#1L.-650 11/28/83
Memorandum 84-13

Subject: Study L-650 - Probate Law and Procedure (Execution of Witnessed
will)

At the last meeting, the Commission decided to recommend a rule
gimilar to the New York statute requiring witnesses to sign the will not
later than 30 days after the will is signed by the testator. The draft
section and Comment are attached as Exhibit 1.

Professor Richard Wellman has written to report a case in Nebraska
{a UPC state) where the claim is being made that a witness may complete
the will by signing it after the testator’s death. Professor Wellman
thinks this claim is "absurd." A copy of Professor Wellman's letter is
attached as Exhibit 2,

Professor Wellman suggests that we consider adding an explicit
requirement that the witness sign during the testator's lifetime. This
could be accomplished by further revising paragraph (1) of subdivision
{c) of Section 6110 (Exhibit 1) to require that the will

(1) Be signed, before the testator’s death and not later than

30 days after the will is signed pursuant to subdivision (b), by at

least two persons each of whom (i) witnessed either the signing of

the will or the testator's acknowledgment of the signature or of

the will and (ii) understand that the instrument they sign is the
testator’'s will.

The staff thinks the revision proposed by Professor Wellman expresses
sound policy. If the witness could determine the validity or invalidity
of the will after the testator’'s death by signing or not signing, the
witness would be in the undesirable position of being able to bargain
with the testator's devisees and heirs and thus obtain an unfair advantage.

On the other hand, the staff has found no reported decision dealing
with this fact situation, so the Nebraska case is apparently a case of
first impression. No state deals with the matter by statute, and the
UPC is silent on the question.

Does the Commission wish to adopt Professor Wellman's suggestion?

Respectfully submitted,

Robert J. Murphy III
Staff Counsel
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EXHIBIT 1

Probate Code § 6110 (amended). Execution of witnessed will
6110. <{a) Except as provided in this part, a will shall be in

writing and satisfy the requirements of this section.

{b) The will shall be signed either (1) by the testator or (2) in
the testator's name by some other person in the testator's presence and
by the testator's direction.

(¢) The will shall be witnessed by beimg one of the following

methods:
(1) Be signed, not later than 30 days after the will is signed

pursuant to subdivision (b), by at least two persons each of whom €3

being present at the seme témes; (i) witnessed either the signing of the
will or the testator's acknowledgment of the signature or of the will
and €2% (ii) understand that the instrument they sign is the testator’s
will.

{2) Be acknowledged before a notary public at any place within this

state.

Comment. Section 6110 is amended to substitute for the former
requirement that the witnesses be "present at the same time" the new
requirement that they sign not later than 30 days after the will is
signed by the testator {or by some other person for the testateor). This
new requirement is drawn from New York law. See N.Y. Est. Powers &
Trusts Law § 3-2.1 (McKinney 19 ). Under Section 6110, only two witnes-
ses who sign within 30 days of execution by the testator are needed to
establish the validity of the will, even where there are three or more
persons who sign as witnesses. Because California recognizes a nmonstatu-
tory presumption of due execution {see, e.g., Estate of Gray, 75 Cal.
App.2d 386, 392, 171 P,2d 113 (1946)), the burden is on one contesting
the will to establish that the 30-day requirement has not been satisfied.

Section 6110 is also amended to add the alternative of having a
will acknowledged before a notary public. The form of the notary's
certificate of acknowledgment is prescribed by Section 6110.5. See also
Gov't Code §§ 8200-8230. Under paragraph (2) of subdivision (c}, the
acknowledgment must be made before a notary, and not before one of the
various other officers referred to in Civil Code Section 1181 (judge,
district attorney, etc.).
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Novamber 3, 1983

Mr. John DaMoully

Lxzecutive Secretary

California Law Revision Commission
4000 Middlefield Road, Room D-2
Palo Alto, CA ©4306

Re: Study L-650 (Execution of
Witnessed Will}

Deaxr John,

In connection with your Study L-650 (Exe-
cution of Witnessed Will), I have recently
learned of a case in Nebraska where the claim
is being made that a witness may complete a
will by signing it after the testator's death.
T +hink the point is absurd, but it is at
least not discouraged by UPC 2-502 or by the
recent proposals of your commission. Perhaps
thought should be given to requiring that the
witness sign "during the testator's lifetime.”

Sincerely,

Richard V. Wellman
Educational Director
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