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Memorandum 75-9 

Subject: Study 39.140 - Garagekeeper's Lien 

The Commission decided at the November 1974 meeting to study 

garagekeeper's liens. This memorandum presents several alternative 

approaches as a basis for beginning the study of this subject. The 

garagekeeper's lien law, as amended in 1974, is attached hereto as 

Exhibit I. Adams v. Department of Motor Vehicles, which declared parts 

of the former statute unconstitutional, is attached as Exhibit II. Forms 

and an explanatory memorandum of the Department of ~tor Vehieles are 

attached as Exhibit III. A proposal for further amending the existing 

statute made by the California Tow Truck Association is attached as 

Exhibit IV. 

The attached staff draft of a recommendation relating to garage-

keeper's liens contains a discussion of the Adams case and the amendments 

made in response to the decision and presents a draft bill which would cure 

some technical deficiencies in the existing law. You should read the intr~ . 

duction to the draft recommendation before conSidering the following alter-

natives: 

1. Repeal Expiration Date 

The existing law expires on Decamber 31, 1976. The Commie.ien ceuld 

recommend the repeal of the expiration date if it thinks the existing law 

is constitutional, acceptably efficient, and. nat too technically def.ctlv~. 

The staff thinks that at a minimum the technical defects sheuld be cerrected. 



2. Correct Technical Defects 

The attached staff draft recoromendation is an attempt to cure 

obvious technical defects and make some minor substantive changes 

in the existing law. The recommendation assumes that the existing law 

satisfies the constitutional objections in Adams v. Department of Motor 

Vehicles. It makes some effort to speed up the process of shuffling 

forms from lienholder to DMV to owner to DMV to lienholder to owner, 

but retains the structure of existing law which uses the DMV to police 

the procedure. Contrast this with the Tow Truck Association recommen­

dations. 

3. Tow Truck Assocation Recommendations 

The California Tow Truck Association has sent us a copy of their 

recommended amendments to the existing law. (See Exhibit IV. We have 

underlined the new matter; omissions are not indicated.) nasically 

the Tow Truck Association would reduce the part played by the rMV in 

order to speed up the process of form-shuffling. The Association &eem! 

to be concerned primarily with the length of time it takes to obtain 

clearance to sell a car and the shortage of parking lot space caused 

by this delay. This is of concern primarily to a garagekeeper who is 

in the business of towing vehicles from city streets rather than the 

repair facility which asserts a lien only when a customer refuses to 

pay. The new law has resulted in a significant increase in the time it 

takes to process a car. Although in theory under the new law the author­

ization procedure would take 30 days, the experience of the Association 

members is that it often takes 65 days or more. (See Exhibit IV, page 2.) 

The DMV reports that it has received many complaints because of the 
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additional time required. (See Exhibit III.) It remains to be seen 

whether the DMV will in time be able to speed their handling of the 

various forms. 

In brief, the Association proposes to allow the lienholder to send 

the warning notice to the owners, rather than requiring him to apply to 

the DMV which then sends 'sUCh notice. Apparently at the same time as 

the notice is sent, the lienholder would be permitted to initiate sale 

procedures although the sale may not be held before the expiration ~f 

30 days. Of course, if the claim is contested, the sale would not be 

held unless a release or judgment is obtained. The DMV wnuld be re­

quired to notify the lienholder of a cont~st within 10 days (after 

receipt). The authorization to conduct a lien sale is eliminated; if the 

lienholder hears nothing, he may go ahead and sell. 

Depending on how one juggles the constitutional requirements of 

adequate notice and opportunity for a hearing, this proposal may seem 

too summary. Delay by the DMV under existing law preserves the rights 

of the vehicle owner; under the Association's proposal, such dela,y purports 

to cut off those rights. An additional defect may be that no official is in 

a position to look over the lienholder's claim upon which the lien is 

based. On the other hand it should be noted tha~ if the DMV is consid-

ered to be in the position of passing on the substantive sufficiency of 

the lienholder's claim, another objection may be made. (See item 4.) 

4. Additional Constitutional Protections Required 

A Comment in the Pacific Law Journal makes several interesting points. 

(See Comment, California Garagemen's Liens--Impact And Aftermath of 

Adams v. Department of Motor Vah ic les I 6 Pac. L. J. 95 (1975).) The 
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writer suggests that, under the law as amended in 1974, permitting the 

DMV to authorize the sale of the '!ehicle may be an invalid delegation 

of judicial power. This is based on the argument that the authorizatiQn 

is equivalent to foreclosure of a lien--historically a judicial function. 

The writer also suggests that it would be difficult to obtain judicial 

review of the issuance of the authorization of sale. On the other hand, 

the writer notes that the DMV has no discretion under the amended law to 

determine whether the garagekeeper's claim is valid and the Q1mer has I'W 

opportunity for a hearing in court. (See Ld. at 110-116.) 

More importantly, the writer points out that there is no provision 

for a determination of the probable validity of the lienholder's claim 

by a jLldicial officer and argues that the notice provision is insufficient. 

In both Mitchell v. W.T. Grant, Co., 94 S. Ct. 1895 (1974), and North 

Georgia Finishing, Inc. v. Di-Chem, Inc. , 95 S. ct. 719 (1975), the U.S, 

Supreme Court affirmed the importance of the requirement that a judicial 

officer participate in the issuance of a writ which deprives a person of 

possession or use of his property. The principle should not be different 

where the state authorizes a person to continLle to deprive another person 

of the possession or Llse of his property or to sell it. (See id. at 

119-120. ) 

The writer also suggests that the DMV should be required to give 

notice to owners and interested persons in the manner of service of process 

in order to afford a sufficient opportunity to take advantage of the right 

to a hearing on the claim. The writer would allow the person on whom 

notice is served 30 days to answer. (See id. at 121.) 
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The staff ~hinks that these are serious objections, but it is diffi-

cult to say with any degree of certainty ;1hat sort of scheme is necessary 

to meet minimum due process requirements. 

5. Separate Procedures 

A more expeditious procedure might be provided for disposal of aban-

doned vehicles which are tOl-Ied from city streets by a licensed tow truck 

operator based on the premise that the need to remove and dispose of such 

vehicles constitutes an extraordinary circumstance. In Adams the Court -
noted that the garagekeeper's lien law was not limited to extraordinary 

circumstances so that doctrine would not save the challenged statutory 

provisions. (See Exhibit II, p. 154.) The removal and disposal of aban-

doned vehicles does not constitute such an extraordinary circumstance that 

the state could permit the summary disposal of such vehicles with no notice 

and opportunity for a hearing, out it is arguable that a more expeditious 

procedure should be available since in this class of cases there is no 

dispute between the gara"ekeeper and the Ovmer and usually the owner does not 

even want the vehicle. On the other hand, it can be argued that it is just 

this sort of case--the seemingly abandoned vahicle--where the most stringent 

constitutional protections are required; the owner has not voluntarily 

relinquished possession and he has not cont,racted with the garagekeeper 

so he is unknovm without some investigation. 

6. :Nonpos ses sory Lien 

Generally speaking, in California the garagekeeper loses the lien if 

he relinquishes possession of the vehicle. A procedure could be provided 

which would a1101' the garagekeeper to preserve his lien by a timely filing 
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with a designated state agency. This alternative creates a multitude of 

its mm problems; we list it here in case the Commission is interested in 

further investi;ating this approach. The Ontario Law Revision Commission 

recommended a nonpossessory lien in a 1972 report; Georgia also has a non­

possessory lien statute. It should be noted that a nonpossessory lien 

would not solve the problems indicated by the Tow Truck Association in 

Exhibit IV. 

7. Minor Details 

Various minor features could be ccmbined with the different alternatives 

discussed above. 

The garagekeeper could be required to give an undertaking which would 

indemnify the vehicle Olmer for his expenses in regaining possession should 

he prevail on the claim as a condition to continuing possession under the 

lien. 

To lessen the burden of the deprivation on the vehicle miller without 

requiring him to pay the garagekeeper's claim, the o'mer could be allowed to 

give an undertaking to release the vehicle or make a cash deposit with the 

DMV. 

A Note in the Boston University Law Review suggests that, similar to 

summary eviction, a hearing on the garagekeeper's claim could be required to 

be 11eld within two to four days. Such summary proceedings could be justi~ 

fied bl' "such factors as the rapid depreciation of car values, the incon­

venience and costs of storage, the public interest in preserving a vital 

industry from unjust and possibly crippling loss, the owner's interest in 

unrescricted control of the vehicle and his normal lack of 'good defense.'" 

(54 Boston U.L. Rev. 542, 566 (1974).) The writer goes on to suggest that 
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such a hearing is appropriate to determine the probable validity of the 

claim as a prerequisite to continuinc ;ehe lien or granting a ricinpOSSes_ 

sorylienrather than as a final determination of the dispute. 

The garagekeeperfs lien could be restricted to a certain minimum 

amount in order to avoid assertior. of the lien against a valuable vehic.le 

for a relatively minor charge. The minimum ar:ount for tvhich a lien is 

given could be a dollar amount or a percentage of the value of the vehicle. 
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stan G. Ulrich 
Legal Counsel 



Meu.orandum 7~-9 

EXHIBIT I 

Senate Bill No. 2293 

CHAPTER 1262 

An act to amend Sections 3052, 3068, 3071, and .1072 of; and to add 
Section 3071.5 to, the CYvil Code Blld to amelld Sections 22705 and 
22851 of the Vehicle Code, relating to fiells, making an appropria­
fioll therefor, and declaring the urgency thereof; to take effect 
immediate/v. 

[Approved by ('.overnoT September 23., 1974. Filed with 
Secretary of State September 23, 197 •. ) 

L1~GISL\.TIVE COUNSt:L'S DIGEST 

5B 2293, Song. Garagemen's lien. 
Revise:' garagemen's lien laws. 
Makes related changes. 
Appropriates $1,127,000 to Department of Motor Vehicles for pur­

pose of administering act and requires that Motor Vehicle Account 
in the Transportation Fund be reimbursed within three years of the 
operative date of appropriation from fees collected from applications 
to the department for the issuance of an authorization to conduct a 
lien sale. 

To take effect immediately, urgency statute. 
Appropriation: yes. 

The people of the State of California do enact as follows: 

SECTION 1. Section 3052 of the Civil Code is amended to read: 
3052. If the person entitled to the lien provided in Section 3051 

of this code. be not paid the amount due, and for which said lien is 
given, within ten (10) days after tbe same ,hall have become due, 
then such lienholder may proceed to sell said property, or so much 
thereof as may be necessary to satisfy said lien and costs of sale at 
public auction, and by giving at least ten (10) but not more than 
twenty (20) days' previous notice of sucb sale by advertising in some 
newspaper published in the county in which said property is situated; 
or if there be no newspaper printed in such county, then by posting 
notice of sale in three (3) of the most public places in the town or 
place where such property is to be sold, for ten (10) days pre,ious 
to the date of the sale; provided, however, that prior to the sale of 
any. trailer to satisfy any such lien, twenty (20) days' notice by 
registered mail shall be given to the legal owner and to the registered 
owner of such vehicle, if registered in this state as the same appear 
in the registration certificate, and also to the Division of Motor 
Vehicles by registered letter; and the Division of Motor Vehicles shall 
in like manner immediately notify said legal owner and said 
registered owner of said proposed sale, but failure on the part of said 

Z 229J Z5 19 



Ch.I262 --2-

division to give such notice shall not aITect the validity of any such 
sale; and provldcd, further, that within twenty (20) days after said 
sale, the legal owner may redeem any '~lch trailer so sold to satisfy 
said lien upon the payment of the amount thereof, all costs and 
expenses of said sale, together with interest on said sum at the rate 
of 12 percent per annum from the due date thereof or the date when 
the same were advanced until the repa}menl. The proceeds of the 
sale must be applied to tbe discharge of the lien and the cost of 
keeping and selling the property; the remainder, ifany,must be paid 
over to the legal owner thereof. 

SEC. 2. Section 3068 of the Ci vii Code is amended to read: 
3068. (a) Every person has a lien dependent upon possession for 

the compensation to which he is legally entitled for making repairs 
or performing labor upon, and fUrnishing supplies or materials for, 
and for the storage, repair or safekeeping of. and for the rental of 
trailer parking space for. any vebicle of a type subject to registration 
under the Vehicle Code, subject to tbe limitations set forth in this 
chapter. 

(b) That portion of the lien in excess of three hundred dollars 
($300) for any work or services, or in excess of two hundred dollars 
($200) or, if an application for an authorization to conduct a lien sale 
has been filed pursuant to Section 3071 within 30 days after the 
commen~'Cmen t of the storage or safekeeping, three hundred dollars 
($300) for any storage or safekeeping, rendered or performed at the 
request of any person other tban the holder of the legal title, is 
invalid, unless prior to commencing any such work or service the 
person claiming tbe lien gives actual notice in writing either by 
personal service or by registered letter addressed to the legal owner 
named in tbe registration certificate. and the consent of the holder 
of the legal title is obtained before any sucb work or services are 
performed. If any portion of a lien includes charges for the care, 
storage or safekeeping of, or for tbe rental of trailer parking space for, 
a vehicle for a period in exce.ss of 60 days. tbe portion of the lien 
which accrued after the expiration of sucb period is invalid unless tbe 
prOvisions of Sections 10650 and 10652 of tbe Vehicle Code luive been 
complied with by the holder of the lien. 

SEC. 3. Section 3071 of the Civil Code is amended to read: 
3071. (a) If the lienholder is not paid the amount due, and for 

which the lien is given, within 10 days after tbe same becomes due, 
then the lienbolder may proceed to sell the property, or so much 
thereof as may be necessary to satisfy the lien and costs of sale 
pursuant to Section 3072 or 3073, if (I) an authorization to conduct 
a lien sale bas been issued by the Department of Motor Vehicles 
pursuant to this section, (2) ajudgment has been entered in favor of 
the lienholder on the claim whicb gives rise to the lien, or (3) tbe 
registered and legal owners of tbe vehicle have signed, after tbe lien 
has arisen, a release of any interest in the vehicle in the form 
prescribed by Section 3071.5. 
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(b) A lienholder may apply to the department for the issu~nce of 
an authorization to conduct a lien ,ale. The application shall be 
executed under penalt>' of perjury and shall include all of the 
following: 

(1) A description of the vehicle. 
(2) The names and addresses of the registered and legal owners 

of the vehicle, if ascertainable from registration certificates within 
the vehicle, and the names and addresses of any other persons who 
the lienholder knows or reasonably should know claim an interest in 
the vehicle. 

(3) A statemeut of the amount ofthe lien and the facts concerning 
the claim which gives rise to the lien. 

(4) A statement that the lienholder has no information or belief 
that there is a valid defense to the claim which gives rise to the lien. 

(c) Upon receipt of an application which is made pursuant to 
subdivision (a), the department shall send a notice and a copy of the 
application and a preaddressed return envelope by certified mail to 
the registered and legal owners at their addresses ofrecord with the 
department and any other persons whose names and addresses are 
listed in the application. The notice shall include all of the follOWing: 

(1) A statement that an application has been made with the 
department for the issuance of an authorization to conduct a lien 
sale. 

(2) A statement that (i) the person has a legal right to • hearing 
in court, (ii) if a hearing in conrt is deSired, the enclosed declaration 
under penalty of perjury must be signed and returned, and (iii) if the 
declaration is signed and returned, the lienholder will be allowed to 
,ell the vehicle only if he obtains a judgment in court or obtains a 
release from the registered and legal owners. 

(3) A statement that (i) if the declaration is signed and returned, 
the lienholder must file an action in court, (ii) the registered and 
legal Owners will be notified of the lawsuit, and (iii) the registered 
and legal owners may then appear to contest the claim of the 
lienholder. 

(4) A statement that the department will issue the authorization 
to conduct a lien sale unless the person signs and returns, within 20 
da~'s after the date on which the notice was mailed, the enclosed 
declaration staling that the person desires to contest the claim which 
gives rise to the lien. 

(5) A statement that the person shaH be liable for costs if the 
lienholder brings an action and a judgment is entered in favor of the 
lienholder on the claim which gives rise to the lien. 

(6) A declaration which may be executed by the person under 
penalty of perjury stating that he desires to contest the claim which 
gives rise to the lien and an address at which the person may be 
served in any action in court arising out of the lien. 

(d) If the department receives a declaration described in 
.paragraph (3) of slIbdivision (c) which is mailed within 20 days after 
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the date upon which the notice described in subdivisioll (c) is 
mailed, it shall notify the lienholder that he may not conduct a lien 
sale unless (I) a Judgment has been entered in his favor on the claim 
which gives rise to the lien or (2) the registered and legal owners of 
the vehicle have signed, after the hen has arisen, a release of any 
interest in the vehicle in the form prescribed by Section 3071.5. In 
any other case, the department shaU issue an authorization to 
conduct a lien sale. Any lien under this chap!,'r or Section 3051 which 
arises because work or services have been performed on a vehicle 
with the consent of the registered owner shall be extinguished unless 
the lienholder files an action in court within 20 days after the 
lienholder receives a notice from the department under this 
subdivision. 

(e) Upon the filing of an application, the department shall charge 
a fee which shall be established by the department in an amount 
equal to the actual costs of the department incurred in processing the 
application. The fee shan be recoverable as a cost by the lienholder 
if a lien sale is conducted. 

(f) Any lien under this chapter or Section 3051 which arises 
because work or services have been performed on a vehicle with the 
consent of the registered owner shan be extinguished unless (1) the 
lienholder applies for an authorization to conduct a lien sale under 
subdivision (a) within 10 days after the lien has arisen or (2) if no 
application is made under subdivision (a), an action in court ;s filed 
within 30 days after the lien has arisen. For the purposes of this 
subdivision, a lien shan be deemed to arise at the time a written 
statement of charges for completed work or services is presented to 
the registered owner. 

(g) The form of the applications, notices, and declarations 
described in this section shan be prescribed by the department. The 
language used in the applications, notices, and declarations should be 
simple and nontechnical. The notice and declaration described in 
subdivision (c) shan be printed in both English and Spanish. 

(h) The procedure described in subdivisions (b), (c), and (d) 
shall not be applicable if the vehicle is a mobilehome which is 
required to be moved under a permit issued pursuant to Section 
35790 of the Vehicle Code. A lien sale of the mobilehome may be 
conducted only if a judgment has been entered in favor of the 
lienholder on the claim which give, rise to the lien or the registered 
and legal owners have signed, after the lien has arisen, a release of 
any interest io the mobile home in the form prescribed by Section 
3071..5. 

SEC. 4. Section 3071.5 is added to the Civil Code, to read: 
3071.5 .. (a) A registered or legal owner of a vehicle in the 

possession of a person holding a lien under this chapter or Section 
3051 may rdease any interest in the vehicle after the lien has arisen. 
The release shall be dated when signed and a copy shall be given at 
the time the release is signed to tlie person releasing the interest. 
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(b) The release sh"il he in ut ka,e! i2-pOHlI type and ,hall contain 
all of the following inf,um3l!on iiI ,imple, nontechnical language: 

(1) A descripiio,,)f' i.,· .-, ·hole-, ,,,eluding thp>'t':lr and make, the 
engine or vehicle ideutiHcaticn nUinber. and tilP license number, if 
available. 

(2) The name!} und <1ddres~'es of lhf' n:~gistered and legal owners 
of record with the Department of "fotor Vehicle" if available. 

(3) A ,tatement 01 the am"unl aflhe lien and the facts concerning 
the claim which gives rise to the lipn. 

(4) A statement that the per,on releasing the interest understands 
that (i) he has a legal right to a hearing in court prior to any sale of 
the vehicle to satisfy the lien and (ii) he is giving up the right to 
appear to contest the claim of the lienholder. 

(5) A statement that (i) the person releaSing the interest gives up 
any interest he may have in the vehicle and (ii) he is giving the 
lienholder permission to sell the vehicle. 

(c) The release required hy Ihis section shall not be filed with the 
department in connection with any transfer of inlerest in a vehicle. 

