ad\/\,tel#ng

(b) A state tax lien is not valid as to real property against the right, title, or
interest of any of the following persons where the person’s right, title, or interest
was acquired or perfected prior to recording of the notice of state tax lien in the
office of the county recorder of the county in which the real property is located
pursuant to Section 7171

(1) A successor in interest of the taxpayer without knowledge of the lien.

(2) A holder of asecurity interest.

(3) A mechanic’slienor.

(4) A judgment lien creditor.

(c) A state tax lienisnot valid as to personal property against:

—-18 -
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(1) The holder of a security interest in the property whose interest is perfected
pursuant to Section 9303 of the Commercial Code prior to the time the notice of
the state tax lien isfiled with the Secretary of State pursuant to Section 7171.

(2) Any person (other than the taxpayer) who acquires an interest in the property
under the law of this state without knowledge of the lien or who perfects an
interest in accordance with the law of this state prior to the time that the notice of
state tax lien isfiled with the Secretary of State pursuant to Section 7171.

(3 A buyer in ordinary course of business who, under Section 9307 of the
Commercial Code, would take free of a security interest created by the seller.

(4) Any person (other than the taxpayer) who, notwithstanding the prior filing of
the notice of the state tax lien:

(A) Isaholder in due course of anegotiable instrument.

(B) Isaholder to whom a negotiable document of title has been duly negotiated.

(C) Isabonafide purchaser of a security.

(D) Is a purchaser of chattel paper or an instrument who gives new value and
takes possession of the chattel paper or instrument in the ordinary course of
business.

(E) Isaholder of apurchase money security interest.

(F) Is a callecting bank holding a security interest in items being collected,
accompanying documents and proceeds, pursuant to Section 4210 of the
Commercia Code.

(G) Acquires a security interest in a deposit account or in the beneficial interest
inatrust or estate.

(H) Acquires any right or interest in letters of credit, advices of credit, or money.

(I) Acquires without actual knowledge of the state tax lien a security interest in
or aclaimin or under any policy of insurance including unearned premiums.

(J) Acquires any right or interest in property subject to a certificate of title statute
of another jurisdiction under the law of which indication of a security interest on
the certificate of title is required as a condition of perfection of the security
interest.

(5) A judgment lien creditor whose lien was created by the filing of a notice of
judgment lien on personal property with the Secretary of State prior to the time the
notice of state tax lien isfiled with the Secretary of State pursuant to Section 7171.

Comment. The second sentence of Section 7170(a) is deleted in view of the repeal of the
homestead declaration procedure. See also Code Civ. Proc. 88 688.030 (exemptions from
enforcement of tax), 694.090 (effect of homestead declaration under former law), 704.850
(satisfaction of liens upon execution sale of homestead).

Prob. Code § 6528 (repealed). Declared homestead
SEC. 14. Section 6528 of the Probate Code is repealed.
2 Nothing. i . o terrminates i
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N~No oabh,w N P

Saff Draft Recommendation » October 4, 1999

Comment. Section 6528 is repealed because it has no purpose in view of the repeal of the
homestead declaration procedure. See also Code Civ. Proc. 8§ 694.090 (effect of homestead
declaration under former law). Repeal of this section has no effect on the ability of a surviving
judgment debtor to take advantage of the homestead exemption provided in Code of Civil
Procedure Sections 704.710-704.860.
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COMMENTS TO REPEALED SECTIONS

Code Civ. Proc. 88 704.910-704.995 (repealed). Declared homestead

Note. Sections 704.910-704.995 are set out below for reference purposes. A Comment to each
section indicates its proposed disposition in the revised statute or its relation to the general
homestead exemption provisions that supersede the homestead declaration procedure.

Article 5. Declared Homesteads

§ 704.910 (repealed). Definitions

704.910. Asused in this article:

(@ “Declared homestead” means the dwelling described in a homestead
declaration.

(b) “Declared homestead owner” includes both of the following:

(1) The owner of an interest in the declared homestead who is named as a
declared homestead owner in a homestead declaration recorded pursuant to this
article.