SEC. 5. Section 3072 of the Civil Code is amended to read: 
3072. Prior to any such sale the lienholder shall give at least 10 

days but not more than 20 days notice of the sale by advertising for 
one issue in some newspaper of general circulation published in the 
county in which the property is situated. If there is no newspaper 
printed in such county, noticd shall bE' given by posling notice of sale 
in three of the most public places in the town or place where the 
property is to be sold, for 10 days previous to the date of the sale. 
Prior to the sale of any vehicle to satisfy any such lien, 2() days notice 
by registered mail or registered mail, mturn receipt requested, shall 
be given to the legal ow'!"r and t" the registered owner Of the 
vehicle, if registered in this state, as the same appear in the 
registration certificate, and also 10 the Department of Motor 
VehiclE'-s by registered mail or cerliEed mail whether or not the 
vehicle is registered in this state. All notices required in this chapter 
shall specify the make, the engine or vehicle identification number, 
and license number, if "v~ilHble, of tbe vehicle, and the dale, time, 
and place of the sale. :'JJ8 proceed, of the sale sh"ll be ,"ppiied to the 
discharge of the lien and the cost of keeping and selling the property. 
The remainder, if any, shall be paid to the legal owner, if any, Or to 
the owner if there is no legal owner, or if 110 !egal owner can be 
located, the remainder shall be deposited with the department for 
deposit in the Motor Vehicle Fund. 

SEC. 6. Section 22705 of th~ Vehicle Code is anlended to read: 
22705. If the vehide is aPl1raised at a value not exceeding two 

hundred dollars ($200), the public agency which removed the 
vehicle shall: 

(a) Within 48 hours after appraisal notify the Department of 
Justice in Sacramento of the removal of such vehicle. 

(b) Prepare a certificate which shall describe the vehicle 
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including the location of any license plate> thereon, state the 
appraised value and that the vehicle will be junked or dismantled, 
and indicate thaL 

(1) An authorization to conduct a lien sale has been issued by the 
department pursuant to Section 3071 of the Civil Code or ajudgment 
has been entered in [Rvor of the lienholder on the claim which gives 
rise to the lien, or 

(2) The registered and legal owners have signed a release under 
penalty of perjury disclaiming any interest, which release shall be 
included with the certificate, or 

(3) The vehicle is in such condition that vehicle identification 
numbers are not available to determine owners of record with the 
department, in which event the vehicle may be disposed of. 

(c) Upon completion of the certificate, execute and deliver a hiU 
of sale free of any lien for fees and penalties due and payable to the 
department together with a copy of the certificate to either the 
lienholder who shall endorse the bill of sale to a licensed automobile 
dismantler, or to the licensed automobile dismantler, or to the public 
agency for disposal, whichever has the vehicle in possession. 

(d) Forward the completed certificate to the Department of 
Motor Vehicles in Sacramento. 

(e) A vehicle which is the subject of a certificate prepared and 
forwarded pursuant to this section shall not be reconstructed or 
made operable. 

(fl Licemed dismantlers acquiring vehicles which are the subject 
of certificates prepared and forwarded pursuant to this section shall 
be excused from any fees and penalties which would otherwise be 
due to the Department of Motor Vehicles, provided that a copy of 
the certificate forwarded to the Department of Motor Vehicles 
pursuant to this section is retained in the licensed dismantlers' 
business record. 

(g) A local agency may authorize by contract OT franchise the 
removal, disposal, or removal and dbposal, of such vehicles by other 
than a licensed automobile dismantler if it has first requested bids for 
removal, disposal, or removal and disposal, of such vehicles. Such 
franchise or centract shall be issued 10 or executed with the lowest 
responsible bidder. The bill of sale shall then be executed and 
delivered pursuant to subdivision (c) with the franchisee or 
contractor. 

SEC. 7. Section 22851 of the Vehicle Code is amended to read: 
22851.· Whenever a vehicle has been removed to a garage under 

the provisions of this chapter and the keeper of the garage has 
received the [lOtice or n"tices as provided herein, the keeper shall 
have a lien dependent upon possession for his compensation for 
towage and for caring for and keeping safe such vehicle for a period 
not exceeding 60 days or, if an application for an authorization to 
conduct a lien sale has been filed pursuant to Section 3071 of the Civil 
Code within 30 days after the removal of the vehicle to the garage. 
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12(} days and, if the vehide is not recovered by the owner within such 
period or the owner is unknown, the keeper of the garage may satisfy 
his lien in the manner and after giving the notices required in 
Sections 3071 and 3012 of th" Civil Code. Notwithstanding the 
provbion of this section, if the vehicle is appraised at a value not 
exceeding two hundred dollars ($200) by a person authorized to 
make such appraisal, the keeper of the garage may, if the vehicle is 
not recovered by the owner within (20) days or the owner is 
unknown, satisfy his lien as provided in Section 3073 of the Civil Code 
or Seelion 22705 of this code. 

SEC. a. The sum of one million one hundred twenty-seven 
thouSlll1d dollars ($1,127,000) is hereby appropriated from the Motor 
Vehicle Account in the State Transportation Fund to the 
Department of Motor Vehicles for the purpose of administering this 
act. The Motor Vehicle Account in the Transportation Tax Fund shall 
be reimbursed within three years of the operative date of this section 
for the appropriation made under this section from fees collected 
pursuant to subdivision (e) of Section 3071 of the Civil Code. 

SEC. 9. This act is an urgency statute necessary for the 
immediate preservation of the public peace, health or safety within 
the meaning of Article IV of the Constitution and shall go into 
immediate effect. The facts constituting the necessity are: 

A recent decision of the Supreme Court of California which 
invalidated the lien sale prOvisions of existing law with respect to 
motor vehicles has had the effect of severely restricting the ability 
ohtate and local agencies to remove motor vehicles from public and 
private propert}'. In order to restore this ability to these agencies, it 
is necessary that this act shall go in to immediate eflect. 

SEC. lO. This act shall be operative on November 1, 1974, and 
shall not be operative after December 31, 1976. 

o 
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Memorandum 75-9 
STATE OF CALIFORNIA.--BUStNESS A.ND tli!ANSP01HAnON AGi:'NCf 

DEPARTMENT OF MOTOR VEHICLES 
OlVIS10N Of RECISTRATION 

1.0. SO;.: 1319, SACRAMEN10, CAliFORNIA 9.5SGo 

8 Jan 15 

Mr. Stan G. Ulrich 
Legal Counsel 

EXHIBIT III 

California Law Revision Commission 
School of Law 
stanford, california 94305 

Dear Mr. Ulrich: 

File No. 7SA 

Director Cozens has asked me to respond to your letter 
of 31 Dec 74 regarding procedures and forms used by the 
Department of Motor Vehicles in the administration of 
Senate Bill 2293, California Statutes 1974, Chapter 1262. 

I am enclosing a copy of the procedural memo issued by 
the department and copies of all forms presently in use 
in our administration of Senate Bill 2293. 

Senate Bill 2293 has caused many complaints because of 
the additional time now required to clear vehicles for 
lien sale. This is particularly significant to lien­
holders using space to hold low valued abandoned vehicles 
for clearance. 

Please do not hesitate to write or call if we can assist 
your staff in their review of garage owners' liens. 

Sincerely, 
. ,> 

,/ ."J t/-;PXn1--.J 
-~A. BROWN 

Registnr 

Enclosures 

REG. 185 (REV. 61i41 
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Dl:Y'\'~'f/!l!;r.IT Uf<' MO'~~OR Vb'HrGLZ) 
;!I'~ .l_t:jiJ}l (;_~i' hl·;:-;;~·.rRtl1'l:UN 

MEMO 2~ Oct 74 

'ro: i',-:.L HOLD.f:J<' .• S Of.' I'H£' I".t..!oi"":fl-.L OF RFXlI,s'T·lilt1'ION J.AND 
E..'"\'F'(;nCi'~'lE;rrt' AGE-NC 1 i?:3 

Fh'OM: 

L When e:le-Jirj,np; appli.":':i_:..~on.9 t'o.n· reF;ist.-~ot:ion 0: vebtclea sold at lien salE'- beginning 
1 Nov. '74-; f~(:ld 2.~'fi::.cs \·;,il1 lull:.w the ]:.·rc{;c.jure~:; ou~lined in Sections 14~l09 and 
14~ J 17 ~ ;-",cHl.uc~l Gr r:egi.str.~t.Lm 1-';:':}:~ ec:!t:re., ~ 'l'iJ. tb the followtng modificat ions: 

I'? ~ 

or 

or 

(a) 

(b) 

(c) 

(R(lg~ 9~·,) (m~i i tam ,~ ,find insert: 

h. co.:),)" of t.:-w ~;Wdhol?"mp.nt- entered in the J.ietlholdel'-'s ;favor i::::,sued by 
the court, 

1~ IRel(~ase of lnterer:;t. f (Reg.6;'9) signed after the lien has arisen, 
from oO<:h the registered .9..i'')d legal owners. It 

NO'Et: \!t'hencver items (b) or (c) abov-e are part of the application, 
send suspense. 

h~ Section 14.117 - Delete i~em 2. (Reg~~l) and item ;. and insert: 

f12. (a) 'Autboriz.ation For Lien Sale ' (Reg~338)1 

or (0) A copy of the Judgement entered in the lienholderls favor issued by 
the court. 

or (c;' A tRelease of lrlterest I (Reg.659) signed after the lien has arisen l 
from both the registerec and legal owners. 11 

NO'1'.r~~ 1,{henever items (b) or (c) above ::n'e part of the application, 
send silapense~ 

2. Blanltet di.,strlbutio:l (.of the nec'2£>::.ary form::: will be msde to eacb field office. 
They .... ,111 includE: 

u. Applieaeion for Lien Sale Author! i-8tion I5U1d Lienh:Jlder l.s Gert i fication. (Re{-~. 656) 

b. A supply o~ envel:)pes (Reg~b54-) p1"t::-addressed to: 

Dep-CLrtment of Motor Veh~.cJ.es 
Lien SalE Section Reg;. l~6 
P.O. Box 28~? 
Sacramento, Calii'or'.r.ia gi78:'~J 

The envelopes STC to be nw.de available to ~r..dlv-idual lienholder·s filing 
A.pplication for Liell Bale At •. tflorization. 

c. Release of Interest forlu3 8..8 specified in Civil Code Section '071.5~ (Reg.659) 

d. Notice of pending lien sal-e (Reg. 280) 

3. If a lienholder wants to de.cos.:.t it:les l.n a field.office! the cash1er will accept the 
money, write a suspenBe ~eceipt and instruct ~he applicant to mail the pink copy of 
the suspense receipt witb the Application for Authorization to Conduct 8 Lien S9.1e~ 
Reg~ 656. Identify t"he suspense recE'!ipt oll the "c,;mments ll line 'fI'ith the words 
ClAppl. For Llen Sale 11. 
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- 2. .-

4-. Lien sale apptic&.tto;ls !3t!1.t'ted pl"ior to 1. :iov 74 .ma...'" 0<9' processed u:::lder present 
procedur~B. 'f-hoae st-!tT't ed on o:r Hft-ar } Nov 74 nTi,lst be prl1Cp.Bfled under the r_ew 
procedures. 

s.. For ~ ... our ini'or!IJ.;".ti('H l 8 (;QPY of the lier:. Ofue i:<'S".,I·UGt;.i::ms t6ing furnished the 
industrYt is errclozod. 

6. EnJ:'OI'ceT:lent tq;:C!1C i i: ro:. 
lllemo 1 ftIlisposl.bon·-(;f 
Section 2270':io 

l'V:.ase tc..kr· ::r;Je(,"jal note of parngraph No.8 of the utt9ched 
Low Valved 'iB!-.l.lclea - #200 I)r Lese l!, pertaining to V ~C. 

Registrar 

STATr OF CALIFORNIA 
DEPARTMENT or MOTOR VEHICLeS 

DIVISION Of REGISTRf.TION 

MEMO ,5 OCT 74 

T0: ALL DE:P'?Ji:-r,..:r.t;T OF MOTOR VE.HICLE orrrcr;s, AUTOMOBl:"'S CLUBS Ai'iD ASSOCIAT!ONS 1 

DEALERS., DIS!-1A~TLERS, ']"0<1'1 SERV:'CtS A.l1D GARAGES 

FROM: ELMER ,< .. BRO'liN, <'EGE'HP.R 

SUBJr:CT: ?03SES-S8RY LIENS ON ',rtJ!ICLES-

Thhi memn:r,;:;.nda cancels dnd: supersedes the. mer:lO on 'Possessory l~:.ens on vehicles dated 
28 ."1dy 14, 

New legislation, Senate Bi:l 2293, has been enacted to facilitate the processing of 
possessory liens w'hile givi'H~ the registered and legal owners. or othe!' person l 
apport uni ty to ch:cliire their oppos:i. Li..on to the lien sa Ie. 

If no Declaration of Opposition is filec with :he department, the department will issue 
an d.'J.thorizati.on to th,~ :ien hol::.Jel" to conduct a. lien sale. If a Declaration of 
opposition is filed, the depa~tmE:nt shaLl notify the lienholder that he ~ !!£! conduct 
" 11(:n sale (!)enia.l to Hold ~i(m Sale, Reg. 65,St Exa.'f:ple t1cl1) unless! 

a. He obtains d judgement in h:is favor i:.:;3~J.ed by the court 

01' b. He sect.res a Release of Interest (Fom: Reg. 65.9 t see Example nI't') in the 
vehlclQ fl"'om both the r-egistered ,11'.-1 the- legal owner. 

i:oe ~/,;I;i.--'nin;, ~lo~ice of ~,ien Sale~ the. Declaration of Opposi-::lon, and the Release of 
Interest fOr'IDS will t.e pdr.t:ed in bt,th the E'ngli:3h ilnd Spanish language. 

!:Li'"!£R A. BRCWN 
Regi!itI'a.r 

P.tta::::nl1c:nts -3-



Senate Bi.ll 229':J: t effec:tivE" 1 Nov 14~ rcdating: ttl gal'age.men's lie.nil 1 amended Sec.tions 
30b:?, JOfle~ ?:l71~ ;07: uf~ ~nd ,1·:~"';el'! S;:::-tio~ 307J.,.5 to th~ Civil Cede') and amended 
Vehicle Cede 2ef"::t:i('ns Z:::i'c,:;. :\nd l?8:s.L 

Un(ier t~12 :'.(>;;...1 la\.,·; if "!:he lienrlOld.:!t' is not j:.'aid the amount due wi thin 111 days 
aft~r the Uen bde; ar·iser., i~ho::. U",nnolder ,,;01 .... ~e11 ~he vt":'hicle to satisfy the 
:::'ier:. ane t~CO$ts '.·f t"he 6.ii.~(· .~t: 

;3, l\~ authoriza.,:·i.on to:;:; CQnGu,~t a l:~en fille h.1!:i been issued by th~ Depa~ .. tment 
of Motor ~ehlclesv 

Of' b. A judgement. ha~3 ~Jeen ~ntet':"!u in favor of the: =_i.enholder on th~. clair:! which 
l':i.VI0!'l ris(~ Tn tnt:: lien ~ 

Of'.... 1'hl~ t'eg.bt"<!red OJ'nd Jegal c:'wners of t:le vehicle hdve signed~ after the lien 
I~as tlr-isen~ d. r'clca;~~ of any interet,t .in the .... ehicle- on t.he prescribed fom. 
CS~:e Civil ~:o,~c- Sectio:1 .301::'.5.) 

A lien shall be deemt~d to df'ise. at ~he time a written 5tatement of 
charges for compltted ~·:(lrk m- service!. is presented to the registered 
owner. The [~:)artl'11eat ' .... ill accept fr'op' the lienholder the date he. 
!'eports dB the cdte on which t:he lien ,JT-Ose. 

7.. Application fer Lien Sale Authori~at!on (Civi: Code a01l' 

a. A lienhDlder may apply to the 
tion to conduct a lien sale. 
form {Reg. 656, r::xarn~le II A't L 

department for the issuance of an authoriza­
The application must be madE'. en the prescribed 

b. A nonrefundable fee of $10 must accompany each Application for Lien Sale 
Authorization sUbmitted to the department. (This fe.e may be added to the 
amount cf the lien.' 

c. The application, ¥.Ii th the $UI fee t must be mai led to the following address: 

Dep&rtment of Metor Vehicles 
Lien Sal(': Section Reg. '1-6 
P.O. Box 2817 
Sacramento, Califo~nia 95812 

3. ~drning Notice of Lien Sale 

Upon receipt of an AppliC'.dt.ion for Jl.uthor1.zat ien to Conduct a Lien Sale, ane. 
the $.10 fee, the cepartrnent shall send a Wa.rning Not:ice of Lien Sale (Rc.e;. 657, 
Example .t!r'), a copy of the Appli.cation for Authorization to Conduct a L~en 
Sa,le, dnd il pre.-add~ssed envelope, by certified mail, to the registered and 
legal own~rs at th~ir arldregS~6 of record, to any other persons whose names 
and addre3ses: are li.~ted on the appl.ication t and to any person shown on a 
Notice o-f Sale OI' T!',uu,[er CRego 13n) on file with the department. 

The reverse Glide of the Warning Notice of Lien Sale is a "Declar-ation of 
Opposi t:l.~n". 

t-.ny lien which a.ritier. br.c.au5c J.lork or services have been performed 
on d .... ehicle 1.-,ith the conse.nt of the registered owner shall be 
extinguished unless: 

(1) Ttle lienh~lder' applies. fo"f' an authorization to conduct a 
.t ien 8-3.1e within J.O days after the: 1. ien has dr-isen, or 

en rf no appli~ation i5 made, an action in court is filed 
wit'hin 3D dl1Ys after thlP. llen has ari!:lo.r. • ...... ---- ~--~ -~ .~.. -.-... -- ... --- -------' 
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4. Declaration of 0Epo~ition 

A DeclaratiDn of Cpposi t-ion (Reg. r, 5 'J - Rev-crs-e ~·ide ~ Examp-le Ii Btl, rna)' ~e 
executed by the register'cd or legal <l,wney- or ether pef'Gon having an int-l'!reST, 
stating that he de9-1res t.;) c()nte~t -::he cl&.il'fd The pepscn r,igning must in­
elude- an ;acldI'ess at which h:!- !rlciY bt:!: s€'Y'v:.:-d in any action i~ court af'i::;irlg 
out of the lien. 

If ~he :r'e,~iste:t'ed own?!", th<e. 109,.'-11 Owr:er~ Ot' a.ny person h;; .. ring an 
intet''-!'st in th~ vehicle fdils to ril~ a [n]claration of Opposition 
with the department w:i ttj,l'"l 20. (id},B, the d.r~pi:l:rtm:s:nt shall iss.ue to 
the lienholder' 611 a\!thor~ ", .. at ~or; "!::o c'Gnd".!ct s li_en r;a:e. 

~---------------------------------.----~ 
If the depaT'te·e:Lt !"e-cciv-cs d D€'--::::at·atiorl cf Opposition ... ithin LV days., 
tne oepal"tme:n: shall not:..fy t'.~,e 1 i2nh()lrl~!r t~!at h~ ~ not conduct a lien 
sale unies.s: 

a~ A judg@m'l'!'Ht" has be:fn en.tr~~··t.'d ).:1 his favor on the claim ~.oIhich gives rise 
to the li€<~~, 

or b~ The regis"~ered and legal owr:ers ot the vehicle have sig:u!:d ~ after' the lien 
has arleen t a Release of Interest (Ferm Reg. 65:J ~ Example 11 f") as pre­
scribed by Sec~ion 3071.5, Civil Code. 

NOT£~ Any lien that arose because work or services had been per­
formed on th~ vehicle with the consent of th~ regiBtel"e~ 
owner shall be extingu~shed-unless the rrenholder f~les an 
actIon ~n cou~t within 20 days after he has been notified by 
the department that he cannot conduct- a lien sale. 

NOTE: The procedure a desc~ibed herein are not applicable if the 
vehicle is a mobilehorne in excess of 8 feet wide which is 
required to be moved under a permit <Section 35790 V.C.)~ 
A lien Bale of a mobilehome may only be conducted if a 
judgement has been entered in favor the lienholder or the 
registered and legal owners have signed. after the lien has 
arisen, a release of any interest in the moEilefiome-rn-tne­
form prescribed by Section 3011.5, Civil Code. 