(2) The declarant named in a declaration of homestead recorded prior to July 1,
1983, pursuant to former Title 5 (commencing with Section 1237) of Part 4 of
Division 2 of the Civil Code and the spouse of such declarant.

(c) “Dwelling” means any interest in real property (whether present or future,
vested or contingent, legal or equitable) that is a“dwelling” as defined in Section
704.710, but does not include a leasehold estate with an unexpired term of less
than two years or the interest of the beneficiary of atrust.

(d) “Homestead declaration” includes both of the following:

(1) A homestead declaration recorded pursuant to this article.

(2) A declaration of homestead recorded prior to July 1, 1983, pursuant to
former Title 5 (commencing with former Section 1237) of Part 4 of Division 2 of
the Civil Code.

(e) “Spouse” means a“spouse” as defined in Section 704.710.

Comment. Former Section 704.910 is superseded by Section 704.710.

§ 704.920 (repealed). Manner of selection of homestead

704.920. A dwelling in which an owner or spouse of an owner resides may be
selected as a declared homestead pursuant to this article by recording a homestead
declaration in the office of the county recorder of the county where the dwelling is
located. From and after the time of recording, the dwelling is a declared homestead
for the purposes of thisarticle.

Comment. Former Section 704.920 is superseded by the homestead exemption procedure in
Sections 704.710-704.860. See also Sections 694.090 (effect of homestead declaration under prior
law), 704.710 (definitions).

-21-
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§ 704.930 (repealed). Execution and contents of homestead declar ation

704.930. (&) A homestead declaration recorded pursuant to this article shall
contain all of the following:

(1) The name of the declared homestead owner. A husband and wife both may
be named as declared homestead owners in the same homestead declaration if each
owns an interest in the dwelling selected as the declared homestead.

(2) A description of the declared homestead.

(3) A statement that the declared homestead is the principal dwelling of the
declared homestead owner or such person’s spouse, and that the declared
homestead owner or such person’s spouse resides in the declared homestead on the
date the homestead declaration is recorded.

(b) The homestead declaration shall be executed and acknowledged in the
manner of an acknowledgment of a conveyance of real property by at least one of
the following persons:

(1) The declared homestead owner.

(2) The spouse of the declared homestead owner.

(3) The guardian or conservator of the person or estate of either of the persons
listed in paragraph (1) or (2). The guardian or conservator may execute,
acknowledge, and record a homestead declaration without the need to obtain court
authorization.

(4) A person acting under a power of attorney or otherwise authorized to act on
behalf of a person listed in paragraph (1) or (2).

(c) The homestead declaration shall include a statement that the facts stated in
the homestead declaration are known to be true as of the personal knowledge of
the person executing and acknowledging the homestead declaration. If the
homestead declaration is executed and acknowledged by a person listed in
paragraph (3) or (4) of subdivision (b), it shall aso contain a statement that the
person has authority to so act on behalf of the declared homestead owner or the
spouse of the declared homestead owner and the source of the person’s authority.

Comment. Former Section 704.930 is superseded by the homestead exemption procedure in
Sections 704.710-704.860.

8§ 704.940 (repealed). Right to convey or encumber not limited; evidentiary effect of
homestead declaration

704.940. A homestead declaration does not restrict or limit any right to convey
or encumber the declared homestead. A homestead declaration, when properly
recorded, is prima facie evidence of the facts therein stated, and conclusive
evidence thereof in favor of a purchaser or encumbrancer in good faith and for a
valuable consideration.

Comment. Former Section 704.940 is superseded by the homestead exemption procedure in
Sections 704.710-704.860. See also Section 704.780 (burden of proof in hearing on homestead
exemption).
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§ 704.950 (repealed). Attachment of judgment lien to homestead

704.950. (a) Except as provided in subdivisions (b) and (c), a judgment lien on
real property created pursuant to Article 2 (commencing with Section 697.310) of
Chapter 2 does not attach to a declared homestead if both of the following
requirements are satisfied:

(1) A homestead declaration describing the declared homestead was recorded
prior to the time the abstract or certified copy of the judgment was recorded to
create the judgment lien.