5. Release of Interest (Section 3071.5 Civil Code {Reg. 361} 

a. A registered and legal owner of a vehicle in the possession of a lienholder 
may release any intel~st in the vehicle after the lien has arisen. The 
release shall be dated wher. si~led and a copy given to the person releasing 
the interest. The release sha.ll be on a lIR(--!:least!: of Interest l1

, Form Reg. 
659, supplied by the DeFartment of Motor Vehicles. It will be printed in 
the English and Spani!3-h languages. 

If a release has been obtained from the registered or legal uwner, the 
release, Or a copy of the releaee f must be submitted to the department 
with "the application for trans-feI' following the lien sale. (A lien 
sale is' not necesBary if the ownet'ship certificate 1130 6'.lb:mitted with 
proper signatures. 

6. The Lie.n s(tl~ {Civil Code 3r)12) (In Excess of S200 Valuation) 
• 

Priot' to conducting a lien sale, t:he lienholder shall: 

a. Give at" leAst 10 days, but not more than 10 days~ notice of the sale by 
8dver~ising for one iS6U~ in d newspaper of general eirculation. published 
in the- county in which the property is situated. If there is no newspaper 
printed in such county, notice shdll be given by :poo:til'l.g notice of sale in 
three of the mOGt public places in town or place Wt',ere the property is to 
be sold, .for 10 days previolls to the da,te of the :3~:1E'. 
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b, Priof' to th<:>: ~'>."11e~ the: lif!"nhplr:ler- m'J.a.t ~iv(~ 21:' days noyice by register'ed 
mail, .'J!:' :t'c~; i;;-:en,j mai 1 I 'c t,I .. Jl:,n l"'f'(·f:i.pt ~~r:quo::", ted I or certi !'ied rrai 1, to 
the legul C"'i'~f.r' Jnd :::C) i:h~~ regj;;t'_~r8cJ (:,;··;'leI'~' of ~ecl".)rd; If the vehicle is 
reg i:;tf~:r'-=:d in th': s ;~L,~-'Yc _ Y-,e 1 ien:"wldE-r ,_,1: ,ill <1] so not i [y the De piu'-:rr;ent 
of M.-.;tor 'jchl~~e~ (~~ till" ::d.1E by ::&gistf.'r'ed j'hl.ll or certified mail whether 
or i10T th~ v'!.!nc:l{~ I, rer1ST.·'1:'"(·rj "in t:lis S:d~.:e, 

c. AJ 1 notices sh,_~:L s;·,:·-:-if) Yf": 'ik1k·,~~ v'.oI-!icJe ;_'~·"':nti~-:l".cdi:i0n numbr::r, and 
li:::-er,~~e nU:7lber of the VE'J\~:':)(~~ .if .r//(!~1cJ:::'.,,~ ",flO U:c date, ti:1le and plilcE'! 
of t:w sale. I~l_<:' ~'i-~:,'i'21~:_ ',]~--~: .. ~~~ :~. :l::~ ~-.!.f 2~ !l:~ ~'!1_~. 

d. :'he r:t'Jceeas of thr,:: ';~!lr.: ;~hd: 1 be d;":li~'d t'.J th~: di.:;cha:--ge of the li.en an1 
the ccs.t of ! .. t'cp~r_: im'~: :<J J.:' tr!'--. ;)rnpe["~y. r ... i> remainder, i: any, sha.ll 
be p"..i1 L:- tr:e l('T.dl !_)"'~I' I',! ,~!r,y, (~r tc the- -:)""Iner or ot'her person ent:'tled 
to tr,~ vehicle-. 1 C ~(leJ.'" -l~' r:(j .L:;g.s::-' (i~!r.:er-. or' if r:o legal owner- can be 
located J thr,: rerr"'.ir1de~ ~-;:·).-::ll l",,,," (k;·o·,·.;t0-~ .... d_th tr.(' (!:C):"rtme!"".t for deposit in 
t:·.~ t"c:::: tel""' \~';!h j cL-' r' .. H1c. 

a. At least 10 days before the flale j notify tht:! legal owner, the T'egistered 
owner and the dep.u'tmertt_ by r('.gistered mail, certified mail, 01" U.S. 
Poet Office Certifici .. t~ of Mail ing ~ of the time and place of the salE". 

b. At least 10 days. befc;.re the :~dle: the lienholder sh.s"ll also yost d notice 
of the r:;ale in a conspicuous pldcE: on th~""!" premises whe_rc the .... ehicle is 
store<j. giving the dale of t:V! s'-"lle ilnd <1 desc::-Jption of th<e vehicle, 
including the milKe, mode) ~ tyf"'~" "YIN number and license pla.te number. 

(There is no redemntion P(~I"~(Jd of vehicles sold under' Sivil Code 
Section 3073~) . 

NOTr~ The proceduI'€: in item -', above) 1'3 not d new procedure. It is 
I"epeated here fer co:-:.tinuity of :i.nstf''llction-s. 

8~ Disposition of Low Valued. yehic~~ ($200 Or' !~e&s.) (V.C. Z'l70S) 

l3efore icsuing the. Notice (' .. f Vel1icle tc' be Dism.l:1tled 01" ,1'.lnked and the Bill of 
Sale (Reg~ 461), lhro: publ ic agency ~~lich rem.oved -:he vehicle sh.!11 pN.'pdr,,= a 
Statement of facts ~ Reg. 256) certify) n~ thdt: 

a. An a.uthot'iz,.:~tiQn to C:OiHl!. .. a:t- a }~_e" sale r.."l:::;' b~en issued by the depa.rtment 
pursuant to Section 3D7} Civil Clxle, 

or h. A jcdgeJ[",ent has been enter'eu in f,jVvT' or the lienholder, 

or. c. The reg,iste:r-P.d and legal u-oint';r8 have signee a. t'elease discl3.iming ,-my 
intet'f"st, whic~l release shall be i.ncluded with the certific3,te, 

or d. The vehicle i.s in SU(~-~ cc.r.cUtlOti tr.at i1entlficdtion number3 ~f'e not 
availahle to determine owners of record with the department~ in which 
event -the vehicl~ mao! he c1i~;pcsed of. 

This Statement of fd.cts, the authorizati"-~n, or- the :t'eleilse of i;;terest rwst b~ 
attached to and accompa.ny the- comp:i et!'!d original of the Reg. l. 5 ~ fr)rm. 

NOTE: A disrr.rtntler \ ... ho has a liE'!! on :1 Y€'_hicle ~ Or' who acqt.:ires a 
.... ehicle from anyone W:lO na8 a lien on i 1:, because of charge';; 
due for tOWil~P;, :;tor-<1ge t or' t"er!~l.ir, ma.y "ot UGe the !ldiligent 
effort I' f1roced(jr~ wh€n r\~parting the veh-~cle disman"tled. 

In r,uc.h s.itllations, the lier:: sale procedure ~t:st- 00 fol:!..oW"ed 
unless the rrope"':'ly endrrrs'l":<1 owner-gt.ip dO(.'U'ment is obt.<1_ined 
and submitted ~y th~ dismantler or ~nless the vehicle is 
d:,:,quiC"~d ';)y the licnholde!"' OP .. .h.c.;mr.,nt<e~' through civil a~tior.. 
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d~ Whenevo:;:;Y' ,1 ...-ehicl~ lilt!] _~e~n !"e:l!Ioved to d garage Imder 'the iH'ovisio;tSo of 
S~ction 21;S} V.C. J ann tilt' ;(eep-el~ or i:tH~ g.1r"age hat>: '!'eceived the notice 
Ot; nC'ti.ceG as f,<rovided, :..he keeper ISh.'ill have a lien, dependent upon 
p08seG~ion~ for compenst~tion for' towage dnd storing of such vt"hi.cJe for 
Ii period not: rexceecti:-tg ~iO dd.y'';\~ or-, if. ~ Application for Authorization 
t:o Conduct a Lien :::ale ]:as be~n file('r 2.t.lr'suant to Sec.tIOil 3011 of the 
rrVll, COde ~ftF. in Jo~wY~ axter r:eooval-cllhe. velucle !.2. the-Kdl"agfi! 
flT'BTlen "!'!y~Ol' L.,; (1<1V8. If tne owner rall:; to recover t e ve lcle 
WIfhin BiJal~ perlo(t t o;-tne--nwr\e~ Is unkn(l;...rn ~ the keeper of the garage 
may satisfy his lien in the manne1" :L'1d ilfter~ giving notices required in 
Sections 3071 and 3072 ~ Civil Code. 

b. If the vehicle 15 appra3.eed a.t a value' not exce£'ding $200 I the keeper of 
the garage may~ if the vehicli:! is tlot: recovered within 20 days, or the 
owner is unknown~ satisfy his lien as provided in Section .1073 cf the 
C::.vil Code 01' S'ectio~; 22705 of the Vehicle Code. 

10. Notice tc Lienholders 

Becauae of the time element involved~ it will not ~e possible for the department 
to furnish suffj cient copies of the necessary fotor ... s immediately. If you have 
an ir:wediate need) it is suggested you !"·ep-roduce copies. from the examples 
attached. 

If you experience problems with the new law or' the procedures that cannot be 
resolved by your local Department of Motor Vehicles office or by a telephone 
call to the Registrar's office, (916) ~~S-~511t the Registrar will arrange to 
have someone fram the Division of Registration meet with you or your organiza­
tion. 
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';T#'Tf" or' CJ.~ '!'"OR""", 
DePA~rMENT or MOTOR VE'1ICLES rL-itE'T~"'- NIJ) .. ,,3.E:~ 

LIEN 54!"E SECTION, ~E':G. 4& 
P. o. SQ;>l 0!1:I'7 

.3ACFHIf""Ii:NTO, C"" V!l4t2 

API'lic.li ... for Lien Sale Aulllorilalian 
.. d Lienholdefs Certir>catioo 

(CivH Gooe ~tiClf15 3008..-3075 fr:cI1,J5iv~) 

A FILING FE£ OF $tO~ao wsr 

5TATE" 

l§l'dKE";::; 6;:;:' rA~ N.uV!HtFl 

t:: ,:r. ';S-~--:T(-~'----

ACCOMPANV THIS AF'PL1CA TlON. ! 

:::-""O~'Et I M",'{''':" cr- !MOO"'E"C'- laoc.1 TYPF 
VE,..';I;\..E '''E~I'''FIC'''TIO'-{ '1\.'>,f':i-fR 1* S L<" or THA'LER r:.O~t:H 

n;5"i>."i: .... ·~.il.J'~-·---~ I 
LE.'Ilgth: W;dtn: 

---f~'~-l"''' i::.N('~~ REE"'-I "'EMOVlt>~ 
I :---: Yl:$ , I NO 

USI :hfT fllimber c~ s!.~y :i!Cei-~(-;-G-~-·~--I~e;;-i-';:;-3,.k"!VEllue~cjti:c, ----
W\~3i'I'lelr. sticKl!r on or ':'. \~~ "','.\1',(;.i'? 1 I~, 0'\1& $200 (C,G, 3(l72) 

__ -, ____ lJ_:-).t.::O"lor i8'SS.!C.C. 30_f_'_' __ 

~ ~,ave a Ij<;!l agCiinst [';;2 abo',e 'iidli;:i? ;mj If.{(i.iest aut'ICi:' latl'i! !0 noHi ~ 1!f:~' sale" 
l1!e Q,TIC:1ILi an~ basis ref my :ien is' 

T·:,v-li;:' S '\1':':2::3 S __ ~ ___ ,_ .... __ DIN Fifi!lg Fee $J~.Q. 

5t"f2Jf S ___ ,, __ ._~ t:~ CJ'alr. rl\ a ialt: oi S per day. 

(it~(;: 1 _____ . :>1: iex1,lolll) __ ._...... _. ___ " __ .. __ "~ ______ • 

O(ltt!- ",chide car~: ;r.~," i'T1')' pCI'.J:;('~~S','-'4' ,1~t:(l tl j It :SUtJ'nIt,t€'d t;·oWI'.er C
, ----

- ---The ;-W,"lCS and aj(jrrss8.s I;' ~::;, 
te. ;r,~ to have ~l ;[1l~;!;5t ::-, t:~, 

~;Y!i~d a\!lT!~; I lega: OW<iEi i>nd ;~,! yarties known 
~,r; ';5'i:'("( (I') th's 3~l.)hcat:y:. 

\ hereb) cert\1'i U!"ltE'!' p~',aity 01 !1efj;:~J th8t the sl;;i'('3!~'€fL 1-j,=,I~~:: a~e true and 
coned a(jd I hay!; 11(' ~d()rmatief! 0: b€l;~f irJt the~€ is a valid dd!J1se to the ciai~ 
l'itlidl gi''!ES rise to ITI!" lien. 

ExeClile-d or! ___ ~ ___ . at. ___ ~ ,,~. 
t),,-,1'C C'TY .f.irA[~ 

I!HJ:;INES"'.'d\MCh~-~~---J~~~1;J1Q'-,I\a 1-.cc"'e","p".·'"R"--
Ip!,!.!'. rl "r( .. ;'T~/I,""I'l:-'; I I-I' ~..- "wMt F.~ 

;tbbpE!.5 h_______ -- -- /l,P1 1'0. 

CITY s~ M T F :<:Ii- CO-::'L I'HO"''-': "'0. 

p "'. R~ON~'CC-"'~,"~'-< ,771 ::-;;-;"-,,-c-,~-, ;.:7'".:.:::'3-,-,,-------X _ 
LI.&:N~~OI...OER·S A(;'E "1r-----------cp=HOOC'C".C,-O~ .. -.-- A~E '" 1;:QO';: 

t.!-,bkE!;~ 
----------- ,-------~ ~---"-. --_._._--_._-_._----,p r. 1'<.1(.', 

"'"cc T"""----·~--~---~ ~ 7"1>. Tt: Z :~, '.,:H.l ~ 

'NOTE: This aWIi~.,;;tIDr)~~lay "of ~ used for rnobilf:;,'(r.l9& In (?o).ceS!l of lh(C rntllCirrum 
widttl of ei~1 feet as descrlf.)(j!(j in ~tlOO 35790 ot tho Ci;;.llfornla CIvil Code. 

~ 
;'1 

?o 
a 
,;, 
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c 
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SUSPt'iSE RECEIPT AND VALIDATION AREA. 
(PJHH de "1O'( IIfJ'/m I" "'$ •• ce..) 

Hie names and <'Idd(e:';~l)s d the RCii~.t,:,red ar~d Legili OWller~ as sho~n Ot. 
the registration CiFd i}fe: 

Rt;:G'9TtORED 0I'l'N<_1< ,"'RIN r) "'"LO'. c'. ""C, 

... 608 Ec;g ------~-- ,-------,----- --~~~.--.-~- -~~~---

CIT), ~:-~,1·E 'l'P CODE 

~ -~.,----~,-~ ~~------~ 
.... E.G"L (H"INl:1'1 ;0''"'1' ']' .'HO~E: r"'.~ 

1', ~l" R c:s:s 

C-' TV '; T "'- ' " ~ ,"' ':'001;. 

~=~==.-=.=~~=~-. -~~---~~~ 

Thf; r,a,--rcs and add'~2'5tS >A dr;1' ',tnt::- L'a:t:f.S !iJ1CiWl'\ [;J;De Ie. '-:~';r! ar: interest 
til the vehicle are: . 
~'A"'E: (PRIN1'1 ;ldO"lE 'JO. 

"'ODRES5 

C:TV ----- '~-----'-'-'-1 ~ ./:,'" C:ODIO. 

~~AMF' \PAlr.. Tl ~, -~.:;' >,i t: ~ J ':.:< • 

----'------- ~----~-
AfH')RES5 

CI '!'" .-------.. --~.-.---" T,' T Eo 
;.r ;:- <:'0~!:' 

",AME \PAI",'!) 1",'0': i:- NO. 

"'DOfl",-!> 

C"y S 1 I\, T E ~.':~ <':00"" 

NAME IPRII~Tl Ph<:H1F NO. 

"'Z::;ORE~~ 

~-------.------"---- .. ~" ;:,p Ca,:. 

= REG~!6 I NEW 10;;:;' 

I 



~'·'~~O;' C.!" 1"0'"""" 
L·r':'.:rn·~[:;~;-~ Cf- ~,~O'·Ot~ VEHiCLES [;'~rt "'~L;o' ~(, 

'. ~,_..,.. c,' 
~L:y,"':"'~'CI< 

... ",.?~ • c. 

..... ~I~r ·'L,,~a~ .. 
-----~.---- ----- ·~i+::-C:.~;-; .... '~rl.~ ~, 

._----------. __ ._-_ .. _---_.-. <: 

"-._._-- -

~.~) riW:~ IT V,t.Y :'">.~:,CER1\:. 

F':, ,!j ~"J :" ii" tat tjr, o~'':',',[i:!l:,'/, '~I,:: V',Z,1n.X· 1n ":C:,~ allell S.;ji,t on this 
-:::'~', r-,:'" ~pe; ':[,."' ~y -;':" "e:':,':· l:.;'· ":':i~'« ~,:: i~,.e ,:-:,;~!:;sed CI)py of the 
t.,~:. '.':" I,n :'\.1: Lie~ Sa:~ f~ci~~\r)'i~;Y,0~' 

'f,:,~ :;'~ I~:\l",j:-d ~-'f Ie;;>, "J ',~~L:::: 01,,,;. ;"'~',; :'7. 1", ~1,i:'SS 'y:.:'; 'iil:",i", \''" exer(l:3eyt::;lJf 

ii, ~ \ ·',u:J. !:1"'2( .;~ :c' ':',:;~~'.s~ :",,'; ,',r.~ "; '''.' :~ ~;~ j':~ ~,ljS: S;,? tM Ccc:ura!!(;r; 
',-.• :.'~::,~:,~ ,:;!l :1;(.' :"'~,":I~t.' iii (:,s ,':~:" J'1c; ';f:t. ' ,:-, '~: 1 tir~ .;"11.:0:::1.:11 f.r1veic"tf wi th t,-· 

(~ .~C;r''> ~!:'- .,"e; :!,;-,,~ c· ":, 
~y;,.~ ~~ :~! ~ 1 [L Y 

, ';; ~ I ' .... ' ~;'-;'YrfCT 'l'']UP. i\TtRDl, REPLY 

if ':i,'1I_, fJc L.r,:;, .~:: I,"· :\'']Jri~1 WI" ':'c;.: 'C,':c:~ ::i ::i;:': tho: '~::h i2 c,n y ifhe: 

i. u[;:a;;ls.1 "[;;I!ilse !!-j" t;-.·:, 6"~"j I(;,{\i ,,~tY:1E:i, 

OR 

Z. F:!r:s :1;; actl,:,n Ul (,]jil ad ,]Dta!I;S a Jl!'~gr!1\:!~t 1;1 ~l;S rd'i')_". If $urh acti~Kl is 
i.i2J, i'JU wiii be nG'~iI,ed ~111·'J ~1i1y El:JPC2f te cantesl Irir lieii~older'5 claim. 
S';clltd t~e court iU1e in l::w'!! of 1.[IC 1',e:1i-d,~~!. YOU MUST PAY THE COURT 
COSTS. 

LIEN SALE StCTlON, REG. 4[, 
P. C. Bex 2817 
S(H:raiTlpnto~ CA, 95812 

RFG. 657 iN!:;." to/74! PI-EASE SEE REVEASE 

lIL-Cl.ARA'T leN OF OPPO';.! r;:Yl 

:MPORT_ANT SOT1Cf l RtTURN ;1i:~, rCRM IN il1f £N!":Li.,)f{"T Uhf.,_ I'r 
------.--- --.---.. --.-------.--.-.. --- '--1 
kITHIN 20 DAYS fROM THE [lATE Of THIS HOTlce: -i :~, PROTU: r i 'jfi 

J~TEREST IN THIS VEHICLE. 

\0: ',[;,\ '.'Y',~'i:':·~ ~';:[' ':,'F.V".;i i it\. r:':,'j ': ",~',r",l,~ c , ~. -, .' ..," 
<.j;), ! .' l. 

,;»,'\ [lE~11Q.r D£ hi Olr .. ~ :~U~~[ LA F[U-:A > ~I'-~ ,~, 

~J~S I~j Tc.C<t.~ES F'i Es-r f: ·:Etil(J'~C. ----- ___ .. --1 

ro~ 0e?3rtment of Mawr Vehicles 
.fI,L· [J-el)a~![l" ,-,:-'(:; ,je V::·f"\ c:cs )1:;''','(" 

1 desire to contest tl1~ claim of!fJe l:mhIJ!der :lamed un the .Ap;;1i(atiw tn: L'p'!l ,,;.')-1' 

Au~nlatioo. I ~nderstirld t!l~ Iimoo!dtr may fi!~ <I'l ~ctj')" ,;l GOOIT l'H! :t ,': ,,":~ 

eJt j" giv~ in his 'nor. I MUST PAt THE COURT C(;5TS, 

Yo Of,;,('" \~:$~~:3: :(;~.,3~1(, Ji' 

AllICf!i3!.:;O:; ~),,'J ',\":a d2 E~t'a:gr~ 

:,-,{',; i,:d!;C "~-i: j,!,; 

E,""~:',~" <,),"::'."? "r~,~,,~,:,"; 

-, 
c), 

ac£,!\~" e.~ ,:,:'f~:: -! ';, i~ r: es .j;\,~r .;-:- c, -:h";'", (j ·~'.Ui;. YL~.:;';; .. '. ,-~: 

DE CORTf._ 

Ttl! ~es~ at MI.\(t, ! ',rll!)' be 2~d or :lOiifit"1 i~'j ?~r5Orl of :J1f ~~urt >Iff,,,, ~ 5 

La dl~~'':''Drf en·1: ~,je '1'-:,; :"_'~".' $.e: ~~-':()",i!';j'~ u ,,~\-,; _ ~,):, ';i' ~i:":':;:d .:, e",'- :';~i 

a1r.m.1 aC(:11)Il ell :.3 CGW~ e'S. 
~"REe." ~"';.'._"" 

en',>' :<.!lJ~"'D 'r-,;-::-:;.-;-:::-"~'l--':~,­
i .. __ J _~ ________ ._. __ .. _ .. __ 

I tatf)' iDf declare) IJndfr p-enalty ¢1 ~rjJry "at Ule r'O~eJ:Oirt i~;' ttlJ-e ~01 ~fU''--:. 
Yo ctrt!fic·:;. ,c Qe(la~D: b,2,l;-J pen" ,Ie :-~r;:J;ru Qi,J8 'i) SliL.le'lJ,\;; ::~' ~'j:ieBd ¥ {I':'le', 

Executed or: _-==,. 
OAT" 

a~ --.",,.,,-,.-<:':'T'( ·,~i'i'!"'0'7tr-- ~.'~~-~1:"-';:-:-;:Y-,;' 

ett:l",J.,TUf>:E i,I<I-..I6' 

X 
\l'I'IIlIJo./"fao ~A"'~ ,,0000i\l!.Ri-E;;-L~-:;.-nA. Di::: MO'.Of'" -------.-----.-,~--.-

--------------- .. --.----.... oa,.£ss (01 RI!. 1;; 1;1 C~~ _ oo-r.: (.j ~.I ~ 1 

--IsT .. "1!. '::"!oT Aoc-'I Z!p·-----··-
I __ L _____ _ 
~oc£ "';:,1:. ... c-ot'I ... O) 

oi.':.TV ioi.':lUD .. DI 

Tt;:Lt:""ON. "'e. (TIEI..Ef<c-.'~--·--

I 

~ 

1!1 
w 

if. 
~ 
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I 
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Sf'" ' ') , .... '\ i I ; ..:.. < '., ~. 

<'r f1:'_TML;~! (iF MUTOH ·~'El\ICU.~; 
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\.'------

"'\ 

I 

,-------,< 
1 _J 

Your req"es! lor lien Sale Auth,rizatiOt' has been der,ied because ~e have received a 
Declaration 01 Or,poSlt:on froM: 

1. A call!l judl?1fI6n~ in your r3Var,~ 

illi 
t. The release o! ttll~ reg';stered and !£;~3~ CWi'US on a Re:~a5e of fntefesl, j~fg. 1;)J

r 

dS ieQuired by Se\~lilif; 3071.5 of th~: C!1!1i C()je, 

"'NOTE: If th~' 'I\'Jf~ or se"'~I"::(; VlJU C(rt(l~ :!EC ~ .... ~s :!c~:: 'till"; be consent [jj lhe 
f\et:!~if:~F:o< U"'~·lh-'i. )'1;:.: t:l"' J. ,~I: bf' u,I:!I;~:,i:i:cd [;1!~t'S<.; Yi}'[; f I::, CJl!IT 

;]\·!II.-i '<'.;111;:;' ·:0 ~:,..,.,:- Iou;'" ':i,-'r::-:d UI;~' illd:(l', 
L-_~;';' 

LIEN SAL£. SECrl(JN 
REG!STf,AT!ON 4f 

-/0-



• 
SfAT£ OF" C"LlI-;:)filll.A _ __ __ 

DEP"RTMENI OF M()10R Vf;HICLf:S /',":. ':';:-'"';-E-;:-:;-;:;-B~~'R--

AUTHORIZATION fOR LIEN SALE OF A i 
VEHICLE VALUED OVER $200 f';" ';":'-'-J~";:C)"'-----:-:-

IC!>lli (A.""!1f"~:.3071.~:~_"~ ____ .... ,_ 
VF. .... LC~".- ':';1;;'."" 11 FI';: !l..T,,):.j ~.;_)MD;;:-.·~ r:-'.'~...,CE.:.! .. ~~\,.[ 

";;'"G:-"-E-, ~-~C~C.C.C,O.,CRC--- ! I . ~--~---. -_._-_._---- - '~'---re:';-~;:::--:--~;:-p~-------' . 

I -... ] .,', ,,,oj,,, ., I. u 

-«;:,--
" , 'L Ai, r"'''' ,':PO';;-;:-R1'''· 
1T 

::." 1 

H I 
G I 
Di ~ ~ >-------_ .. _--_._, 
A I I 
G I I 

~ I J 
\.. ~.---.---.-----".- ~------ ---

:\j req.i;r-e'J by Civil Code SectlOI~ :iiJ?:. !;;"~ D~'pl.i\r:~_'~1~ ~'!e!aby grants 3utflr,,!zatiDn 
:;:,; te 3D(':'~e He"'~i\ol(jer Ie C((ii,~~"': ,0+ h::n ;5::;:e 'Jf ';~ii:; "t'rlic~~ , ilccordan{".(: WIIT1 ~:'.'i: 

C~,:Je S~:~_l:::.,:": 3~72. Please ~df: t~,e ',f\(:,':r: ~,;:~-: :) t,;,~ :~:l(i~' ref th3 legClI '3(BPS 

tc ':;,:C':C:'.'if ~!1~ ]::;11 sa!~, 

~1~'] Uep3;~{::ont'~ re(:":'<i'; :;f!O<N. 

f?::;11~temG Owner; 

Lf:gai Ov.'ner 

REG. :ns (REV. 10/74! (OvN,l 

j 

LIEN SALE INSTRUCTIONS 

1. At leasl to 13,$ beiore the sale the lienholder 5h3!~ i!otify by rep,!stered or 
certified rr:ad eath of lhe foH;)~,ng' the lega! owner. d any. the legistererl 
owner, a"ld the Depl1rt~n1 of Motor Vehicles at Sacramento. These notices 
shall contain Ire date. time . • od place of the sale, make of t~ vehicle, 
identification n","bel. engine "umber, II ""Y. and license numbel. If any. 
iln computing !he 20 day perioo of ,olice. do not inClude the day Ihe nolice 
was rMailed..) 

l. At lust 10 dlV. but not mule In"" 20 days before the .. Ie ~,e lienholder 
shall C1"" notice by adYf!<!i'lOl lor QIjf , ..... in some •• "spal"" ot 
C'llll!,., circulation in !~. county in ""ien the •• hlcle is louted. n~ 
.lIverti_.t sIl.;1 specify ~,. ~t •. time 3J1d pl.~ 01 sale. make 01 tt,. 
,ehic!e, model, bod) ty~ •. ide.,tific,lioo number. enaine number. If <lIl1-
and lieel" numbef, If any. ;fn temputing the 10 day period of notice, do 
not indl.lde 1he fifst day th~ notIce appei:Ys in tt;~ ne'Nspaper,1 

HOTE: AHet the v~hjC!! i$ SOld. oJ redemlJlion pe1iod l1f 20 days (do [J')t 

CGl.mt tile i!ay of sal~' "'U"$t be .!!o~od belo," the purchaser can \3", 
PO~s:siM 01 tnt vehic!e and ~\.!btr,jt !11 Cippiiutlon to record trJnst;r ct 
_.flllip. 

3. This letter znG Ill. aJtJdled i~'mi CEllTlflCATE OF MAIL! NG. APPLI· 
CATlOIt FOil UEN SALE AUTIlORIZA11ON AND liENHOLDER'S 
CERTIFICAT:OII, CERT!FICA1f OF SALE, ""~ AffiDAVIT OF PUBli­
CAnm, "'~ 10 be t:ll'l4li.ted, "..,t'd J:;y you aM ""liv.,.d 10 ooy ... if 
_, fit ... ~"'Jr""iL 

(, The att.died !\I'PUCAl'IOH FOR REGISTRATiON OF VEHICLE SOLD 
AT LIEN SALE i. !~ be Cll<Opleled and ol",eo by Illt buy.,. 

5. If iIIeIe Is no "'COld of California rtlishtion, the •• hicle ,"u,1 be """!Ie<! 
by an ... Illorill':d employ!O of tllt D&pJrtme.1 of Molor V,hiel •• belo", 'I can 
be relisiered or dis~ ",Iled. 

6. If this vehicle is 10 he tnmsfeHed Of recisiertd, e'iiden~e of compliance 
wi!t1 mo10r vehicl. pollulion <ontrol , .... may b. 'e<luired. Any ",100",011 
m()llll ,ehicle jl{lilu!'on conltol i.,tailali"" and ""pee!IOll stalion will be 
able to advise ttue b;j.lytr of COf1tro~ Oe"iCfS that rr3', be ieql,jired en this 
,,"~itle. . 

7. Instfuct the buyer tht:: !Jest \ljay to complete Mis 3pp!u;ation is to !a"e this 
lette. ",d .i I of Ihe lorms indicale. ,n p>rag"phs land 4 abo'" to \h. 
ne.,eSI office of tM Dep'ltmf!<'! 01 Molo; VehiCle<. 
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• 
ST,Ir,T€; C~ CALiFn~NIA 

DEPARTMENT OF MOTOR VEHtCLES 

AUTHORIZATION FOR LIEN SALE OF A 
VEHICLE VALUED AT $1110 OR LESS 

(e! ... 11 Cede r'*"<,";::0~1~ 3\T1 a~1(131)73) 

L: r.;£~:5ENLTM.EA 

S~·ATE '(~. 01'" LI C, 

v;::~, Clt;:'t'£·~l"'!'·~A'!~'" "_,_ .... B~Fl -yO?, ""ODEt.:T'.II'" K € 

t. .• , :: -:~~-,-, -.-------- I 00 D H P ~ 
? r°-;-;-' " "'-'-;';;'1"'"'°"" ------r,"m 

;, 'II 

'i ,-'" CL,,",::;:: 

~-I 

:.~ ! 
E>-f.\ 
' . -----

-', 

<._-------

-I 
I 

j -
P-.<;- ceq' . .'1 ·:'c >y' f>'i i C-,'C,c '>-' j;"" :;', -: i>,~:z.nl~;el1t ~~'eby grants 3~.di1:Jr!labon 

'':; d.'- ~i-' ,ij: ' .. _ ' .. " ':'1 c- c· the ',!th>~:e Ii' 3fcnnt~l1ce Wlth C'vl! 
C~':;". ~e~. ::,~~=,~) .. ~:., ~l;C \"':t: ::.;;. -,':'::r. "" 'I~ltt'r fer !:'ne. i,ega~ steps 

, I .. i{; t " ':i,~ .~ 

: ~:i:' :_:f'DC::~~jc- ;, . .., ~,;':I;{I. 

Len, (;w:,P:: 

REG.323 REv. lO(14) I C'Vff' J 

LIEN SAL.E INSTRUCTIONS 

1. At leut 10 dlys before itle Slie. t,e ltennolder Shlli nolily by relistered Or 
certified m.i! Plch of the fellow;r'I' the le,al o~ner, it 3"1, th~ reli<!on!d 
.,mer, Ir~ the O.~"lment of fl1olor Vehicle, at Sacramento. These noticlI 
Ih'lI contlln t~. date. tl.,. and place cI the u:e, the make of the vehicle, 
idtntificat10n il!.lmher, enain! I1Ul7lb!~, if Iny . .and license nutrloef. it Wly. 
lin Comp"tin, itle 10 day period of notica. do not include the d.y th. notice 
WU ",ailed,\ 

2. M least \0 dl,s beto," ihe sale, • nOilce is 10 be POll led en the p:1miS" 
~here thf vehiCle II !lored cont.inl", lhe o.te, time .nd pi". at nil, 
mike of Ih. v.'ld., model. bOdt tYj)!l, identification "umbe,. fOii •• 
ram:ber. if .ny, iIlrtd iicense trltmce!, if any. On COrt",pLi1ine the 10 djY Ptlicd 
of notice, do not includt tht tllst day the notlc, it post.d.1 

3, The Itt.d1.d IOlml, CERTIFICATE OF MAILING ANt POSTING, 
APPLICATION FOR liEN SALE AUTH()~!2ATiON AND LIENHOLDER'S 
CERTIFICATION, CERTIFICATf OF SALE, "'d POSTED NOTICE OF 
SALE, .,. to be ~ompl.t'd, li",td i>y you, IIld dtllv.,..d Ie lIItyat, if 011 ... 
!l!1II YOOHI.lf, 

4. r, •• !I'Clled APPliCATiON fOR R~GiSTR.IliION OF VEHleL. SOLO 
AT LIEN SALE'" lQ IllI :omplel,d anc ;;l:1l11i by 1M bl;ySr. 

5, If ther. II no '''Old of C.lltomll 't,ittr&tion, Ih. v .. ,iols "'~I: be •• ,Ifltd 
~1 an authorl:ed ~pl~n of the O.partmlllrt of Mew, VE<I!tl .. IItfoll It 
<In btl rt,lil",d ef d,sm'Oll.d, 

6. It this ,.hl.lo I, to I!e t,anl/flred "i "rllll,.(\, tV!OM" of eQl\lplll"c. 
"itn moter veh,cie oollullo" contto! :IW. may lit ltllui,.d. A"I !ul1lo:lud 
motor vehicle ~onutiDr. control !!'lstatla11on imi ir,!ptc:tj~ lUiticm will be 
able to Idv:se the buy.r 01 eMilol d.'iC~1 !Ii.t ~ h. ~~i"d on !!Ill 
,ehitle. 

7 InStruct the buyer tM best .Iy to co."pla!! hiS appliCAtion i. to a •• thil 
letllt InQ III ot Ihe 'orms indie~ted ,n P'ta."ph, 3 and 4 abO .. to lilt 
nurut cHice 01 Hill Department of Motor Vonleitt. 
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• (Califor;)ia Civil !~O~C Gection 3071.5) 

-, I ""d;:":"~;;<'1 V ~;:; ::,-~ -j ·,"'·1~'2~n= •. ="'- ·~~'-n~~"'. i=n=,e==N=o=.===rI"'L=l=c=· e=n=s=e=N=O=. 
t.1.f!C'~!"'3..:on No. I 
i 1_~ ____ .. _-1 _________ 1 ____ _ 

Model I Nake 
I . 
I 

Year 

Reg is tercd Ot1:1C-c, • 1 ..,.,'( 1 '-"'r e - . i "'~:f~J.. ,-,""'.1 ...... 

Name ___ ". ____ . ____ ._._~_~_.~_~.~ __ " ___ . ____ .~ __ . ____ .. _, ___ I i>L!me _,. _________ ~_.~ __ _ 

l 
I Address _______________ ,_. ___ ~ ______ ._,~ ._. ______ . __ .. ~_. l\dcl:r:t::::S:;; __ ... _ .. _______ ~ ___ .. 

Ci ty .. _____ . _______ _ City Stale _____ _ 

Zip ___ ... ___ 1 Zip _____ _ 

Amount of the lien $ 

Facts concerning the claim including the reason and basis for the lien: 

I understand I have a legal r.i.ght to a hea.t:ing in court prior to any sale of 

the vehicle to satisfy the lien and that by signing this Release of Interest 

I am giving up my right tf) appear to cone.est the claim of the lienholder. 

I, hereby, give up all legal and equitable interest I may have in the vehicle 

and, hereby, give my permission to the lienholder to sell it. 

Sigi1ature Date. ____________ _ 

Printed Name 

Address 

City State Zip ------

Telephone ________ _ 

-13-



~); :'/\H [ i:·) [-.I! til w·e, 1 ,.:,r·,. "0/1 f·.I~" L ~ ~; 
'EN :"('., .~ C' (,N. ;'>;_' 4.{, 

P. '). SUli ~.f:I:.' 

I 
r,:;'i.-i f~f7,0~UC. 

MOfin Of "lNGIW, ," N SAL E i : 
COMI'!.i~ n /f-l f:Ul L ..--.........J I 
"HI ~ I~' ."'""'-~,,:it-( ,--tJ~ ;;'-"~-r,- -----=:o-_~ •. ~-=---~_ i ~"- M;-;;lI-p~'--

- - ___ - -. ________ ____ L __ . 
• .::. b:;:, l.o \ r)' r> t 

, 

S N 

I 
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r I< 

n 

" 
, 

( L 

" 0 
0 W 
A N 
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\._------
TIlis vehicle will be sold :lader!he C'vil Code Secllon as indicated. 

r. IJOIl ber.allse ihe market value ,s over $100. 
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Memorand,-", 75-9 

CALIFORNIA TOW TRUCK ASSOCIATION 

January 21, 1974 

John H. De MouUy 
Executive Director 

OWICArE[) TO rrif: 5Ad:;~ AND Wi:LFAU Of nil: STATE OF CAtifOINIA 

9940 SANTA MONICA BLVD. 8!.VEP.lY HillS, CA 90212 
Phone -~?13} 5S3-1435 

California Law Revision Commission 
Stanford Law School 
Stanford, California 

Dear Mr. De Monlly: 

We have enclosed a copy of our proposed amendments to the new 
Lien Law with an analysis of the exisLing problem under the new 
procedures for your perus",l. 

We would be most piea8ed to attend yOU!' next meeting on February 6th 
and 7th to pre sent the situation in further detail and answer any 
questions that yeu may have. 

Thank you for your inte rest in thie matter. 

Very truly yours, 
, . ...--, 

u/kek(1if9rt' 
Richard Chappel 

RC:clc 
enclosure 



CAliFORNfA TOW TRUCK ASSOClllnON 
'1fi)tr.ArffJ ;r, n1f $/IF2rr .J.NrJ W":~F-~if"f Ct~ r~f nM~ OF CAHfOIHfA 

'j!l4t) SilNIA ,!UN!!>' 8l~", ~L,;:RL' HILi.S, GA 90212 
Phc~~ (2;l) 5M·1435 

January 15 t 1975 

LIEN SALE PROBLEM: 

On April 10, 1974 the Cajii(H'D),a Suprem" COErt invalidated the Lien Sale 
provisions of existing laws pe;:tainino: to motor vI,nicles llllcier Civil Code Sections 
3011, 30n and 307}, This rULing remo'lied any method for the disposal of old, 
derelict and unwanted vehiclefi 'Pith the exception of abandoned vshicles which 
cmld be disposed of through Section ZZ705 of the Vehicle Code. 

The Department of Motor Vehicles, realizing the adverse effect on the 
automotive industry in general and specifically those involved in the towing 
and storing of vehicles for law enfurcement agencies, adopted an interim pro­
cedure for disposal of thcse vehiclcs until new emergency legislation could be 
adopte'd. This temporary procedure worked well with the exception that any 
vehicle having a legal owner was excluded and could not be disposed of unlen a 
Lien Satisfied or a Release of Interest was obtained from them. 