(2) The homestead declaration names the judgment debtor or the spouse of the
judgment debtor as a declared homestead owner.

(b) This section does not apply to ajudgment lien created under Section 697.320
by recording a certified copy of a judgment for child, family, or spousal support.

(c) A judgment lien attaches to a declared homestead in the amount of any
surplus over the total of the following:

(1) All liens and encumbrances on the declared homestead at the time the
abstract of judgment or certified copy of the judgment is recorded to create the
judgment lien.

(2) The homestead exemption set forth in Section 704.730.

Comment. Former Section 704.950 is superseded by the homestead exemption procedure in
Sections 704.710-704.860.

§ 704.960 (repealed). Proceeds exemption after voluntary sale; reinvestment of proceeds of
voluntary or involuntary sale and effect of new declaration

704.960. (a) If a declared homestead is voluntarily sold, the proceeds of sale are
exempt in the amount provided by Section 704.730 for a period of six months after
the date of sale.

(b) If the proceeds of a declared homestead are invested in a new dwelling
within six months after the date of a voluntary sale or within six months after
proceeds of an execution sale or of insurance or other indemnification for damage
or destruction are received, the new dwelling may be selected as a declared
homestead by recording a homestead declaration within the applicable six-month
period. In such case, the homestead declaration has the same effect as if it had
been recorded at the time the prior homestead declaration was recorded.

Comment. Former Section 704.960 is superseded by the homestead exemption procedure in
Sections 704.710-704.860. The proceeds exemption is continued in Section 704.720(b).

§ 704.965 (repealed). Deter mination of amount of exemption

704.965. If a homestead declaration is recorded prior to the operative date of an
amendment to Section 704.730 which increases the amount of the homestead
exemption, the amount of the exemption for the purposes of subdivision (c) of
Section 704.950 and Section 704.960 is the increased amount, except that, if the
judgment creditor obtained a lien on the declared homestead prior to the operative
date of the amendment to Section 704.730, the exemption for the purposes of
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subdivision (c) of Section 704.950 and Section 704.960 shall be determined as if
that amendment to Section 704.730 had not been enacted.

Comment. Former Section 704.965 is superseded by the homestead exemption procedure in
Sections 704.710-704.860. The principle in former Section 704.965 is applicable under the
general rule in Section 703.050 (exemptionsin effect at time of lien govern).

§ 704.970 (repealed). Effect of article on rights after levy of execution

704.970. Whether or not a homestead declaration has been recorded:

(a) Nothing in this article affects the right of levy pursuant to awrit of execution.

(b) Any levy pursuant to awrit of execution on a dwelling (as defined in Section
704.710) and the sale pursuant thereto shall be made in compliance with Article 4
(commencing with Section 704.710) and the judgment debtor and the judgment
creditor shall have all the rights and benefits provided by that article.

Comment. Section 704.970 is repealed as unnecessary following repeal of the homestead
declaration procedure. The homestead exemption is now governed exclusively by Article 4
(commencing with Section 704.710) and related rules.

§ 704.980 (repealed). Declaration of abandonment

704.980. (a) A declared homestead may be abandoned by a declaration of
abandonment under this section, whether the homestead declaration was recorded
pursuant to this article or pursuant to former Title 5 (commencing with former
Section 1237) of Part 4 of Division 2 of the Civil Code.

(b) A declaration of abandonment shall be executed and acknowledged in the
manner of an acknowledgment of a conveyance of real property. It shall be
executed and acknowledged by a declared homestead owner or by a person
authorized to act on behalf of a declared homestead owner. If it is executed and
acknowledged by a person authorized to act on behalf of a declared homestead
owner, the declaration shall contain a statement that the person has authority to act
on behalf of the declared homestead owner and the source of the person’s
authority.

(c) The declaration of abandonment does not affect the declared homestead of
any person other than the declared homestead owner named in the declaration of
abandonment.

Comment. The procedure for abandonment in former Section 704.980 is obsolete in view of
the repeal of the homestead declaration procedure. See also Section 694.090 (effect of homestead
declarations under prior law).