The new Urgency Statute 5B2293 (Song) and now Chapter 1262 which amended 
Civil Code Sections 3052, 3068, 3071, 30n and added Civil Code Section 
3071.5 and also included Vehicle Code Sections 22705, 22851 was passed by the 
Legislature and signed by the Governor on September 23, 1974 and became 
effective November I, 1974, Althrugh this new legislation, which complied with the 
Court's requirements, was supported by the California Tow Truck Association, 
the Official Police Garages of Los Angeles, the California Auto Body 
Association, the Auto Dismantler Association, and the Automotive Services 
Council and was approved by the opponents of the Lien Sale Law, it is not a 
wo rkable or practical solution to the need for disposing of uld vehicles within 
a rea sonable period of time. 

The new Lien Sale Law now effects the disposal of all vehicles (including 
abandoned vehicles) and requireQ the Department of Motor Vehicles to issue an 
Authorization To Conduct A Lien Sale to the lienholder. Additionally, the lien­
holder must, upon application for Authorbation To Conduct A Lien Sale, pay a 
$5.00 filing fee to the Department of Motor Vehicles. 

Upon receiving an application, the Department of Motor Vehicles must notify all 
owners of record and any other person who may have an interest in the vehicle by 
registered or certified mail and must give them 20 days to respond with a 
declaration of opposition to the pending Lien Sale. If no objection is filed, the 
Department will issue to the lienholder an Authorization To Conduct A Lien Sale. 



Lien Sa Ie Problem 
January .. S~ i'jrS 

Page 2 

The Departtnent of M0tO~' \{eh~_cJ':1? arH:ic:lpcd'ect d'-if:'. authoriza-:;ion procedure to be 
approxima tel y 30 d." ya. To d,t t" the t'.l" ," ;laB exc e cdc cI (,5 cia ya. Then afte I' a 
lienholder hag received an E'.uthorizatlon he -rTIust cot'Lciuct a Lien Sale, 
notifying all person;;) having any lntt~l~er,;"~ J.a the vf~hicJe (;:l;.~ain hy l.'egietcred or 
certified ina-Ll~ which &rB ihc ':n.rnf: :.)eraonn j~Jst no1:iH.ed by thI~ n1:!partment of 
Motor VehiclcFh 'TtdB p~:-;:)(;edurj;,' no"\' ;.BJ((~S l~l eXC~5U of 90 days \10 tlays 
prcparatic.n. (~5 days rL-··f:;-~. IS di.~ys .~ .... i('tJ. B~it-'-) t~J" d1SP06": of vehjcic9 under 

Civil Code Section 307.3 (v","" des v,,;ued '.Inder $200. (0) and approximately 75 
. d ·Y· l' J -' , " ? -, .'. )"' ' , h·· ) .., h Id eta ys lli"l er e U C ,f' Lode ~. ec ... l ')",.); .~ ..... i ( ::j \ a ba nnonec ve :tete ~.. oJ n.a.e r teo 
Lien Sale ptoceaUl'e8 the hrne f",etor was 30 days unde~ Civil Sede Section 3073 
and 21 daya uncl,,~ '1ehie'e eu':" S~ctl.Or, ;~~7C5. 

With this increase in time to dis,~ose of vehicles, ;; storage problem now exists 
(Survey 61cloaed). Many ga rage B are filled tn c,,-pacity and have had to make 
arrangements for increased storage, if available or if able to afford the ad-
ditional space. Full storage capacity creates the hazard of possible damage to cars 
stored and an increase in labor by constantly moving cars for those that are 
released. Also, the cash flow from the disposal of these old cars has decreased 
(plus the filing fee for an authorization) and hae created an additional financial 
burden. 

On January 14, 1975 at a meeting of our Ass(,ciation, it ""as asked how many 
requests for Authorization To Conduct a Lien Sale had been requested since 
November, 1974 and what amonnt had been received back from the Department 
of Motor Vehicles. As a resuLt, the total number re1\lested waa 2.,214 and the 
total received back was 206. To date, We are onty "ware of four (4) signed 
declarations of oppoaitian. !dter contacting the COfltestor w'to signed the 
declaration of oppoEition. it waa "",!ermin·eel ~hat all mi.aunderstood and 
consequently either signed a .eleaae of intorebt 0);' turned over their ownership 
certificate. 

It must be realized that these low vvlucd and abandoned vehicles are unwanted by 
their owners and normally w<).rth If:[4S than the t,.}\.\!ing and ~-jtoTage charges in .. 
curred; It should also be '1otpd that' ther" ha6 ';:)een virtaally no litigation 
involving garages in the disposal of vehi.cles through lien aale. The ca se involved 
in the voiding of the lien l.aw (Adame va Departm.c::Ir of Motor Vehicles) was 
brought about by II repair 8hop attempting to collect their repair by using the 
lien law. 

As stated" Go critical, condition now e~-d9ta and new iegislation under emergency 
statute is necessary. The time delay in disposing of these old vehicles must be 
corrected. To alleviate this situation and have" more viable procedure. we are 
proposing that the attached amellctnjnis be adopted to ,",dating law, We sincerely 
feel this will not only be more ",dvanhweoll8 to the towir::g industry, but as well to 

the Department of Motor V"hiclea, the Californiu Highway Patrol, local law en­
forcement agencies and the motoring pubb c. 



In YiG.Y l':!"{o'_i_. the (D~;.r,wir'l5. ;_~ti1,tjl',tical ~lil·tley .... , o:;;.~; :akei1. t,) d8b;n~mine what 
effect the invalidsthm of the L"m Law would have on the Official 
Police Gal'Rge~B t<;r Len ./\nge1.E~, 

"Facts Regarding Di6po~itinr 0: C;H'f for aa 15 Ofiicifd P,>lice Garages 
of the 1...,08 Angeles Poli~~e DepA..r~tmeLt in 1973" 

~rotal Carp '"i.'(Jwed ""~ ...... --"~--- ....... ~.",.,.-,,,-~,,,,- ....... ,~, ....... - ........................ 74 .. 330 

Cars Sold at Lien Sale 
Civil Code 3071-'12.73 ---- ... ',-- ..... --- 8,380 
Cara SDlci 22.?OS iAhan,lorwd) _ •. ,-----.- 9,398 

Total Car" Sold ------'.----.------- .. -,,---- 17.778 

Approximately 240/. of all car!! handleci were sold. 

A. Approximately 11.3% at Lien Sale 
B. Approximately 12.7"/. under Z2705(abandoned) 

Storage capacity of all OPG Garages ------------.- 4,675 
Currently stored April 1. 1974 - - - ..... - - - -- - - - - 3,029 
Current apace available --------------------- 1,656 

Average increase per month with no Lien Sales - - - -- 698 

With no Lien Sales or mlpo6al method of old carl OPO Oaras" will 
be filled to capacity in 2.37 montha. 

With Diligent Effort (Letters and Phone Calls) Approx.mately 
4 months, " 

The interim procedure for disposai of vehicles was cancelled when the 
new Lien Sale Law became effective November I, 19,74 and for the past 
two months no cars have been dispOB ed of through the new procedures 
because of the time delay in obtaining an' authorization to conduct a 
Lien Sale. 

A new statistical survey of the Official Po1i.ce Garages was taken a8 of 
December 31. 1974. This survey found too total number of cars in 
storage had increased to a record of 1.,320 cal'S versus a normal 
capacity shown on the Ma y. 19'14 survey of :',029. The maximum 
capacity of the Official Police Garages is 4.675 care • 

.. 



ANALYSt;~ ; 

Turnaround time on Lien Sale Authorization from DMV to Viertel's Auto. 

January 21, 1975 

No, Veh, Date Mailed 
To DMV 

Dates Returned 
Prom DMY 

No. Veh. Comments 

90 11-5-74 
---------
I 'J c '74" c:.-t:J ... r 

1.-7 -,7!.',: 

1-1.3-'?~) 
l-Ji+_'?'~j 

1-15-75 

3 
33 e. 

1 
B 

14 
1 
? 

1-20-75 ~ 
Total Returned Fro!D. DMV ,., ____ -"< __ '~ ... __ ~_'d.~ (f::-;-' 

NRCR 

Total Nut Returnetl from mrv ------------------------ 14 

30 11-14-74 12-20-'74 1 NRCR 
1-2-75 2 NRCR 
1_ll-75 1 
1-13-75 3 
1-17-15 3 
1-20-75 8 
1-21-75 1 

'ro btl Returned From Dl>fV --------------- 'i:."Sl 
Total Not Returned From DMV --------- .. -----------.--- 9 
Released ------------------------------------------ 1 
Denials (Received Release Of Interest ) ------------ 1 

18 11-26-74 12-14-74 1 NRCR 
1-8-75 1 NRCR 

Denials ( Received Title) ------------------------ 1 
Total Returned From DMV --------------.. ""2 
Total Not Returned From DMV ----------------------- 15 

12-16-7Ij 
1') 26'· ..,', 
.I..~_- - ... r'1" 1 

Total Returned From mrv ---------------- 2 

NRCR 
NRCR 

Total Not Returned From DMV ,.----------._---------- 34 

51 12-20-74 1-8-75 1 
:-14-75 Ij 

l-l5- C(5 1 
1-16-75 1 

Released ----------------------------------------
Total rieturned From DMV - .. --_.------------~ 
Total Not Returned From DMV ---------------------

25 
40 
27 

12-26-7') 
1-8-7'5 . 
1-17-75 

None Ret~rned 
NOne Returned 
None Returned 

NRCR 
NRCR 
NRCR 
NRCR 

1 

43 

AveraGe Number of Days ~ 
Average' Number of Days 
Average Number of Days 

out of state cars) --------------­
no record of Cal, re~,) ----------­
record of Cal. reg. ) ---------.---

NRCR - ;'[0 Record of California Rer:istratj on 

Turnaround 
Days Involved 

30 
58 
59 
60 
62 
63 
69 
70 
'Tl 
76 

36 
49 
51 
60 
64 
67 
68 

10 
20 

19 
2'5 
2b 
27 

61~ 
28,Ii 
65 



An Act to amend Sections 3071 and 3072 of the Civil Code and to amend Sections 22705 
of the Vehicle Code re1ating to liens. and declaring the urgency thereof. to take 
effect immediately. 

3071. (a) If the lienholder 1s not paid the amount due, and for which the 
11en is given. within 10 days after the Sdllle becomes due. then the lienholder may 
proceed to sell the property. or so much thereof as may be necessary to satisfy 
the lien and costs of sale pursuant to Sections 3072 or 3073 (l~ if the registered 
or legal owners. or other persons having an interest 1n the veh cie do not si¥n 
and return within 20 da~o the Department of MOtor Vehicles a declaration 0 
opposition stating a desire to contest~-claim. (z) a Judgment has been entered 
fn favor of the lienholaer on the claim wh1ch gives rise to the l1en. or (3) the 
registered and legal owners of the vehicle have signed, after the lien has arisen 
a release of any interest in the form prescribed by Section 3071.5 

(b) A lienholder shall send by registered or certified mail a certification 
of pending lien sale. and-a--riotlTfcatfon-tnatal1en sale will be conduCted, if 
un-contested

f 
after 30 days from the date of notice to the r~istered and legal 

owner at the raddresses of record with the Department of MO r Vehicles and any 
other persons who may claim an interest in the vehicle. A coPY shall be concurrently 
sent by registered or certified mail to the department. This certification and 
notification shall be executed under penalty of perjury and shall include all the 
fol1owing: 

(1) A description of the vehicle. 
(2) The names and addresses of the registered and legal owners of the vehicle 

obtained from departmental records and. if ascertainable, from the registration 
certificates within the vehicle. and the names and addresses of any other persons 
who the lienholder knows or reasonably should know claim an interest in the 
vehicle. 

(3) A statement of the amount of the lien and the facts concerning the claim 
which gives rise to the lien. 

(4) A statement that the lienholder has no information or belief that there 
1s a valid defense to the claim which gives rise to the lien. 

(c) The notification that a lien sale will be conducted, if un-contested, 
shall include the date. time. and place of the sale and the make of the vehicle. 
identification number. engine number. if any, and license number, if any. 

(d) A lienholder shall send concurrently with the certification and notifica­
tion a declaration of opposition and a preaddressed return envelope containing the 
department's address to the registered and legal owner and any other person who may 
have a claim of interest in the vehicle. This declaration shall include all the 
following: 

(1) A statement that (i) the person has a legal right to a hearing 1n court. 
(ii) if a hearing in court is desired, the enclosed declaration under penalty of 
perjury must be signed and returned, and (11i) if the declaration is signed and 



returned, the lienholder will be allowed to sell the vehicle only if he obtains a 
judgment in court or obtains a release from the registered and legal owners. 

(2) A statement that (i) if the deciaration is Signed and returned to the 
department, the lienholder must file an action in court. (il) the person who 
contests the validity of the lien will be notified of the lawsuit. and"\l1i) the 
contestor must then appear to contest the claim of the lienholder. 

(3) A sta~ment that the lienholder will conduct a lien sale, after 30 days, 
unless the person s1 gns and returns, within 20 days after the date on which the 
notice was mailed, the enclosed declaration stating that the person desires to 
contest the claim which gives rise to-the lien. 

(4) A statement that the person shan be liable for costs if the lienholder 
brings an action and a jutlgment is enter'eo in favor of the lienholder on the claim 
which gives rise to the lien. 

(5) A declarationwhic:J 1lilY be executed by the per'>on under penalty of 
perjury stating that he de,.ires to contest the claim which gives rise to the lien 
and an address at which the pen'son may be served in any action in court arising 
out of the lien. 

(e) If the department receives a declaration described 1n paragraph (3) of 
subdivision (cl which is mailed within 20 days after the date upon which the notice 
described in subdivision (cl is mailed, it shall notify the lienholder, within 
10 days, that he may not conduct a lien sale unless (ij a judgment has been 
entered in his favor on the claim which gives rise to the lien and (ii) the 
registered and legal owners of the vehicle have signed, after the 11en has arisen, 
a release of anY interest in the vehicle in the form prescribed by Section 3071.5. 
In any other case, the lienholder may conduct a lien sale pursuant to Civ1l Code 
Sections 3072 and 3073. 

(fl The form of the notices, certifications, and declarations described in 
this section shall be prescribed by the department. The language used in the 
applications, notices, and declarations should be simple and nQhtechnica1. The 
notice and declaration described 1n subdivision (c) shall be printed in both 
English and Spanish. 

(g) The procedure described in subdivisions (b), (c), and (d) shall not be 
applicable if the vehicle is a mObilehome which is required to be moved under a 
permit issued pursuant to Section 35790 of the Vehicle Code. A: lien sale of the 
mobil ehome may be conducted only if a judgment has been entered'in favor of the 
lienholder on the claim which gives rise to the l1en of the registered and legal 
owners have signed. after the lien has arisen. a release of any interest in the 
mobilehome in the form prescribed by Section 3071.5. 

3071. 5 (a) A registered or legal owner of a vehicle in tke possessi,on of a 
person holding a lien under this chapter or Section 3051 may release any interest 
in the vehicle after the lien has arisen. The release shall be dated when signed 
and a copy shall be given at the time the release 1s signed to the person releasing 
the interest. 

eb) The release shall be in at least 12-point type and shall contain all of 
the following information in simple, nontechnical language: -

'" 

(1) A description of the vehicle, including the year and $ake, the engine or 
vehicle identification number. and the license number, if availlble. 



(2) The names and addresses of the registered and legal owners of record with 
the Department of Motoi' ,{()hie1 es. if annable. 

(3) A statement of the amount of the lien and the facts concerning the claim 
which gives rise to the lien. 

(4) A statement that the person releasing the interest understands that (1) 
he has a legal right to a hearing in court prior to any sale of the vehicle to 
satisfy the Hen and (if) fie is giving liP the right to appear to contest the claim 
of the lienholder. . 

(5) A statement that (1) the person r~leasing the inter~st gives up any interest 
he may have in the vehicle and (in ne is i:i~vlng tne lienholder permission to sell 
the vehicle. 

(c) The release reql!ired by this section shall not be filed with the depart­
ment in connection with arty transfer of interest tn a vehicle. 

3072. Prior to any such sale the lienholder sha11 give at least 20 days but 
not more tnan 35 days notice of the silie by advertising for one issue lii'some 
newspaper of general cirCUlation published in the county in which the property is 
s i tua ted. I f there is 110 newspaper prj "ted j n such county. notice slla 11 be 91 ven 
by posting notice of sale in three of the most public places in the town or place 
where the property is to be SOld, for 10 days previous to the date of the sale. 
Prior to the sale of any vehicle to satisfy any such lien. 20 days notice by 
registered mail or registered mail, return receipt requested, shall be given to the 
legal owner and to the registered owner of the vehicle, if registered in this state. 
as the same appear in the registration certificate. and also to the Department of 
Motor Vehicles by registered mail or certified mail whether or not the vehicle is 
registered 1n this state. All notices required in this chapter shall specify the 
make, the engine or vehic-le identification number, and 1 icense number, if available, 
of the vehicle. and the date. time. and place of the sale. The proceeds of the sale 
be applied to the discharge of the lien and the cost of keeping and selling the property. 
The rerna i nder. if any. shq,11 be paid to tne 1 ega 1 owner. if any'. or to the owner 
if there 1s no legal oWner. or 1f no legal owner can be located, the remainder shall 
be deposited with the department for deposit in the Motor Vehi'le Fund. 

22705. If the vehi~e 1s appraised at a value not exceed~9 two hundred dollars 
($200). the public agency which removes the vehicle shall: 

(a) Within 48 hours after appraisal notify the Department of Justice 1n 
Sacramento of removal of such vehicle. 

(b) Prepare a certificate which shall describe the vehicle including the 
location of any license plates thereon, state the appraised value. and that the vehicle 
will be junked or dismantled, and indicate that: 

(1) The registered-or legal owner or other persons haviAt an interest 1n the 
vehicle did not sign and return within 20 days to the De~artme" of MOtor Vehicles 
a declaration of opposftfon Itating a desIre to contest he claim whiCh gives rise 
to the 1 len. or, _ 

(2) The registered and legal owners have signed a release under penalty of 
perjury disclaiming any interest. which release shall be included with the certificate. 
or ' 

(3) The vehicle is-do slJch condition that vehicle identi.fication numbers are 
not available to determl~e owners of record with the departmen* in which event the 
vehicle may be disposed Of. 



(c) Upon completion of the certif'lcate. execute and deliver a b111 of sale 
free of any lien for fees and penaltfes due and payable to the department 
together with a copy of the cer'tificate to either the lfenholder who shall endorse 
the bill of sale to a licensed automobile d1snmntlel', or to the licensed 
automobile di£mantler. or to the pubno agency for disposal. whichever has the 
vehicle in possession. 

(dl Forward the complE";.ed ("ertifjc~··~ to the Department of Motor Vehicles 
in Sacramento. 

(I'll A vehic1e which is the subject of a certificate prepared ilnd forwarded 
pursuant to this section shall n~t be reconstructed or made operable. 

(f) ...icensed 11sma1tlet"'; ;;;rql'ir'lna vehicles Wfiich <ire tile ~ubject of 
cert; ficates prepared and forwar'!ed pursuart to this section sh~ 11 be excused from 
any fees and penalties whicrl wou'ld o+herwise be due t.o the Depart'llent of Motor 
Vehicles pursuant to ':;his sectionls retained in the licensed dismantlers' business 
record. 

(g) A local agency may authorize by contract or franchhe the removal. 
disposal, or removal and disposal, of such vehicles by other than a l1censed auto­
mobile dismantler if it has first requested bids for removal. disposal, or re-
moval and disposal. of such vehicles. Such franchise or contract shall be issued 
to or executed with the lowest responsible bldder. The bill of sale shall then be 
executed and del ivered pursuant to dl.lbdivfsion (c) wi th the franchisee or contractor. 

, 
<-< , , , 



39.140 

Staff Draft 

TENTATIVE RECOMMENDATION 

relating to 

GARAGEKEEPER'S LIENS 

3/5/75 

In 1974, the California Supreme Court held in Adams v. Department 
1 

~Motor Vehicles that the sale provisions of the garagekeeper's lien 

law violated the constitutional due process requirement because it 

deprived the owner of his property without an opportunity for a hear-
2 ing. In response to Adams. the Legislature amended the garagekeeper's 

lien law to provide a procedure which would satisfy the constitutional 
3 objections. This legislation was given an expiration date of December 

31, 1976,4 so that the Law Revision Commission would have time to study 

the garagekeeper's lien and make its recommendstions to the Legislature. 

The garagekeeper's lien law, as amended, provides that the lien­

holder may sell the vehicle that is subject to the lien if: (1) a 

judgment has been entered on the claim giving rise to the lien, (2) the 

registered and legal owners have signed a release after the lien arose, 

or (3) the Department of Motor Vehicles has issued to the lienholder an 

authorization to conduct a lien sale. 5 
The statute provides a detailed 

6 procedure for obtaining the authorization to conduct a lien sale and 

specifies the form of release. 7 At various stages of this procedure, 

1. 11 Cal.3d 146, 520 P.2d 961, 113 Cal. Rptr. 145 (1974). 

2. Specifically, the court held unconstitutional Civil Coda Sections 
3071, 3072, 3073, and 3074. 

3. Cal. Stats. 1974, Ch. 1262. 

4. Cal. Stats. 1974, Ch. 1262, § 10. 

5. Civil Code § 307l(a). 

6. Civil Code § 3071(b)-(h). 

7. Civil Code § 3071.5. 

-1-



the garagekeeper must take certain actions in order to preserve the 

lien. For example, the lien expires unless, within 10 days after the 

lien arises, 

lien sale or 

an action. a 

the lienholder applies for an authorization to conduct a 

unless within 30 days after such time the lienholder files 

The provisions creating the lien,9 specifying the manner of 
10 sale, and 11 providing for redemption within 20 days remain largely 

unchanged. 

The Commission believes that the statutory provisions as amended 

satisfy the constitutional objections to the garagekeeper's lien spelled 

out in Adams. Although the court struck down the provisions for ssle 

and transfer of title without an opportunity for a hearing, it made 

clear that it has no objection to the possessory lien in favor of ga-
12 ragekeepers and that interim retention without a hearing is acceptable 

13 under the standards of Sniadach ~ Family Finance Corporation. 

However, the Commission recommends that the interim legislation be 

amended as indicated below to clarify ambiguities and make other sub­

stantive snd technical changes: 

1. The description of the activities for which the garagekeeper's 

lien is given should be made uniform. The lien under existing law is 

created by two provisions, Civil Code Sections 3051 and 3058. Section 

3051 creates a lien for "keepers of garages for automobiles" for "caring 

for and safekeeping, and for making repairs and performing any labor 

upon or furnishing supplies or materials" and, in addition, a lien for 

8. Civil Code § 3071(f). The meaning of this prOVision is unclear. 
See the discussion in the third recommendation infra. 

9. Civil Code §§ 3051, 3068. 

10. Civil Code §§ 3072, 3073. 

11. Civil Code § 3074. 

12. 11 Cal-3d at 157. 

13. 11 Cal.3d at 154. See Sniadach v. ~amily Finance Corp., 395 U.S. 
337 (1969). See also Hitchell v. !~.T. Grant Co., U.S. 
(1974), and North Georgia Finishing, Inc. v. Di-Chem, Inc.,-===-
U.S. ____ (1975), decided after the California Supreme Court's 
decision in Adams. 



"keepers of trailer parks," for rental of "parking space for trailers," 

and for "such other services as are furnished.' Subdivision (a) of 

Section 3068 provides a lien for "every person' for "making repairs or 

performing labor upon, and furnishing supplies or materials for, and for 

the storage, repair or safekeeping of, and for the rental of trailer 

parking space for, any vehicle of a type subject to registration under 

the Vehicle Code • "Subdivision (b) of Section 3068, however, 

refers to 'l,ork or services" and to "care.' The Commission recommends 

that these inconsistent and duplicative terms be consolidated in one 

section providing a lien to a person who performs labor upon, furnishes 

materials or parking space for, or provides for storage or safekeeping 

of, any vehicle of a type subject to registration under the Vehicle 

Code. 

2. The 10-day grace period provided by subdivision (a) of Section 

3071 after which the "lienholder may proceed to sell the property' 

should be eliminated since it is meaningless. Before the law was amended, 

the grace period was needed so the owner of the vehicle would have time 

to pay for the repairs before the vehicle was sold. After the 1974 

amendments, the lienholder may not sell unless he has obtained a re­

lease, received an authorization to conduct a lien sale, or obtained a 

judgment. Both the judgment and the authorization alternatives take 

much longer than 10 days. I~ere the lienholder obtains releases from 

persons claiming an interest, no grace period is necessary. 

3. The time when the lien e::pires and the actions "hich must be 

taken by the lienholder to preserve the lien should be clarified. Sub­

division (d) of Section 3071 provides that "[aJny lien under this chap­

ter or Section 3051 which arises because work or services have been 

performed on a vehicle with the consent of the registered owner shall be 

extinguished" unless, within 20 days after the lienholder receives 

notice from the Department of llotor Vehicles that he may not sell the 

vehicle, he files an action. Subdivision (f) of Section 3071 provides: 

(f) Any lien under this chapter or Section 3051 which arises 
because work or services have been performed on a vehicle with the 
consent of the registered owner shall be extinguished unless (1) 
the lienholder applies for an authorization to conduct a lien sale 
under subdivision (a) within 10 days after the lien has arisen or 
(2) if no application is made under subdivision (a), an action in 
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court is filed within 30 days after the lien has arisen. For the 
purposes of this subdivision, a lien shall be deemed to arise at 
the time a nritten statement of charges for completed l~ork or 
services is presented to the registered owner. 

These provisions are deficient in several respects. Provisions govern­

ing the expiration of the lien should not be applicable only to a lien 

for "work or services" T!1hich, it may be inferred from Section 3068, does 

not include storage, safekeeping, and parking space. Jor should expira­

tion provisions apply only to liens for t~ork performed "with the consent 

of the reeistered owner'; liens for Hork performed at the request of the 

legal owner or some other person should not run forever. It is mislead­

ing to provide in subdivision (f) that the lien is extinguisbed if tbe 

lienholder does not file an application for an authorization to conduct 

a lien sale witbin 10 days because, if sucb an application is not filed 

witbin 10 days, tbe lienholder may still preserve the lien by filing an 

action within the next 20 days. The existing law also fails to provide 

for tbe preservation of tbe lien where tbe lienbolder obtains releases 

from all necessary persons as provided in Section 3071.5. The Commis­

sion recommends that any lien under Cbapter 6.5 expire unless--witbin 15 

days after tbe person requesting tbe labor, materials, storage, safe­

keeping, or parking space is given oral or written notice of tbe cbarges 

due--(I) tbe lienbolder obtains a release of all known interests, (2) 

files an action, or (3) applies for an authorization to conduct a lien 

sale. lJbere the lienholder bas applied for an autborization and re­

ceived notice that he may not conduct a lien sale, it sbould be provided 

that tbe lien expires witbin 15 days after receipt of tbe notice unless 

be first obtains a release of all known interests or files an action. 

4. Subdivision (d) of Section 3071 provides that, if tbe Depart­

ment of ~fotor Vebicles bas sent a notice of a lienbolder' s application 

for sale to tbe interested persons and tbereafter tbe department re­

ceives a declaration stating that a person claiming an interest in tbe 

vebicle desires a hearing, which declaration was "mailed witbin 20 days 

after the date" on wbicb tbe department sent notice, the department 

-4-



shall notify the lienholder that he may not conduct a lien sale unless 

he has obtained a release or a judgment. If the department does not 

receive a declaration which .,as mailed within 20 days, it sends an 

authorization to conduct a lien sale to the lienholder. Under this 

procedure, the department is unable to know at the end of 20 days whether 

or not to send an authorization to the lienholder since a declaration 

mailed within 20 days may still be in the mail. The Commission recom­

mends that this procedure be changed so that the notice sent by the 

department to the registered and legal owners and other persons claiming 

an interest in the vehicle specifies the date on or before .,hich the 

department must receive the declaration to prevent issuance of an au­

thorization to conduct a lien sale. The date specified should be 20 

days after the department sends notice. Under the recommended provi­

sion, the department .,ould be able to send the authorization on the 21st 

day after notice lOas sent if no declaration has been received. 

5. Subdivision (b) of Section 3071 requires the garagekeeper to 

list, in addition to the registered and legal owners, "the names and 

addresses of any other persons who the lienholder knows or reasonably 

should know claim an interest in the vehicle." The Department of Motor 

Vehicles then sends notice to all persons listed in the application. 

Although a person claiming an interest Nho is not the registered or 

legal owner may prevent the issuance of an authorization to conduct a 

lien sale by sending a declaration of opposition to the department, such 

persons are not required by Section 3071.5 to release their interests 

before a sale pursuant to a release may be held nor are they entitled to 

a notice of sale under Sections 3072 and 3073. The Commission recom­

mends that persons known to claim an interest be required to release 

their interest before a sale may take place and be entitled to notice of 

sale. 

6. Section 3074 provides for redemption by the legal owner within 

20 days after sale. The Commission recommends that this provision be 

repealed. Under the neN procedure, the legal owner receives notice and 

has an adequate opportunity to protect his interests. This provision is 

not needed as it was when the lienholder could sell the vehicle on 20 

days' notice after a 10-day grace period. 
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The Commission's recommendation would hi' effectuated by enactment 

of the following measure: 

An act to amend Sections 3051, 3051a, 3052, 3069, 3070, 3072, and 

3073 of, to amend and renumber Section 1071.5 of, til add Sections 3068, 

3068.5, 3071, 3071.1, 3071.2, 3071.3, 3071.4, 3071.5, 3071.6, 3071.7. 

and 3071.8 to, and to repeal Sections 3068, 'J071 , and 3074 of, the Civil 

Code. and to.amend Sections 22705 and 22851 of the Vehicle Code, relat-

ing to liens. 

The people of the State of California do ~ !!! follows: 

SECTION 1. Section 3051 of the Civil Code is amended to read: 

3051. Every person who, while lawfully in p08llession of &.n 

article of perso",,1 property. renders allY service to tbe owner 
thereor, by labor or skill, employed for the protection, im· 
provement, saf~keeping. or carringe thereof, bas a spt'eial lien 
thereon. dependent on poss('ssion, for the compenaatioD, if &.ny, 

whioh is 0". to him from tlw owner for sucb service; 8 person 
wbo makes. alters. (lr repRirs any article of personal property, 
at the reQue,t of the owner, or legal pOBSelltlor of the property, 
has a lien on the 8nme for his reasonable charges for the bal· 
lUIee due for ,u(·h "ork done Hn,1 material, furnished, and may 
retain l)Ossrssion of the same until thtl charges Bre paid j and 
livery or boarding or f,'ed stable or f,wd yard proprietors, 
and person:'!. p:lsturing horses or stock, have .a lien. dependent 
on possfssion. for tht'ir eompensation in coring for, boarding, 
feeding, or p,,,luring snch ho1'Se' or stork; and foundry pro· 
prif'tors flnd p('rsons l'onducting R fouDdry business. have 8 

lien, rlrprnd('nt 0" po",,,,ssion, upon .11 patterns in their hand. 
belonging' to 1..1 ('u:-.tomf'r, for the bnlllnrp due the-m from Bueh 
{>u~tom('rs. for fl-PI.ln(lry work; flllO laundry proprietors and 
p~rsnn:-; eonrluding a !flnndr.\~ Im~in(>ss, ami dryc.ieaning estab· 
Hshmf'nt propridur:'1 and rer ... rms romlUl1 ting a dryr)psning 
rstnillishrnr·llt. han ;j I,{t'lwfnl lil'H, df"pC"udrnt on possessioD t 

upon .1l1 pr-rsonal prHTH"rty in thr·ir llands. hrlonging to 8. eus· 
tOlU('r. for ill£' blllH?l"t' duf' tlH'm from :mcll customer ior laun a 

flry work. ~1i(1 for thf> h.l1nn('!' dHi~ dh'nl frhm sllf'h ('UHtnm('rs 
fo~ drydl1;ltling wurk. but. l'wthinv til thi:-- :o.I'l,ti(:n !-Iha!] b,' cun· 
strllt'(l tu ('on ff' J' H 11£'1I in favor (If ll·wholl'sale dry<,lt' ,lIWf on 
matt~riH!s ft,t'f'iYt·d from /-l uryrl('l1ning ,'~tah1i:..;,hnH'Tl' ptopridor­
or a. pp-rsfI!l ('I~ndu('.ting a dJ'y~lNl.nin;..': ('stiJblishJtH:nf; and ;~d. 
{'rinar:v proprwtors. and vf't(·rmary stlrgeon:-l SlHl~1 hav~ f.l 1.Hm 

dep('ndent on pos~i'&.;,;iolL t'Ol" lil€'rr ('omp~t:lsalH)n 1ll.('llrmg' fur, 
blHlrding, ff'N1ing:, au{! IHf'lii<.'nl trr-atmt>llt of :',niIn;ds~ 
1teeJ)'f'nt'of ~ar.igi ,\ f("f 11 tt! ohwbih.1.\ :sLilll lIa, t " 1 i. n. 04")). n4i!l'!t 
mt- f!()s .. weioT1 for thm--e4ImperJJhtioH in t ttril<J:1!! fm" !'Stitt [)ftfp 

lIee.Ylitl@:, tHIEf for-~~ 1 fftdiril 111,,1 II( p'flll""lin~ EIrf:Ii) Ird,'H'Jf" 
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AJ.l IN 
STRIKEOUT 

Comment. The provisions concerning liens for keepers of garages 

and trailer parks are superseded by Chapter 6.5 (commencing with Section 

3067) • 

SEC. 2. Section 3051a of the Civil Code is amended to read: 

3051a. That portion of any lien. liS provided f"r in the 
next pre~eding sel'tion. in rxcrB~ of thr(,fJ hundred dollars 
($300} for flny work! serv~ces! or eare, or in t"'xcess of 
two hundred doUars ($200) for any parkin~ or ,afckeep­
iDg~ rendered or pl·rformed Ht the rf'Quf'st. cd any person 
other than the h"lder of the legal title, .1,,11 be invalid, unless 
prior to commencing any such work, Sf'-rvice, eare, parking, or 
safekeeping, the perROn clilimin~ HlH'h lien shall give actunl 
notice in writing fit.her by pC'rsnnal s('rvi('t~ or b,v registered 
letter addre!lS<'d to the l;o!rier of (1", legal title to Bueh property, 
if known. In tilt aM! of ftHtvuHlbil( s tlfta 1r!ti:ePD, Hu tl€PBtHt ~. 
ftlUBfd 48 lege:) eWftt'!p ia ti:Jr 1"', giRt!"fttttlft eertiReftte, !hflli he \.) 
deemed for the purpose of th is SP('.lion, tiS the holder of the 
legul title and if any por-tion (;f a lh'n lnf'ludt's storage or- ( 
parking charges upon tllJtnmobiIrs. or trailers. for a period in 
excess of 60 dH:n~. the i-H.-\ftiDf; of flu?- !irn \\'~Iieh neetued after ) 
the expiration of such f,eriQ-{,i 18 in-valili unle-.9s the .-provisioWl 
of Sect:OJl5 lO(J2jO ntH] _W652 of LIke Vthich. Goat ftftft-lw:en­
€eftifilieEl .wi! It hY' Uti" hehh-~f ,mit: lLJ\: 

Comment. The provisions concerning liens for automobiles and 

trailers are superseded by Cha.pter 6.5 (commencing with Section 3067). 

SEC. 3, Section 3052 of the Civil Code is a.mended to resd: 

3052. If the person entitled- to the lien provided in Section 30.'11 
of Ihi~ eelle be not paid the amount due, and for which said lien is 
given, within ten (10) day. after the same shall have become due, 
then such lienholder may proceed to sell said property, or so much 
thereof os may be neca.sary to satisfy said lien and costs of sale at 
public auction, and by giving at least ten (10) but not more than 
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twenty (20) days' previow notice of such sale by advertising in some 
newspaper published in the county in which said property i. situated; 
or if there be no newspaper printed in such county, then by posting 
notice of sale in three (3) of the most puhlic 1'1"'-'<'$ in the town or 
place- wheresl1ch property is to be wid, for len (!O) days previous 
to the date of the salel 1'1&>';989, bMw ... '..,;, tbat prior 10 tbe I'ale of 
ft", tr~ilcr t" $atiJf~ !Irt, ,lich lieh, t .. ent, (28) da).' ""tiel. h, A L J I' I 
registered mail shall be given to the legal owner and to the registered 1-- N 
owner of such vehicle. if registered in t:hL~ state as the same appear "..,.01 u£o" r 
in the registration certificate, and also to the Division of Motor ~ I"" 11\ 

Vehicles by registered Jetter; and the Oi vision of Motor Vehicles shall 
in like manner immediately notify said legal owner and said 
registered owner of said proposed sale, but failure on the part of said 
division to give such notice shal! not affect the Validity of any such 
sale; and proVided, further, that within twenty (20) day.s aller said 
sale, the legal owner may redeem any such trailer so sold to satisfy 
said lien upon th .. payment of the amount thereof, all costs and 
expenses of saId sale, together with inlerest on said sum at Ihe rate 
elf Ii! J'f-ffe!l1t ~e, aflftHffi (paRl the tiue dttte there9fer the ~ate w~eR 
the 38ffte 1\ el e fuh 8fleee tlHHI the re~tl) meAt. The proceeds of the 
sale must he applied to the discharge of the lien and the cost of 
keeping and selling the property; the remainder, if any, must be paid 
over to the le!;al owner thereof. . 

Comment. The provisions concerning lien sales of trailers are 

superseded by Chapter 6.5 (commencing with Section 3067). The redemp­

tion provision is repealed to be consistent with the repeal of. Section 

3074. 

SEC. 4. Section 3068 of the Civil Code is repealed. 

3968. (6) B. er) peneJ1 hM ft lieft de~eftdeftt t:J~8ft JJB86E'!lGj9R fef 
the etHftJ'CHttRtien to .... hien he i! le~ttll) ehntlee fer rftttitiftg repttip! 
or performing labor upon. and furnishing supplies or material! for. 
and for the storage, repair or safekeeping of, and for the rental of 
trailer parking space for, any vehicle of a type subject to registration 
under the Vehicle Code, subject to the limitations set forth in this 
chapter. 

(b) That portion of the lien in excess of three hundred dollars 
,($300) for any work or services, or in excess of two hundred dollars 
($200) or, if an application for an authorization to conduct a lien sale 
has been filed pursuant to Section 3071 within 30 days after the 
commencement of the storage or safekeeping, three hundred dollars 
($300) for any storage or safekeeping, rendered or performed at the 
request of any person other than the holder of the legal title, is 
invalid, unless prior to commencing any such work or service the 
person claiming the lien gives actual notice in writing either by 
personal service or by registered letter addressed to the legal owner 
named in the registration certificate, and the consent of the holder 
of the legal title is obtained before any such work or services are 
performed. If any portion of a lien includes charges for the care, 
storage or safekeeping of, orfor the rental oflrailer parking space for, 
a vehicle for a period in excess of 60 days, the portion of the lien 
which accrued after the expiration of such period is invalid unless the 
p;cnrisioD~ ofSecnops 10650 aR.d 10fiS2 of tA8 VQh,iQ)s Cod@ 1l"u8 bel3A 
c611ll'llied .. ith II, the hBlder of M1e liell. 
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Comment. Former Section 3068 is superseded by new Section 3068. 

SEC. 5. Section 3068 is added to the Civil Code, to read: 

3068. (a) Subject to the limitations set forth in this chapter, a 

person who performs labor upon, furnishes materials or parking space 

for, or provides for storage or safekeeping of, any vehicle of a type 

subject to registration under the Vehicle Code, whether or not the 

vehicle is registered in this state, has a lien on the vehicle, de­

pendent upon possession, for the compensation to which he is legally 

entitled. 