§ 704.990 (repealed). Abandonment of homestead by recording homestead declaration for
different property

704.990. () A declared homestead is abandoned by operation of law as to a
declared homestead owner if the declared homestead owner or a person authorized
to act on behalf of the declared homestead owner executes, acknowledges, and
records a new homestead declaration for the declared homestead owner on
different property. An abandonment under this subdivision does not affect the
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declared homestead of any person other than the declared homestead owner named
in the new homestead declaration.

(b) Notwithstanding subdivision (@), if a homestead declaration is recorded
which includes property described in a previously recorded homestead declaration,
to the extent that the prior homestead declaration is still valid, the new homestead
declaration shall not be considered an abandonment of the prior declared
homestead.

Comment. Former Section 704.990 relating to abandonment is obsolete in view of the repeal
of the homestead declaration procedure. See also Section 694.090 (effect of homestead
declarations under prior law).

8 704.995 (repealed). Continuation of protection after death of declared homestead owner

704.995. (@) The protection of the declared homestead from any creditor having
an attachment lien, execution lien, or judgment lien on the dwelling continues after
the death of the declared homestead owner if, at the time of the death, the dwelling
was the principa dwelling of one or more of the following persons to whom all or
part of the interest of the deceased declared homestead owner passes:

(1) The surviving spouse of the decedent.

(2) A member of the family of the decedent.

(b) The protection of the declared homestead provided by subdivision ()
continues regardless of whether the decedent was the sole owner of the declared
homestead or owned the declared homestead with the surviving spouse or a
member of the decedent’s family and regardless of whether the surviving spouse
or the member of the decedent’s family was a declared homestead owner at the
time of the decedent’ s death.

(c) The amount of the homestead exemption is determined pursuant to Section
704.730 depending on the circumstances of the case at the time the amount is
required to be determined.

Comment. Former Section 704.995 is superseded by the homestead exemption procedure in
Sections 704.710-704.860. The general homestead exemption applies with full force to the
interest of the survivor, consistent with the rule in subdivision (c). Additional protection is
provided by the probate homestead procedure. See Prob. Code 88 6520-6527.
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REVISED COMMENT

Code Civ. Proc. 8 704.710 (revised comment). Definitions

Revised Background Comment (1982). Subdivision (a) of Section 704.710 supersedes the
provisions of former law pertaining to the property that could be exempt as a homestead or
dwelling. See former Civ. Code § 1237 (declared homestead); former Code Civ. Proc. 88 690.3
(housetrailer, mobilehome, houseboat, boat, or other waterborne vessel), 690.31(a) (dwelling
house). Subdivision (a) is intended to include al forms of property for which an exemption could
be clamed under former law and any other property in which the judgment debtor or the
judgment debtor’ s spouse actually resides.

Subdivision (b) continues the substance of former Civil Code Section 1261(2) except that the
minor grandchild of a deceased spouse and a child or grandchild of a former spouse are included
in thelisting.

Subdivision (c) is intended to preclude a judgment debtor from moving into a dwelling after
creation of a judgment lien or after levy in order to create an exemption. Subdivision (c) also
makes clear that, even though an abstract of judgment has been recorded to create a judgment
lien, the existence of the lien does not prevent a homestead exemption on after-acquired property
that is acquired as the principal dwelling using exempt proceeds. Subdivision (c) is an exception
to the rule of Section 703.100 (time for determination of exemption).

Subdivision (d) preserves the effect of former Civil Code Sections 1300-1304 (married
person’s separate homestead). The effect of subdivision (d) is to permit each spouse to claim a
separate homestead after entry of a judgment decreeing legal separation or of an interlocutory
judgment of dissolution of the marriage, because subdivision (c¢) of Section 704.720 is not
applicable.

Revised Background Comment (1983). Section 704.710 is amended to delete “actually”
which appeared before “resides’ or “resided’ in various provisions. The word “actualy” is
deleted to avoid a possible construction that a person temporarily absent (such as a person on
vacation or in the hospital) could not claim a homestead exemption for the principal dwelling
merely because the person is temporarily absent, even though the dwelling is the person's
principal dwelling and residence.
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