(b) The amount of a lien for labor or materials in excess of three 

hundred dollars ($300) is invalid unless prior to performing the labor 

or furnishing the materials the lienholder gives [actual] notice in 

writing by personal service or registered letter to the legal owner 

named in the registration certificate and obtains the consent of the 

owner. 

(c) The amount of a lien for storage, safekeeping, or parking space 

in excess of two hundred dollars ($200) or, if an application for au­

thorization to conduct a lien sale has been received by the Department 

of Motor Vehicles pursuant to Section 3071.2 within 30 days after com­

mencement of the storage, safekeeping, or furnishing of parking space, 

three hundred dollars ($300), is invalid unless prior to providing the 

storage, safekeeping, or parking space, for which the charge exceeds the 

limitations provided by this subdivision, the lienholder gives [actual] 

notice in writing by personal service or registered letter to the legal 

owner named in the registration certificate and obtains the consent of 

the owner. 
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(d) The amount of a lien for storage, safekeeping, or furnishin~ 

parking space which accrues after 60 days is invalid unless the lien-

holder has complied with the provisions of Sections 10650 and 10652 of 

the Vehicle Code. 

Comment. Section 3068 continues the substance of former Section 

3068 but contains several clarifying changes. Subdivision (a) simpli­

fies the description of the lien. Under subdivision (a) of former 

Section 3068, the lien was given for "making repairs or performing labor 

upon, and furnishing supplies or materials for, and for the storage, 

repair or safekeeping of, and for the rental of trailer parking space 

for, any vehicle of a type subject to registration under the Vehicle 

Code." However, subdivision (b) of former Section 3068 referred to 

"work or service 1-. and to r; care. IUthout limiting the extent of the 

lien provided by former law, Section 3068 and other provisions in this 

chapter refer uniformly to labor, materials, parking space, storap,e, or 

safekeeping. Parking space is no longer limited to space for parking 

trailers. The lien for labor includes towing charges. Subdivision (a) 

also makes clear that vehicles "of a type subject to registration under 

the Vehicle Code" include vehicles from other jurisdictions and unregis­

tered vehicles. 

Subdivision (b) continues the substance of part of the first sen­

tence of subdivision (b) of former Section 3068. However, new subdi­

vision (b) uses "labor or materials" in place of ""ork or services" in 

former law. The meaning of "work or services" was unclear under former 

law because former subdivision (a) did not use these words. The new 

subdivision (b) uses the word "owner' in place of holder of the legal 

title." Section 3067 provides that definitions in Division 1 (commenc­

ing with Section 100) of the Vehicle Code are applicable; "owner" is 

defined whereas "holder of legal title" is not. Veh. Code § 460. See 

also the Automotive Repair Act, Bus. & Prof. Code §5 9830-9889.61. 

Subdivision (c) replaces part of the first sentence of subdivision 

(b) of former Section 3068. Changes similar to those described under 

subdivision (b) are made. In addition, subdivision (c) makes clear that 

notice to the legal owner and the consent of the owner are required only 
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before charges for storage, safekeeping, or parking space which would 

exceed the $200 or $300 limit accrue. Under former law, it appeared 

that notice and consent would have to be obtained before any storage, 

safekeeping, or parking began. In addition, under former law, there was 

apparently no limit on the amount of the lien where consent of the legal 

owner and the owner is not first obtained in the case of trailer parking 

space. 

Subdivision (d) continues the substance of the last sentence of 

subdivision (b) of former Section 3068 except that parking space is no 

longer limited to that provided for trailers. 

The liens of keepers of garages to which abandoned vehicles are 

removed are governed by Vehicle Code Sections 22705 and 22851. 

SEC. 6. Section 3068.5 is added to the Civil Code, to read, 

3068.5. (a) The lien ceases unless, within 15 days after the person 

requesting the labor, materials, storage, safekeeping, or parking space 

is given [oral or] written notice of the charges due, (1) the Department 

of Hotor Vehicles receives an application from the lienholder for au­

thorization to conduct a lien sale as provided in Section 3071.2, (2) 

the lienholder files an action on the claim giving rise to the lien, or 

(3) the registered and legal owners of the vehicle and all persons who 

the lienholder knows or reasonably should know claim an interest in the 

vehicle have Signed, after the lien has arisen, a release of any inter-

est in the vehicle as provided by Section 3071.1. 

(b) The lien ceases unless, within IS days after the lienholder 

receives notice pursuant to Section 3071.4 that he is not authorized to 

conduct a lien sale or notice pursusnt to Section 3071.6 that the vehicle 

is not registered in this state, (1) the lienholder files an action on 

the claim giving rise to the lien or (2) the registered and legal owners 

of the vehicle and all perSOns who the lienholder knows or reasonably 
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should kno>< claim an interest in the vehicle have signed, after the lien 

has arisen, a release of any interest in the vehicle as provided by 

Section 3071.1. 

Comment. Section 3068.5 is new. It is based on the last sentence 

of subdivisions (d) and (f) of former Section 3071. Section 3068.5 

provides a uniform IS-day period during which the lienholder must take 

some action if he desires to prevent the expiration of the lien. 

Former law provided periods of 10, 20, and 30 days and applied only 

'lhere work or services >lere performed "with the consent of the regis­

tered owner." Subdivision (f) of former Section 3071 provided that the 

lien would expire unless the lienholder applied for an authorization to 

conduct a lien sale within 10 days after the lien arose or filed an 

action within 30 days after the lien arose, thereby leaving the validity 

of the lien in doubt where at the end of 10 days the lienholder had 

failed to make an application. For the purposes of subdivision (f) of 

former Section 3071, the lien was deemed to arise when a written state­

ment of charges was presented to the registered owner. Under Section 

3068.5, [oral orJ written notice of the charges due must be given to the 

person requesting the garagekeeper to perform labor, furnish materials 

or parking space, or provide for storage or safekeeping. 

SEC. 7. Section 3069 of the Civil Code is amended to read: 

ms~e~4siB, S~ ~Sf s~s~sge Sf ss~ekee~iftg s~ ~ a vehicle wkeft abandoned 

On private property may be assigned by written instrument accompanied by 

delivery of possession of the vekieie, sHa~ee~ ~s ~ke iieft, sftd ~ke 

vehicle subject to the lien. The assignee may exercise the rights of a 

lienholder as provided in this chapter. Afty ~ieftke~de~ ess4~ft4ftg 

s ~ieft ss eH~ke~4~ed kefeift sksii S~ At the time of assigning the lien ~ 

the lienholder shall give written notice of the assignment either by 

-12-



personal delivery or by registered or certified mail, to the registered 

and legal ewaef e~ ~fte essi~Hffiefl~ owners and 1£ any other person the 

lienholder knows £r reasonably should know claims ~ interest in the 

vehicle, including therein the name and address of the ~efS6fl-~O 

Comment. Section 3069 is amended to conform with new Section 3068 

and to make technical changes. The amendment also provides that notice 

must be given to persons other than the legal or registered owners if 

the lienholder knows or should know of any such persons claiming an 

interest in the vehicle. 

SEC. 8. Section 3070 of the Civil Code is amended to read: 

3070. Wfteflevef ~ke IVhere ~ lien ~~6H SHY s~ek veftie~e is lost by 

reason of the loss of possession of the vehicle through trick, fraud, or 

device, the repossession of the vehicle by the lienholder revives the 

lien but SHY ~ lien so tevived is subordinate to any ri~fte; e4~e 

6rinterest of SHY ~ person under any sale, transfer, encumbrance, lien ~ 

or other interest acquired or secured in good faith and for value be-

tween the time of the loss of possession and the time of repossession. 

Comment. The amendment of Section 3070 is technical. 
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aWL ;or, If-rll" liCHhel<*",'~~4!.e~Rt d"B, ani f= 
~-fu-het1c"'~TWtHrt,,--~raf!e! tk, .ltl'ft". beo!fle:, aIR, 

then the ilcnhc,lder rna}' pr(}{'ct~d to .'lcH the proprrty, or "So much 
then-~nf as m~fy be ne-c~~~~sar~' to sa.ti~fj'· tht-' lien and costs. of sale­
pUTsllJ.nt :0 S(Ttinn 3-072 I)r 'jOT3-, jf {11 :in :.Hlthofi.ZJLion to conduct 
a hen <;;lh:.' hil~ been l:,,s.ucd by !t1(· DF.p?.nHii.>nt of \10tGf \;enidps 
Dtir~lJ.anL ~-o thb spction, (21 i.' jtk_lnner~1 has bet-:.n. entered in fa:\ior of 
the iil::nhoidei: ()Ii the dd.in-j \\·hj(~j-. gi'";'('s, rise to ~h!':: hen, or f3) tht' 
regisrert~.d and >gaJ O\~:nef:; or the \-';-:-+ncIE" have 5tgneci, :.liter tfll.: lien 
has iHi5-e-D. :-i rclf°;j'St: (:>i any ini.erf'st HI the vch:c-h .. In the form 
pre5~~r~l~d hy S(~'2"bnn 3071.5. 

(0) A lienhoider Hhl} J.pply t.J tht: rtcpartInent fUi the issuance of 
an authorization to cundl~f-t a Hen sale. The application shall be 
executed under pen,,!!} e}f "",jury and ,hall include ali of the 
foHowing: 

(1) ... description of the "chicl,," 
(2) The names and addresses of the registered and legal owners 

of the vehicle, if ascertainable from registration cerlificate$ within 
the vehide, and the names and addresses of any other persons who 
the lienholder know! or reasonably should know claim an interest in 
the vehiclR 

(3) A statement of the amount of the lieu and the facts rxmcerning 
the dwm which gJves n.e to the lien. 

(4) A statement that the lienholder has no infonnation or belief 
that there is " valid defense to the claim which gives rise to the lien. 

'\ 
\ 
I 

I 
I 

(c) \':"pon recaipt of an application which is made pursuant to 
subdivision (a), the department shall send a notice and a copy of the 
application and a preaddre,soo return envelope by certified mail to 
the registered and legal uwner, at their addresses of record with the 
department and any other persons whose names and addresses are 
li,ted in the application. The notiee shAll include all of the follOWing: I 

(1) A slateme"t that an application hlts been made with the 
department for the issuance of an authOriLaoOl, to condl1ct a lien I 
sale. 

(W' A ,tatement that (0 th" person h", " legal right to a hearing II 
in court, {iii jf a heanng In coort is desired, the enclosed declaration 
under penalty of perj .... y "''lsi be ,igned <ilId returned, and (iii) if the 
dedarati"" is signed and returned. the Ji"nholder will be allowed to 
reH the vehicle ODty jf he obtaini~ a judgrnent in c-ourt or obtains a 
release from the regbtercd ~nd fegal owner~, 

(3} A staternent t:u.~ Uj H the declaration is signed and returned, 
the hf"l~hotuet must f;jc an action in ('Qult, (ii) the registerEd and 
legal ovmer' will he Dotifted "f the lawsuit, and (iii) the registered 
and \Pgal owners may then appear to eon test the claim of the 
lienholder 

(4) ,0\ stdternt'nt that Hw c!:··partmer!t wiU issue the authorization 
to conduct a lien S);iJe unless the pt.'!'son signs and returns, within 20 
davs after the date on which the nullc'>' was mailed, the enclo,ed 
declaratjoH stating that thf:: ,:)erJc)H desires to contest the dllim which 
gives risc to the lien. / 

(5) A statement that the person :;ihaH be liable fur costs if the (" 
lienhakkr bAftgs !1H «(>th:m and a jU~i:! is f:RtCN)&iA Jti.ver uf iRE" 
f i(~j Ihol d(+f-.--Bi+ ~-(4Hi·:H-w};He.h-f,:· Of'S r i ~u4-tJ.-+Ae4iefh--

ALL 

/Iv' 

S -rR Ik'f-

OUT 



~i- .. ..-.4-<4t~n·H"'~H-·~:i-~!.'h- 1:-n{~f'--"he .}'!'i-et~b-\- ttn f¥t~H'n 'm'i%lr 
-tJelittlty .. (+f--·;:~+.-ttH'Y4~t1-1~· t1itti_-k .... -fh->.:;He8-k-?--et-~ the elait'fl ~'iffi.efi 
".~iVe\ ris.(.~ ?:J j h.C L~'n ,~nd. i.~n :.'il'::".f.i C!!.-:' J1 ·v"·_!;.i~h ~.~e person .may be \ 
<.t<fveO ~p ~W\-' 'H.::t;;')H In C{mT~ .. triSlHj2 out of tht' hen. 1 
-'( d ~ -Ii th-~ de-~).iinlnen~. ;"1:.~,-"\j\;._~~ ;) dedar:1non dcscnfwd in I 

paugraph (]i ''of _;ubdn.-~.';ion (cj ~,;·-_ind_ is (flai1t'd v,.'-d-hi.H 20 d<!vs after ... . I 
thl~ cL~k u::I'.n \ .... ·h<h ihE . "H:('( d~-'-<·:!'":h·t.'d H) ~_:tbdi\'hin~l '.'- 1 ," 

LL~;L'd_ it "hilH n(d~L !.h, Ii.t i'hn!tl~ ,\- t!v i: Ll' rna\" not \'olld~:,-:t :t lien 
:,dc-llidi~~'; \1; il j~ldgtl:(Tl hel"- l-,t'cf! -'---mht-ri ~n hi:; 1'.,1\-01' on tht-" cLunl 
'\~_--hid; gi\.-.::.'s r['~!~ to th'~'li('n 0:- : 2": tlw :'l').:)stt''--j,-d and h~g,d ownf'r:'i of 
th~· '..-ehiek h,u."-'e" si,~Hed, ;tikr- the Ucn h,'h :trj'.)"u, a Tf'lpas(' of an) 
illterl(-';~t in tl~c- '.'t:hick' in t!l" f{,nri prf"::.;cribed by Section ~jn1Lj. In 
ailv other (',l~f_\ the ~JeTj.~~,.trEt~nt ~haf.t iSSUe em authorization to 
conduct;:~ lief! s~!c. ;'\.r,y jl~r; under thiY chapter or ScC'tlml :1051 which 
~:nise::, bet~ml::;'c: work or ::'pr\-~,':e:'i nav(--' b('t~n pcrfoffned On a vf'hic]e 
with the consent of tt-w rcgi.stln:::.~d own~~r shan br'" ('xtingui~h('d un!f"s~ 
the iienholdt:r me, an action in court within 20 daY, .fter the 
lienholder reeeive~ it notice- from the d{'p~utment under this 
subdivision. 

\ Ml iN 

(e) Upon the filin!': of an application, the department shall charge 
a fee which shaH be established by the department in an amount 
equal to the actual cos1s oft he department incurred in processing the 
application, The file shall be recoverable as a cost by thl' lienholder 
if • lien sale is conducted 

(f) !I.ny lien under this chapter or Section 3(1:;1 which arises 
because work or ",rvice, have been pf'rformed on a vehide with th" 
conse"t of the registered nwner shall be extinguished unless (I) the 
lienholder applie, for an authorization to conduct a Ioen sale under 
subdivi.sion (a) within 10 days aft!'r the lien has arisen or (2) if no 
application is nlllde under subdivision (~), an action in court is filed 
within 30 days after the lien has arisen. For th" purp"ses of this 
subdivision, a lien shal[ be d"emed to arise at the time a written 
statement of charges for compieted work or services is presented to 
the registered Owner. 

(g) The form of the applications, nahers, and d"clarations 
described in this section ,hall be prescrihed by the department. The 
language used in the application>, notic"" and dedarations should be 
simple and mmttIChnicaL Ttl<' notice and declaration descrilx,d in 
subdivision (c) shall be printed in b'Jth Engiish and Spanish. 

\ 5Tf\I/(~DUI 

I 
(h) The procedure described 1Il subdivisions (b), Ic), and (eli 

shal! not be applicable if the vehid" is a mobilehome which is 
required to be moved under a permit issued pursuant to Section 
35700 of the Vehicle Code. A lJen sale of the mobilehorne may be 
cO!lducted only if a judgment has been entered in favor of the I' 
lienholder on the claim which ~i\·es ri,c to the lien or thp fPgis!pr"d " 
and legal owners have s;g:oed, after lh~ h,," has ftris<'n, " r':lease of , 
~it*ere!t if! the mseileheme if! Ihl' l<J,m pf .. ,er;~ecl bl' 5 .. "tj9R j 

56'1+5:" 

Comment. Former Section 3071 ia superseded by Sections 3071 through 

3071.8. 

-/~-



SEC. 10. Section 3071 is added to the Civil Code, to read: 

3071. Where the lienholder is not paid the amount due and for 

which the lien is given, the lienholder may sell the vehicle [or so much 

thereof as may be necessary) to satisfy the lien and costs of sale 

pursuant to Section 3072 or 3073 if the lienholder obtains one of the 

following: 

(a) A release of any interest in the vehicle signed after the lien 

has arisen by the registered and legal owners and any other person the 

lienholder knows or reasonably should know claims an interest in the 

vehicle as provided in Section 3071.1. 

(b) An authorization to conduct a lien sale as provided in Section 

3071. 5. 

(c) A judgment entered in favor of the lienholder on the claim 

giving rise to the lien. 

Comment. Section 3071 is similar to subdivision (a) of former 

Section 3071. Section 3071 refers to sale of "the vehicle" whereas 

former law provided for sale of "the property." [The provision for the 

sale of "so much [of the property] as may be necessary" is not con­

tinued.] Subdivision (a) of former Section 3071 provided that the lien­

holder could "proceed to sell" the property if within 10 days after the 

amount became due the lienholder had not been paid. This provision in 

some situations was in conflict with subdivision (f) of former Section 

3071 which provided that a lien was extinguished if, within 10 days 

after a written statement of charges for completed work was presented to 

the registered owner, the lienholder did not apply for an authorization 

to conduct a lien sale or if, within 30 days after the statement was 

presented, he did not file an action. Subdivision (a) makes clear that 

a release must be obtained from any person the lienholder knows or 

reasonably should know claims an interest in the vehicle in addition to 

-16-



the resistered and legal owners. Former law seemed to require releases 

only from the registered and legal owners. See former Sections 3071(a) 

and 3071.5. 

SEC. 11. Section 3071.2 is added to the Civil Code, to read: 

3071.2. (a) Within the time allowed by Section 306R.5, the lien-

holder may apply to the Department of Notor Vehicles for an authoriza­

tion to conduct a lien sale. The application shall be executed under 

penalty of perjury and shall include all of the following: 

(1) A description of the vehicle. 

(2) The names and addresses of the registered and legal owners of 

the vehicle if ascertainable from a registration certificate within the 

vehicle and the names and addresses of any other person the lienholder 

knows or reasonably should know claims an interest in the vehicle. 

(3) A statement of the amount of the lien and the facts concerning 

the claim which gives rise to the lien. 

(4) A statement that the lienholder has no infOr0ation or belief 

that there is a valid defense to the claim which gives rise to the lien. 

(5) The name, business address, and telephone number of the lien-

holder. 

(b) Upon the filing of an application, the department shall charge 

a fee which shall be established by the department in an amount equal to 

the actual costs of the department incurred in processing the applica-

tion. The fee shall be recoverable as a cost by the lienholder if a 

lien sale is conducted. 

Comment. Subdivision (a) of Section 3071. 2 is based on subdivision 

(b) of former Section 307l. If the lienholder 'iishes to make an appli­

cation under this section, he must do so within 15 days after the person 

-17-



requesting the lienholder's services is eiven notice of the charges due. 

See Section J06n.5. Paragraph (5) of subdivision (a) is new. Sub­

division (b) is identical to subdivision (e) of former Section 3071. 

SEC. 12. Section 3071.3 is added to the Civil Code, to read, 

3071.3. (a) Immediately upon receipt of the lienholder's applica-

tion made pursuant to Section 3071.2, if the TIepartment of !Iotor Vehicles 

finds that the vehicle is registered in this state, it shall send to the 

registered and legal owners at their addresses of record with the de­

partment, and to any other person claiming an interest in the vehicle 

whose name and address is listed in the application, all of the following: 

(I) A notice of application described by subdivision (b). 

(2) A copy of the lienholder's application. 

(3) A blank declaration form described by subdivision (c). 

(4) A return envelope addressed to the department. 

(b) The notice of application shall include all of the following: 

(I) The name, business address, and telephone number of the lien-

holder. 

(2) A statement that an application for an authorization to conduct 

a lien sale has been made by the lienholder to the department. 

(3) A statement that the person receiving notice has a legal right 

to a hearing in court on the disputed claim and that, if such a hearing 

is desired, the declaration included with the notice and copy of the 

application must be signed under penalty of perjury and received by the 

department not later than the date specified, which shall be a date 20 

days after the notice is sent by the department. 

-18-



(4) A statement that, if the declaration is si~ned and received by 

the department on or before the date specified pursuant to paragraph 

(3), the vehicle must be released unless, before the expiration of 15 

days after receiving notice from the department that the declaration has 

been signed and returned, the lienholder files an action in court on the 

claim giving rise to the lien or a release of any interest in the vehicle 

is signed after the lien arose by the registered and legal owners and 

any other person the lienholder knows or reasonably should know claim an 

interest in the vehicle. 

(5) A statement that the registered and legal owners and any other 

persons claiming an interest in the vehicle and known to the lienholder 

will be notified of any court action filed against them on the claim and 

that such owners and interested persons may appear to contest the claim 

of the lienholder. 

(6) A statement that the department will issue an authorization to 

conduct a lien sale unless, not later than the date specified pursuant 

to paragraph (3), the registered or legal Ol;ner or a person claiming an 

interest in the vehicle signs and returns the declaration stating that 

the person desires to contest the clai@ which gives rise to the lien. 

(7) A statement that the person is liable for costs if the lien­

holder brings an action and a judgment is entered in favor of the lien­

holder on the claim which gives rise to the lien. 

(c) The declaration form which may be signed under penalty of 

perjury and returned to the department shall include the folloning' 

(1) A statement that the person signing it desires to contest the 

claim >lhich gives rise to the lien. 



(2) The address at which the person making the declaration may be 

served in any action in court on the clai" which gives rise to the lien. 

Comment. Section 3071.3 is based on subdivision (c) of former Sec­

tion 3071. Paragraph (6) of subdivision (b) makes clear that an author­

ization to conduct a lien sale uill not be issued .,here one of several 

persons claiming an interest in the vehicle signs a declaration and re­

turns it to the department within the tine allowed. Paragraph (3) of 

subdivision (to) provides that the department is to specify a date 20 

days after the notice is sent on or before which a declaration must be 

received by the department if any interested person desires to preserve 

his right to a hearing in court. Under paragraph (4) of subdivision (c) 

of former Section 3071, the person claiming an interest was required to 

sign and return the declaration Hithin 20 days after notice was sent. 

Under subdivision (d) of former Section 3071, the person claiming an 

interest was required to mail the declaration within 20 days. Under 

these provisions of former law, the department could not know at the end 

of 20 days whether or not to send an authorization to the lienholder 

since a declaration mailed within the 20-day period might not have been 

received until later. See Sections 3071.4(a) and 3071.5. 

SEC. 13. Section 3071.4 is added to the Civil Code, to read: 

3071.4. (a) If the Department of Hotor Vehicles receives a declar­

ation described in Section 3071.3 on or before a date 20 days after the 

department sends the notice of application described in Section 3071.3, 

it shall immediately notify the lienholder that he is not authorized to 

conduct a lien sale unless (1) a judgment has been entered in his favor 

on the claim which gives rise to the lien or (2) the registered and 

legal owners of the vehicle and all persons .. ho the lienholder knows or 

reasonably should know claim an interest in the vehicle have signed, 

after the lien has arisen, a release of any interest in the vehicle as 

provided by Section 3071.1. 

-20-



know Clllim an interest In thiS:. vehicle have s-ignt:rl.~ after the lien has 

arisel1 t a release of any "lnter-2st tn the vehicl.e us provided by Section 

3071.1. 

Comment. Section 307 L 4 Is hased ~n the first and third sentences 

of subdivision (dl of former Section 3071. Subdivision (b) shortens the 

time within which the lienholder must file an action to preserve the 

lien from 20 to 15 daya and makes clear that the lien may also be pre­

served by obtaining releases from the registered and legal owners and 

all other peraona who the lienhold.er knows or reo8sonably should know 

clam an interest in the vehic.le. 

SEC. 14. Section 3011. 5 of the Civil Code i8 amended and renum-

bered to read, 

3GiI·h& ... 3071.1. (a) it ThE'. c'eristerad 0):' legal owner of B vehicle 

holder tn.ay release any int::-!'est :.n the vehlele atter the l.i(";fl has arisen. 

The release shaH ~x· dated \vhf"':'j -;igned ;md a capy o:.;h,~l1 be given J.t 
the time the rdea:,:,;,- is. ~tgnt'd tJ) the P,_-l-sc;n reif'a:siog the inte-rr-st. 

(bi The release shall 0t' in :it kast 12Mpotnt ('ype and shall contain 
all of the foHm.~'ing lnformation ~n sjrrlpk~, w)f}technicallanguage: 

d) A rleicriptinn of the ';.·t~hide, h~duding the year and make, the 
engine or vehlclc identificahon n_Hrnber. and the !)ceo:.;e number> If 
available. 

(2) The r,;Hnes and :]ddH~~~"es. of the H~gisterf."d and legal owners 
of record with <:he Departnepf; "f Motor VehJ.cJe9, if available ... an!! the 



lien 

;<~;, .\ .;~,~;~'rn("i':ll;;T ',he i;w'v;nt ~,f th~' hen :jnd the f~~('t5: c.."oncerning 
tf1i' f'h,li1' \';hi.,~t1 gr'~-,cs ~ is tf- ~ ,>, k'n. 

d ,( ,:.;{h"_1-' ,C; ,'i "h.;1 \ t~_" r __ -.:--_-,,-, '_ '-C1,.:':,-:ll":>~ the m,:-:;f~--~t H!1der.'~hmd., _~ 
~_ha'i ':,i \ h.:;' h~v·, <: h't.:ll ~,) ~, ~oP.'~;-'''\f ,1" '--"'l1rt .,1:'"if'lr ~'Cl ~;;:~je of / ~ \ 
~)]:-~~ \"dtV.k 1(, ".-\.; ~~,_: h,~,-~,;,:_{c---~--h~~ ~-~-F~~;v~~~~."l;~he ri~iTto--\...~J 
d\}~)<::'.;' i\; ('ont('\': t~l~- '. L~~,;~ ,,'rt" nk 

i.~~c-. ,~~: ;;,~:~ ~\~"J::{~~~~:~~:~';:~tt! . ' 
;Jr;. ~nt,-r':':d Iic F,,1:, :;'i".\';·-· 

COlnment.. The. 8I'lends;-,entB to ro:"raer Section 3071 ~ 5 -" now renumbered 

as Section ]()71.1, are largely technicaL The references to other 

persons who "laim an .int,,-::cest in the 'lehicle are required by subdivision 

(a) of Section 3()?!. Paragraph (5) of subdividor: (b) is amended to 

provide that the release is given only for the purpose of allowing a 

sale in order to s"ti~fy the lienholder's claim. Hence, for example, if 

the reglstered owner should pay the c,laim after Borne other person has 

signed a release, this provision makes clear that the other person has 

not lost hh interest In the ""hiele. Proceeds of sale remaining after 

satisfaction of the lienholder's claim and costs of sale are distributed 

as provided in Section 30n or 3073. 

SEC. 15. Section 3071.5 is added to the Civil Code, to read: 

3071.5. If the Department of Motor Vehicles does not rece~ve a 

properly aigned declaration d.,scribed in Section 3071. 3 from any person 

to whom notice waB sent as jJl:ovided in Section 3071. J on or before the 

date 20 days after the department sends notice, it shall send to the 

lienholder an authorIzation to condu~t s lien sale. 



COl'lment. Section 3071.5 is based on the second sentence of sub­

~.ivision (d) of former Section 3071. Section 3071.5 provides a specific 

date after which the department is to send an authorization to conduct a 

lien sale if it has not received a declaration. Former law provided no 

specific date after which the department properly could act. See Com­

ment to Section 3071.3. 

SEC. 16. Section 3071. 6 is adcled to the Civil Code, to read, 

3071.6. Immediately upon receipt of the lienholder's application 

made pursuant to Section 3071.2, if the Department of ~totor Vehicles 

finds that the vehicle is not registered in this state, it shall send 

notice to the lienholder that the vehicle is not so registered and that 

the lienholder may not conduct a lien sale unless a judgment has been 

entered in his favor on the claim '''hich gives rise to the lien or the 

registered owner, if any, and the legal owners of the vehicle and all 

persons who the lienholder knows or reasonably should know claim an 

interest in the vehicle have signed, after the lien has arisen, a re-

lease of any interest in the vehicle as provided by Section 3071.1. 

Comment. Section 3071.6 is new. Former Law did not specifically 

provide for the situation where the vehicle held subject to the lien was 

either not registered or registered in some other state. See Section 

3068(a). 

SEC. 17. Section 3071.7 is added to the Civil Code, to read, 

3071.7. The form of the applications, notices, and declarations 

described in Sections 3071.2 to 3071.6 shall be prescribed by the Depart-

ment of Hotor Vehicles. The language used in the applications, notices, 

and declarations should be simple and nontechnical. The notice of 

application described in Section 3071.3 and the declaration described in 

Section 3071.3 shall be printed in both Englis~. and Spanish. 
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Comment. Section 3071.7 is substantively identical to subdivision 

(g) of former Section 3071. 

SEC. 18. Section 3,)71.8 is added to the Civil Code, to read: 

3071.d. The procedure provided by Sections 3071.2 to 3071.6 is not 

applicable if the vehicle is a mobilehome required to be moved under a 

permit issued pursuant to Section 35790 of the Vehicle Code. 

Comment. Section 3071.8 is substantively identical to subdivision 

(h) of former Section 3071. 

SEC. 19. Section 3072 of the Civil Code is amended to read· 

3072. Pr~e~ ~e Sfi~ aftek Except ~ provided ~ Section 3073, prior 

to the sale of a vehicle to satisfy the lien, the lienholder shall ~ive 

at least 10 days but not more than 20 days notice of the sale by adver­

tising for one issue in some newspaper of general circulation published 

in the county in which the r~e~e~~y vehicle is situated. If there is 

no newspaper printed in such county, notice shall be given by posting 

notice of sale in three of the most public places in the town or place 

where the ~~eref~7 vehicle is to be sold, for 10 days previous to the 

date of the sale. Prior to the sale of any the vehicle i ~e ss~~s~~ 

sny s~ek !~efi, 20 days notice by registered mail or registered mail, 

return receipt requested, shall be given to the registered and legal 

ewnef owners Sfl~ ~e ~he ~eg*s~e~e~ ewnef of the vehicle, if registered 

in this state, as the sa,,'e appear in the registration certificate, and 

!£ any other persons who the lienholder lnows ~ reasonably should know 

claim !!!!. interest in the vehicle and also to the Department of Hotor 

Vehicles by registered mail Eli" eef~~f~etl 1>la~! "hether or not the vehicle 

is registered in this state. All notices required in this chapter shall 



specify the make, the eneine or vehicle identification number, and 

license number, if available, of the vehicle, and the date, time, and 

place of the sale. The proceeds of the sale shall be applied to the 

discharge of the lien and the cost of keeping and selling the property. 

The remainder, if any, shall be paid to the legal owner, if any, or to 

the owner if there is no legal owner, or if no ~£I legal owner can 

be located, the remainder shall be deposited with the department for 

deposit in the !Iotor Vehic Ie Fund. 

Comment. The amendments of Section 3072 are primarily technical. 

In addition to the registered and legal owners, the lienholder is re­

quired by Section 3072, as amended, to give notice of sale to other 

persons claiming an interest in the vehicle. The reference to certified 

mail is deleted because it is superfluous. See Civil Code § 17. 

SEC. 20. Section 3073 of the Civil Code is amended to read: 

3073. Tfuen the lienholder can certify under penalty of perjury 

that the value of the vehicle subject to the lien does not exceed two 

hundred dollars ($200), the lienholder may sell such vehicle at public 

sale, upon the giving of notice as provided in this section. At least 

10 days before the sale, the lienholder shall notify the legal owner, 

the registered owner, and the ee~e~~meft~ Department of Motor Vehicles by 

registered mail or registered mail, return receipt requested, certified 

mail, or United States Pee~ ef~4ee Postal Service certificate of mailing, 

of the time and place of the sale. At least 10 days before the sale, 

the lienholder shall also post a notice of the sale in a conspicuous 

place on the premises where the vehicle is stored, giving the date of 

the sale and a description of the vehicle, including the make, model, 

type, and license number. The proceeds of the sale shall be applied to 
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Gemmen t. ThE, las t two Hen ';"uces of Sec don 3013 as amended are 

identical to the last t'Wo sentences of Section 3072. 

SEC. Section 3074 of the Civil Code j.B r8?ealerl~ 

At L ;N 

$iRlkEOUr 

Comment. Section 3074 is repealed. The notice provisions of Sec­

tion 3071. 3, along with the provtsions for notice of sale in Sections 

3072 and 3073, should adequately protect the interests of the legal 

owner. See also Section 3071.6 (unregistered and out-of-state. vehicles). 

SEC. 22. Sect:L,)t) 22705 of the Vehicle Code is amended to read, 

22/:!'JS !t l he ,,:ehir!{' tS i1ppriised 'it a value not exceeding two 
bmf":rt·d. dui!mc, ("i20(ll, the pubhr agene~' i",'hieh removed thp 

(,j l \\'ithin 4,~ hnw-:-, dfter apprais.ai notify the Department of 
justice' iil ~J'~·L"'li.·l"~to (If thi' rl"'mnval of surh "\f,hiC'it; 

(b l FrqMTf" :~ C't-~rlifi"cdl' \l,.'hieh shaH (it-scribe thf" v-ehich' 

including thf~ locatim~ of any license pLltC~ thL'rt"oH; statf" the 
apprai::Jt:d value and th<1t the .... t:'hidf' \-nH tJt:- junked or dismantled, 
and indjc:t.te thaL 

i 1 / An authorization b eonduc-l :3 hpn sdlf~ h;~s b(-;.cn i'Osued by the ~O '7/ s 
department pursLi.mt to Sect JOn {Jffi+k~ thee (:",'il Code or a iuclgment ' 

. has been entf"red in favor of the her:holder on the dairn which givt"'s 
ns:e tu the lien, or 

(2) The registered ~tnd legal owners h:J.ve -.;{good a ft~thi~e under 
penalty of perjury disclaiming anr interest, \·'.'hkh rdf'u.se shaH be 
included with the eertific3le, or 



dt:~p,'L;_int>r;l, H; '_~:hich C\-"f"r,C ~b~' \dll,-~"' m~.y k-· '_~i':.pC;SH~ uf 
'! Up-o_:; C::,"'ll;-:idj,)(\ ;;{ Hl,' ,--,_.,~~:r;~\:k,' :{{'(.'-.i~: ~I.' d (lcl!\{~r ot bill 

cd ~;~tle ; r(~"-; ut" :_;~:-~- !I('H '.:}f kt~~: ;:1'.H ) :f·,-~,,;l h:", du:- 3F;d p::!.~·:ibjL' to the' 
GEpilrtrfL""rlt {n~'~":;'\~~;" ,':,·ilh ;{ "~:?)\' ,r Hit: ce'-tificak ,rj ,,~lhe( the 
:;cnhc~kL:::r ~,,-hG sb~-t;; · .. ';:-J:b_- -~,,> \j,'-' Lil ,1-- 'dl~· L"'" :',_-;_'iJ.::,-·d dL~tcm~)bijc 
disH:';illtlt-":-i, or 10 \ he H:./'n:-.C'~, ,~d0;n;j:di· di:;m;u;:l"f, .. r Lj [h{- p:.Jhhc 

tg::;~:~~ t};::.;~;:;~o;_;:~:.~ -'~;~_;~;l~~le(i ll~;~~ /tl,t:\;.-_.':, i;'(:'\·tflJ~-. t;:-:,~PB~~;~:~\;:~;ent. of 
:Viotc;r \' t"hide': ij~ ;'~;ict" :'r;r-:l\~ ~'. 

if-) _2" H.,bc-le '~.'nicL is ;Jh' "L!bj,,,:~t of <-, (-'-t~fH-'.t~e pr?pau:t1 ;J.nd 
{'C!n~ia!df~d f-L!fSVHll to th~_. ~ec; inn '~h,~i! _tot i..w r'.i['on . .:truded or 
~rl9de 'i'per;:tb·k>. 

(fi ;,,;;':\-:-[L-.ed di&m~:nUe: j d{'ql;ifirL~ ':~?h~de;, wLich HIY thE" sLbject 
of certlficate:::. prcp2ied ar(d !·O-:.·t\.'a_rd~"'d pur:-,uJltt to tins section shaH 
L._ ' i' - _. ~ _. _ J _ ~ - ! 1 _1' . l 
u-e f:xcuse-u .,fT"U ani ; ,~tc'S ilnc pewHt;f'~ Hh.m~n WOu!u otnen'\.'i::;f' l)t': 
due to the Depd:.·trneut: of MOU.'l V{'kcks, pr=:Jvided thai: a eopy of 
the 02rtinc-ah:; fDr\~aH;_ed to rh~? L)cpartmcnt of :v-rotor Vehicle:; 
pursuant to this ~ec,_,on hi n~tdiined m ~};f' lir-ensed d1~mantlers' 
business record. 

(g) A !oc-ai agency inay- dutho-nze by contract or franchise the 
removal, disposal, or f€'moval ""d disposal, of such vehlde, by other 
than a licensed llutmnobtle disnla,,'1tler jf it has first requested bids far 
removal. disposal. or removal and disposal, of such vehicles, Such 
franchise or contrad shali be iswed to or eXe<'uted with the lowest 
responsible bidder, The hili 0; sal" shall then be executed ond 
delivered pursuant to slllxli,"sion ie) with the "<l11cbi;ee or 
contractor, 

Comment. Section 22705 is amended to conform with the amendments 

of Chapter 6.5 (commencing with Section 3067) of Title 14 of Part 4 of 

the Civil. Code. 

SEC. 23. Section 22851 of the Vehicle Code is amended to read: 

22851. ill w1tenever a vehicle has been removed to a garage under 

the provisions of this thapkr and the keeper of the garage has 
rcceiv'ed the notice- or notices as prOVIded herein, the keeper shall 
hn\'c :l lien de-pendent up'-on posse;-s.ion for hi~ c01npensation for 
towage and for eanng for and keeping safe such vehicle for a period 
not exe-eeding 60 days or, if an application for an authorization to 
conduct a hen sale has ix:en filed pursuant to Section 3071 of the Ch,il 
Code within 30 day:; after the (",no val of th~ vehicle to the garage, 

ill.!.i the vehicle is not recovered by the owner within 1I",,,h 

the period "lloweg, h ~bdtvis.!2.£ J.!!l or the owner is unknown, the 

keep.,:r of the g"rage may satisfy his lien in the manner ",,,,<I ef!!" .. 



Bubdiviai(iil (bL... '1.f t.he vehicle :!.<..~ appraised Ht a value not 

t';X;-~{";;;I~_ i\·h; lH[jH~r\.'d dc:1Lrs : _~_:?/)O{-~i hy ;l }KrSt,n ~:Hlthori1ed to 
;n:.l~;e :")ch ,[t"lpuis;!l-, til(' i.t'!·fH_'r I_A tht, g,:iLlge may, if the ,-,("hide is 
not ;TC{,'\'L~r((j hy the· (yV,.'lWI withlil ,20j d,('t's Of t~e o't-'VIH""r is 
unKn ... r,\T: ~-,-t!-,j-v hi..., li«~ ;b ;_'~ ()\..v--t{·(: ii~ S{.;--ctwn .3.0'13 of tnt" Civii Code 
·X ~(·d]~~n 227tY; ,;1' tl~;,; ('<),Il.· 

CO.EUllent!.,.. SectiGu 22851 is amelHied to conform with the amendment of 

Chapter 0+5 (commenc-lng 'with Se.c~t:ton 306l) of Title 14 of Part 4 of the 

Civil Gode. 


